Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: A couple of mine  (Read 1609 times)

whiskee

A couple of mine
« on: May 03, 2011, 12:06:33 AM »

I am still learning and I cant afford an airbrush just yet, but I am happy with them. I am building a 1/72 warplanes of the axis collection. What should I build next? :D

norm

• I came, I saw, I lost my keys.
  • penut butter on rasin bread makes a tasty sandwich
Re: A couple of mine
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2011, 02:09:48 PM »

try to get spray cans of dull coat and gloss coat. when the model is nearly done, (minus windows, with openings like cockpit and landing gear bays masked off) spray the whole surface of the model with a few coats of gloss. then apply the decals, followed by one or two more coats of gloss. then use the dull coat to dull the model to the point where you want it.
the gloss coat makes decals (which are glossy) appear to have the same finish, and be painted on.
when you haveth money for an airbrush, get one, their great, this is a good starter one (I still use it.)
http://www.amazon.com/Aztek-A-2705-Starter-Airbrush/dp/B000BVL50M/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&s=toys-and-games&qid=1304453277&sr=8-6 (you will need a compressor, and you may want a water/dust trap, so the airbrush doesn't spit.)

SAS~Howlin

• Goat herder
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2011, 02:27:52 PM »

Great effort, i will point out though, that with patience, and some practice you can pretty much do almost anything an air brush can do, in 1/72 scale you will be very very closely matched, just takes practice.

Painted with a good ol brush.