Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Down

Author Topic: VP Mod install questions  (Read 2368 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SAS~tsisqua

  • Tsisqua Tsigawonisgi, but you can call me Bird!
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 359
Re: VP Mod install questions
« Reply #12 on: October 16, 2021, 01:34:46 PM »

Pretty certain it's telling you what the settings should be on those entries, not that you need to add them in. In case you need to change them.
Logged
"When you have to kill a man, it costs nothing to be polite." Winston Churchill

Bsmooth

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
Re: VP Mod install questions
« Reply #13 on: October 16, 2021, 02:26:00 PM »

I added them in and ran it and it was fine. Making a copy now of what I have that works, so I have a baseline, takes a long time.
Logged

tomhighway

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 36
Re: VP Mod install questions
« Reply #14 on: October 16, 2021, 03:20:10 PM »

Howdy,

Borrowing Bsmooth's thread, here, for a related problem.

I've tried for 3 days, on two different computers running Linux, and have not been able to get past the 70% loaded point with "SAS Modact" selected. They both crash back to the "selector" box at that point. If I then select "stock game", and start it again, it will load the game. I can watch ntrk videos, or I can fly with the QMB feature, but it will not start a "campaign". I can pick one, and set the parameters, but when I click the "generate" button nothing happens.

Here's a few questions:
1) Is there anybody on this forum who has successfully installed and played IL-2 1946 with the VP modpack on a computer running a Linux operating system?
2) What version of Linux were you using?
3) What version of "wine" were you using?
4) What web browser did you use to download the VP modpack files?

I would greatly appreciate hearing from anyone who may have some insight on this.



Logged

genXgamer

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 407
  • Player
Re: VP Mod install questions
« Reply #15 on: October 16, 2021, 06:07:02 PM »

G’day Bruce

This is my last ditched effort, I am only repeating what’s already been said here and MANY times at SAS.
I am using VP’s install instructions and memory only, fingers crossed.

STEP 1:   Have a clean stock version of the game patched to 4.12.2.

STEP 2:   Right click on vp_modpack.7z.001 and extract directly into install folder mentioned above in step 1.
              The remaining 15 zip files will automatically extract to the same location.

STEP 3:  Once all 16 zip files have been extracted go into the install folder and open the IL-2 Selector.
             Click “Change Settings”
             Click “Game Type” dropdown and make sure "SAS Modact" is selected.
             Click “Save Settings”
             Click “Start IL-2 now!”

The loading screen should look like this.



If the game launches and works then proceed to step 4.

STEP 4:   Open #SAS folder and delete “00_Ju-188A-2_v1.1” folder.

STEP 5:   Extract patches into game folder.

STEP 6:   Add config.ini entries at bottom of the file.

STEP 7:   Don’t know if this matters but start game via IL-2 Selector.


Logged
Go in quickly.....Punch hard.....Get out !

tomhighway

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 36
Re: VP Mod install questions
« Reply #16 on: October 16, 2021, 06:43:09 PM »

@genXgamer

Is it critical that you start the game once BEFORE you install the patches and the conf.ini entries? Because that's the only thing in your description that I didn't do. I never tried to start the game until after I installed the patches and the conf.ini entries.
Logged

genXgamer

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 407
  • Player
Re: VP Mod install questions
« Reply #17 on: October 16, 2021, 07:20:08 PM »

Hi tomhighway

In all honesty I do not know, I installed VP Modpack start of 2019.
I no longer have the zip files so I cannot go through the whole installation process myself.
Logged
Go in quickly.....Punch hard.....Get out !

Bsmooth

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
Re: VP Mod install questions
« Reply #18 on: October 16, 2021, 08:41:58 PM »

OK I went in and unpacked all the patches to a folder and added them into the modded VP MOD folder one at a time. I think theres a #SAS folder and a Dgen folder, Mission folder and one paintscheme for a CR42.
 I added one folder then started the game and ran it. I did it until I finished the last one, and it worked. I did have some issues with the mission and quick missions about folder naming, but I got that fixed as well.
 This is when I am supposed to add the conf.ini files, but when I went in to my VP modded folder all the conf.ini files were the same as the ones that were supposed to be added.
Now do I need to add paintschemes/Skins ?
 One other thing, it doesn't know I have a joystick, isn't there a joystick config button somewhere ?
Logged

genXgamer

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 407
  • Player
Re: VP Mod install questions
« Reply #19 on: October 17, 2021, 01:01:54 AM »

Hi Bruce

The fact that the config entries were already there tells me you deviated from my instructions at some point.
But it sounds like you have it working which is great.

Add the skinpack and skinpacks for Dgen campaigns.
This has no effect on whether the game works or not, why not add the BAT skinpacks as well.

In your config file scroll to you see joyUse= make sure it has a 1.
Logged
Go in quickly.....Punch hard.....Get out !

Bsmooth

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
Re: VP Mod install questions
« Reply #20 on: October 17, 2021, 03:53:38 PM »

OK it works but... theres a QuickQMBPro, but I can't seem to use any of the missions at all, matter of fact I can really only use the regular missions that originally came with the game and thats all.
 Maybe genXgamer was right and there is something still wrong.
Logged

genXgamer

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 407
  • Player
Re: VP Mod install questions
« Reply #21 on: October 17, 2021, 05:19:54 PM »

G'day Bruce

I don't have the 10 years plus experience of dealing with user problems like most members here, but if you can provide me with more information I could probably work it out.
It might be something as simple as pressing the RESET button.
Please take a screenshot and post it.
Logged
Go in quickly.....Punch hard.....Get out !

Bsmooth

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
Re: VP Mod install questions
« Reply #22 on: October 17, 2021, 06:17:51 PM »

I'm a bit confused at to whether anything under QuickQMBPro are actual missions or not. Are all of the fllowing missions I can choose to fly, and how do I actually get to them?




Logged

SAS~tsisqua

  • Tsisqua Tsigawonisgi, but you can call me Bird!
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 359
Re: VP Mod install questions
« Reply #23 on: October 17, 2021, 06:26:44 PM »

You load those from in the game, in the QMB menu is a button called "Load".
Logged
"When you have to kill a man, it costs nothing to be polite." Winston Churchill
Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.119 seconds with 24 queries.