Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Back on Ultrapack and discovered a graphic bug  (Read 487 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

BlackAce7727

  • BAT, UP, DBW
  • Skinner
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2524
  • Clown #77
Back on Ultrapack and discovered a graphic bug
« on: July 28, 2023, 02:19:06 PM »

Evening all,

Finally after months of waiting to get around to it I'm finally back flying on Ultrapack 3.4 ''Cassie'', with all the amazing features of aircraft I'm blasted away!

However, when I was testing the DH.116 (Mini Sea Vixen) I found when at altitude I spotted that I was surrounded by light blue rings which move when I move to a different area of the map. Has anyone else had this bug at all and can it be remedied?

Again all the best and it's nice to be back on UP,
BlackAce (Eric)

Screenshots of said issue --->







Logged
Let the victor be justice...

SAS~Loku

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 658
Re: Back on Ultrapack and discovered a graphic bug
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2023, 03:24:23 PM »

"Oh s..t here wo go again" :D

By the look of the landscape and water i can say its a lack of OpenGL shaders for perfect mode, DX dont support it.
check this in the first place:

conf.ini

[Render_OpenGL]
...
HardwareShaders=1

in case you are  AMD user, check if you drivers version is not higher than 22.5, everything above has f....d up OpenGL and perfect mode doesnt work.
Logged
P7a/P11c/f/g P24a/b/e/f/g PZL23/42 PWS-10/26 R-XIII RWD-10/14 GeeBeeR1/R2/Granville P-45 , WhippetMkI, Sdkfz-234/1/2, Kurogane, TKS, Wz.29/34 and some other shit XD

Frankiek

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2098
Re: Back on Ultrapack and discovered a graphic bug
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2023, 03:32:39 PM »

This bug is not UP3.4 specific but a very common feature  of IL-2 since inception. You need to have Hardwareshaders=1 in conf.ini    otherwise you will have buggy shades over water and land. If for any reason: your hardware, GPU drivers (helas ATI), a combination of the two or onlygodknows you cant use shaders on then  you need to switch to excellent mode instead of perfect mode for landscape and one notch down for the shadows.

For more on graphic settings (re)start here https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php?topic=9756.0.

In case you are a lucky AMD/ATI user then you are in it for a while depending on your specific setup
Logged

KingTiger503

  • Legendary History Luftwaffe Elite Ace ,,, FAC# 53
  • Supporter
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1896
  • KT503 Elite
Re: Back on Ultrapack and discovered a graphic bug
« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2023, 09:45:06 PM »

Don't use AMD otherwise you F....d up

Try Intel. that will be Nice.


Best Regards KT503
Logged
My Greatest and Best Regards KT503

BlackAce7727

  • BAT, UP, DBW
  • Skinner
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2524
  • Clown #77
Re: Back on Ultrapack and discovered a graphic bug
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2023, 01:30:25 AM »

Thanks for the fix Loku and Frankiek, it sorted the issue.. 8)

KT Also thanks for your input :))

BlackAce
(Eric)





Logged
Let the victor be justice...

sgt.wingspan

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 196
  • Big bird
Re: Back on Ultrapack and discovered a graphic bug
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2023, 04:56:50 AM »

Hi;

   I have that too whenever I set up the config for perfect mode my AMD shows graphic polygons that appears in water only. Theres something on the water..  a question nearing the perfect mode when all environment is already ready in an AMD way of showing.
Logged
Flight is required but shouldn't be an ace.

Frankiek

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2098
Re: Back on Ultrapack and discovered a graphic bug
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2023, 05:05:42 AM »

you can see the black water as well
Logged

sgt.wingspan

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 196
  • Big bird
Re: Back on Ultrapack and discovered a graphic bug
« Reply #7 on: July 29, 2023, 05:14:24 AM »

Its water that has a video or moving scene while land doesnt, that could be the factor.
Logged
Flight is required but shouldn't be an ace.

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23504
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: Back on Ultrapack and discovered a graphic bug
« Reply #8 on: July 29, 2023, 05:48:41 AM »

Black water in perfect mode is the well known issue of newer AMD drivers.
You need to roll back, IIRC 22.5.1 was the last known driver with working OpenGL Part.
Logged
Don't split your mentality without thinking twice.

WhiteSnake1976

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 201
Re: Back on Ultrapack and discovered a graphic bug
« Reply #9 on: August 22, 2023, 06:37:42 AM »

What AMD Graphics cards are you using? Because i had this exact problem with my RX6700XT, but the RX580 was fine in the other system, my new card has no problems so far. (but still downloading UP Cassie)
Logged

WhiteSnake1976

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 201
Re: Back on Ultrapack and discovered a graphic bug
« Reply #10 on: September 14, 2023, 06:27:58 AM »

TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=0 to TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1 under the [Render_OpenGL] in the Conf.ini fixes the graphics glitches in the first post with out going back to older drivers.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.044 seconds with 26 queries.