Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: VP Mod install questions  (Read 2366 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Bsmooth

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
VP Mod install questions
« on: October 14, 2021, 04:22:25 PM »

I downloaded everything including the 16 parts and then put all of them in one folder. I then started a new folder called IL-2 1946 VPMOD. I copied my working version of IL-2 1946 version 4.12.2 and put it in the new folder. I then tested it and it worked. Next opened the 1st of the 7 Zip folders and extracted them into my new folder. Of course it copied them into a folder called VP Mod. I then copied and pasted this into my new IL-2 1946 VPMOD. this took forever. Maybe 20 minutes.
 Then I started the VPMOD  and it worked great, with all the right splash screens. However I looked under quick missions and there were none at all, saying there might not be a quick mission folder.
 Something went sideways somewhere thats for sure, so I erased almost 1 1/2 hours work and I think I need to start again. I thought the VP Mod would be easy after BAT install, maybe not. I thought the VP Mod might have more complete missions with trains and vehicles than the BAT missions.
 BTW I have BAT installed already, are the CUP MOD and the BAT MOD the same ?
 
Logged

SAS~tsisqua

  • Tsisqua Tsigawonisgi, but you can call me Bird!
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 359
Re: VP Mod install questions
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2021, 08:01:36 PM »

Hi Bruce.

 You said: "I then started a new folder called IL-2 1946 VPMOD. I copied my working version of IL-2 1946 version 4.12.2 and put it in the new folder." So, did you copy the "IL-2 Sturmovik 1946" folder and its contents into the "VPMOD" folder you created, or did you copy the contents of the "IL-2 Sturmovik 1946" folder into that new one? (Either way should be okay, provided you point the first 7Zip file at the folder containing the game files.)

You said: "Of course it copied them into a folder called VP Mod". "I then copied and pasted this into my new IL-2 1946 VPMOD". You shouldn't have needed to copy anything once that process was complete. In other words, 7Zip file #1 should act just like the exe. file in the BAT install, extracting those other files where you pointed the first file. From the instructions: " . . . extarcting (sic) the first part into your game folder will automatically do the other 15 parts too."

" . . . are the CUP MOD and the BAT MOD the same ?" Only in that one is Superboy, and the other is Superman. CUP became BAT a long time ago, and while still available, is a Neanderthal version of BAT. It still kills its food with a club, and is obsolete in comparison.

Well, good luck again, Sir
And Good Hunting.

Bird
 
Logged
"When you have to kill a man, it costs nothing to be polite." Winston Churchill

genXgamer

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 407
  • Player
Re: VP Mod install questions
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2021, 09:07:58 PM »

Hi Bsmooth

No mention of installing patches, did you download and add these?
Also add config entries.

Take a look at reply #5 from vpmedia.

https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,64622.msg555719.html#msg555719





Logged
Go in quickly.....Punch hard.....Get out !

SAS~tsisqua

  • Tsisqua Tsigawonisgi, but you can call me Bird!
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 359
Re: VP Mod install questions
« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2021, 10:22:57 PM »

Sigh!
He can't add patches until he has it installed. And he's having trouble with that.
Bird
Logged
"When you have to kill a man, it costs nothing to be polite." Winston Churchill

genXgamer

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 407
  • Player
Re: VP Mod install questions
« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2021, 12:08:41 AM »

G'day Bird

He did mention " Then I started the VPMOD  and it worked great, with all the right splash screens. However I looked under quick missions and there were none at all, saying there might not be a quick mission folder".

So all he has to do is install exactly the same as before, he knows it works as stated above.
Then apply the two patches.
The first patch fixes QMB problem, hopefully the one Bsmooth is having.

P.S. When's your next mission video?
Logged
Go in quickly.....Punch hard.....Get out !

Bsmooth

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
Re: VP Mod install questions
« Reply #5 on: October 15, 2021, 03:01:26 PM »

Well I did it all over again, tested it before adding the patches, and then ran it again afterwards including the Conf.ini changes. It got to a splash screen and then crashed back to the desktop. I thought I was pretty careful, but not careful enough I guess. Heres my Conf.ini file, although I don't see any Dgen listed.
Code: [Select]
[il2]
title=Il2-Sturmovik Forgotten Battles
hotkeys=HotKey game

[window]
width=1680
height=1050
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
ChangeScreenRes=1
FullScreen=1
DrawIfNotFocused=0
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=1
SaveAspect=0
Use3Renders=0
WideScreenFoV=1
UIColor=0
UIDetail=0
UIBackground=en

[GLPROVIDER]
GL=Opengl32.dll

[GLPROVIDERS]
Open GL=Opengl32.dll
DirectX=dx8wrap.dll

[NET]
speed=5000
routeChannels=0
serverChannels=31
localPort=21000
remotePort=21000
SkinDownload=1
serverName=No Name
serverDescription=
remoteHost=
localHost=
socksHost=
checkServerTimeSpeed=1
checkClientTimeSpeed=0
disableNetStatStatistics=0
showPilotNumber=1
showPilotPing=1
showPilotName=1
showPilotScore=1
showTeamScore=0
cumulativeTeamScore=0
showPilotArmy=1
showPilotACDesignation=1
showPilotACType=1
filterUserNames=0
reflyKIADelay=0
maxAllowedKIA=-1
reflyKIADelayMultiplier=0.0
reflyDisabled=0
allowMorseAsText=1
allowCustomSounds=1

