Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down

Author Topic: Shadows  (Read 1003 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Alex_355th

  • Working on skin making
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 102
  • Just some Guy
Re: Shadows
« Reply #12 on: October 05, 2023, 08:38:11 AM »

Believe me ive tried, my storage wont handle the gigs
let alone my gameplay
im just hoping that i could get this potato pc
upgraded asap :"D
-Al
Logged
Yup-yup

Frankiek

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2520
Re: Shadows
« Reply #13 on: October 05, 2023, 10:09:02 AM »

don't wait for a new rig with 50 bucks you  can buy a new 1T ssd that will substantially improve the performance of your current pc I did it to my 2011 laptop and now I can run everything in IL-2 and still get at least 30 FPS with maxed out conf.ini
Logged

Alex_355th

  • Working on skin making
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 102
  • Just some Guy
Re: Shadows
« Reply #14 on: October 05, 2023, 08:06:13 PM »

It would be easy if it werent for the fact that i live in a third world nation
(IND)
Still i am saving up for a new pc
but in the meantime 4.0 is all i got
-Al
Logged
Yup-yup

Mick

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5350
Re: Shadows
« Reply #15 on: October 06, 2023, 05:59:36 AM »

Even if the shadow meshes are correct in the various msh files, the display of the shadow in the game heavily depends upon memory used to load the plane.
It's always a very annoying bug when modding a new plane. On some planes for instance, changing the order of the meshes inside the him file will result in shadow being absent or not from given meshes. This happens especially when shadow meshes are complex (as they ideally need to be) and I never really understood fully how this bug "works" -

... for sure a very interesting theory, as for ex I don't have any DropTank shadow, (4.09) when a friend using the very same plane folders, but in BAT, does have shadows ...!  o_O





Logged

WxTech

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5751
Re: Shadows
« Reply #16 on: October 07, 2023, 01:06:32 AM »

Al,
I'm still using B.A.T. 4.0 (WAW only, as the Red Core content) so don't feel as if you're lingering back in the Stone Age!   :D
Logged
Great minds discuss ideas. Average minds discuss events. Small minds discuss people. - Hyman Rickover (but probably predating his use.)

Epervier

  • 4.09 Guardian Angel !
  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9487
  • I'm French and Rebel_409! Nobody is perfect!
    • Some tinkering here
Re: Shadows
« Reply #17 on: October 07, 2023, 04:09:53 AM »

... for sure a very interesting theory, as for ex I don't have any DropTank shadow, (4.09) when a friend using the very same plane folders, but in BAT, does have shadows ...!
:D
I'm using UP2.01/409 (Bruno's 190 pack) and I'm getting can shadows...
But it's not the same texture...  :P   :P  :D   :D
Logged
If your results do not live up to your expectations, tell yourself that the great oak was once an acorn too. - Lao Zi -

Knochenlutscher

  • Flying Ass Clown #10
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4518
  • aka Segfej
Re: Shadows
« Reply #18 on: October 07, 2023, 05:55:50 AM »

B.A.T. can can handle Models/Textures diffent, Stock Game/Modacts other Modded Installs can't handle.
We had a Discussion with Mike lately where he explained it. I didn't caught the Tech stuff.

Since the release of 4.0 Users from 4.0 BAT are hanging in the Lines.
Though some intermix content. When they must stick to 4.0 prepped Mods or get to know
Mods clearly stating BAT latest only, is not their business.

You should request a BAT 4.0 Section for having a place to settle down, move along with all the 4.0 Users.



If you need Help and Support just say it, having different Game Installs in 1946 is not new.
Having your own Section would be wise and the logic next step.
It can avoid trouble in the due course.

What I know for sure, 4.0 content and BAT latest Mods clash without a doubt.
It shouldn't be underestimated that official BAT support ends at everything not latest Version.

Best wishes
Tobias
Logged
Wiseman : "Did you speak the exact words?" Ash : "Look, maybe I didn't say every single little tiny syllable, no. But basically I said them, yeah."

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23745
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: Shadows
« Reply #19 on: November 15, 2023, 11:39:28 AM »

Hi folks,

I'm a bit baffled – what's the allure of sticking with BAT 4.0? We've got BAT 4.2 from two years ago and the spruced-up 4.2.2 from last year. Loaded with quality content, minus the bugs that haunted 4.0, and the gameplay is as smooth as ever.
Now, regarding storage – this isn't your run-of-the-mill update. It's a makeover, swapping out old for new. Admittedly, BAT 4.2 is meant to cozy up with BAT 4.1, not 4.0, and it's the full DOF, TGA, WAW, and JTW package. But here's the cool part – you can shed the DOF, TGA, and JTW layers after the update.
So, what's the missing piece, folks? Do you need a BAT 4.2.2 pack that seamlessly slots onto 4.0, decked out with just WAW content? Is that what's holding you back? Or can I trust your tech-smarts to tidy up a few folders after clicking an .exe file?

]cheers[
Mike
Logged
Don't split your mentality without thinking twice.
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.029 seconds with 25 queries.