Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: How to make Icons a dot?  (Read 598 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ProblemChild

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
How to make Icons a dot?
« on: May 16, 2024, 12:36:25 PM »

I really want to get back into this sim but I am having trouble getting Wxtech's HUD icons working on my VP install. I have put the folder into my #SAS and jsgmemods folder, I enabled it as well.

It doesn't seem to take any effect, I have cycled through the HUD elements in game and still see the same colored, big numbers showing up. I don't have any HUD mods, I used to run NG - HUD but I have now disabled it and doubt that's intefering with it.

I am also running Visual MOD9.

Also I don't understand the RCU's do i need to edit that?


The HUD MOD I am refering to: https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,72223.0.html

Thank you in advance.
Logged

WxTech

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5747
Re: How to make Icons a dot?
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2024, 07:15:01 PM »

Not having used vp modpack, I don't know if Istvan might have changed the font name; but  I don't think that's like.

You could search your game for another copy of ArialSmallZ.font. if you have more than one version of a file in the Mods folder, the copy read first (by sitting higher in a folder list arranged alphanumerically) will be used.

Hopefully a user of vp modpack will chime in...
Logged
Great minds discuss ideas. Average minds discuss events. Small minds discuss people. - Hyman Rickover (but probably predating his use.)

RABIZO

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 452
Re: How to make Icons a dot?
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2024, 07:55:19 PM »

I'll check it out.
Logged

RABIZO

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 452
Re: How to make Icons a dot?
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2024, 08:10:47 PM »

I tried it with "Vp mod".
My icon size is "3", so it is displayed although it is small.
I placed it at the top of the "#SAS" folder.




Logged

genXgamer

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1227
Re: How to make Icons a dot?
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2024, 01:36:49 AM »

G'day

Take a look at my post, at the time I had an install similar to you.

https://www.mission4today.com/index.php?name=ForumsPro&file=viewtopic&t=25583&highlight=Reducing+icon+size
Logged
Go in quickly - Punch hard - Get out!

ProblemChild

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: How to make Icons a dot?
« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2024, 10:23:16 AM »

I've tried that, I put the mod on the top of #SAS and still nothing. I enabled in JSGME, nothing. I copied the contents of the RCU from Wxtech's document, nothing. I am at loss why is it not taking effect?





Logged

ProblemChild

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: How to make Icons a dot?
« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2024, 10:26:09 AM »

I tried it with "Vp mod".
My icon size is "3", so it is displayed although it is small.
I placed it at the top of the "#SAS" folder.





I'm looking to just have a tiny black or grey dot over friendlies and enemies so that they're not so insanely hard to spot.
Logged

ProblemChild

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: How to make Icons a dot?
« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2024, 10:38:49 AM »

G'day

Take a look at my post, at the time I had an install similar to you.

https://www.mission4today.com/index.php?name=ForumsPro&file=viewtopic&t=25583&highlight=Reducing+icon+size

That seemed to have helped. Anyway to make it a grey or black dot? I still see plane ID etc ;(
Logged

Frankiek

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2513
Re: How to make Icons a dot?
« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2024, 01:55:33 PM »

for that you have to bind a key to toggle icons in the control setup section. You can then toggle between no icons and three different levels of info.
Logged

genXgamer

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1227
Re: How to make Icons a dot?
« Reply #9 on: May 18, 2024, 07:06:53 PM »

Hi ProblemChild

At the time I was trying to achieve what you're asking but reading numerous posts couldn't figure a way of doing it, hence I resorted to reducing the icon font size.
Having just the distance icon very small is nearly as good.

For those with B.A.T. who are interested we have this option available, check my reply #16.

https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,72223.12.html

As you can see in the below screenshot only enemy have icons, I found red and orange to be the best all-round colours.





Logged
Go in quickly - Punch hard - Get out!

ProblemChild

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: How to make Icons a dot?
« Reply #10 on: May 19, 2024, 03:15:40 PM »

Is there anyway to change the position of the labels? I want them more inside enemy aircraft rather than above?

Thank you all for helping btw definately made it possible to have fun again!
Logged

WxTech

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5747
Re: How to make Icons a dot?
« Reply #11 on: May 19, 2024, 03:45:40 PM »

Changing the position would involve altering the Java code, if indeed it is controlled there.

I've not looked at this specifically, but I get the impression the the icon does hug more closely to the plane as the icon gets smaller.
Logged
Great minds discuss ideas. Average minds discuss events. Small minds discuss people. - Hyman Rickover (but probably predating his use.)
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.033 seconds with 27 queries.