[MaxLag]
farMaxLagTime=10.0
nearMaxLagTime=2.0
cheaterWarningDelay=5.0
cheaterWarningNum=-1

[chat]
region=(dx=0.6925,dy=0.071666665,x=0.0,y=0.0)

[game]
Arcade=0
HighGore=0
mapPadX=0.6689453
mapPadY=-0.046875
viewSet=57
Intro=1
NoSubTitles=0
NoChatter=0
NoHudLog=0
NoLensFlare=0
iconTypes=3
eventlog=eventlog.lst
eventlogkeep=0
3dgunners=1
ScreenshotType=0
RecordingIndicator=0
MapAlpha=0.99
SaveTrk=1
SkipParatrooperViews=0
NoMissionInfoHud=0
noKillInfoHud=0
BlockMorseChat=0
SmallMapWPLabels=1
ShowMorseAsText=0
IconUnits=0


[HotKey game]
PrintScreen=ScreenShot
P=pause
Pause=pause

[HotKey gui]
Escape=activate

[HookViewFly Config]
timeFirstStep=2.0
deltaZ=10.0

[HookView]
MouseLeft=Len

[HookView Config]
AzimutSpeed=0.1
TangageSpeed=0.1
LenSpeed=1.0
MinLen=1.0
DefaultLen=20.0
MaxLen=3000.0
Speed=6
LeanF=0.2
LeanS=0.2
Raise=0.099999994
RubberBand=0.04

[HotKey builder]
MouseLeft=objectMove
MouseRight=popupmenu
Enter=freeView
Shift MouseLeft=worldZoom
Alt MouseLeft=select+
Alt MouseRight=select-
Alt Ctrl=unselect
PageDown=change+
PageUp=change-
End=change++
Home=change--
Ctrl MouseLeft=insert+
Insert=insert+
NumPad-0=insert+
F=fill
Ctrl MouseRight=delete+
NumPad.=delete+
Delete=delete+
Backspace=cursor
Tab=cursor
F10=land
F11=onLand
NumPad-=normalLand
NumPad+=toLand
NumPad-5=resetAngles
NumPad-8=resetTangage90
NumPad-7=stepAzimut-5
NumPad-4=stepAzimut-15
NumPad-1=stepAzimut-30
NumPad-9=stepAzimut5
NumPad-6=stepAzimut15
NumPad-3=stepAzimut30

[MouseXYZ]
F1=SpeedSlow
F2=SpeedNormal
F3=SpeedFast
MouseRight=XYmove
F4 MouseRight=Zmove
MouseMiddle=Amove
F5 MouseRight=Amove
F6 MouseRight=Tmove
F7 MouseRight=Kmove

[MouseXYZ Config]
RealTime=1

[HotKey Console]
Shift Tab=Activate
[Console]
HISTORY=1024
HISTORYCMD=1024
LOAD=console.cmd
SAVE=console.cmd
LOG=0
LOGTIME=0
LOGFILE=log.lst
LOGKEEP=0

[sound]
SoundUse=1
SoundEngine=1
Speakers=0
Placement=0
SoundFlags.reversestereo=0
RadioFlags.Enabled=1
RadioEngine=2
MusicVolume=3
ObjectVolume=8
MusState.takeoff=1
MusState.inflight=1
MusState.crash=1
MusFlags.play=1
MasterVolume=5
Attenuation=7
SoundMode=1
SamplingRate=2
NumChannels=2
SoundExt.occlusions=0
SoundFlags.hardware=1
SoundFlags.streams=1
SoundFlags.duplex=1
SoundExt.acoustics=0
SoundExt.volumefx=0
SoundFlags.voicemgr=0
SoundFlags.static=1
VoiceVolume=7
Channels=2
SoundExt.extrender=0
SoundFlags.bugscorrect=0
SoundSetupId=8
ActivationLevel=0.02
Preemphasis=0.85
RadioLatency=0.5
AGC=1
PTTMode=1
SoundFlags.UseRadioChatter=0
SoundFlags.AutoActivation=0
RadioFlags.PTTMode=0
RadioFlags.PlayClicks=0
ActLevel=0
MicLevel=0
SoundFlags.forceEAX1=0

[rts]
;ProcessAffinityMask=1
mouseUse=2
joyUse=1
trackIRUse=1
DisableIME=0
locale=
UseSmartAxis=0
JoyProfile=0

[rts_mouse]
SensitivityX=1.0
SensitivityY=1.0
Invert=0
SensitivityZ=1.0

[rts_joystick]
X=0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
Y=0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
Z=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100
RZ=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
FF=0
U=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
V=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
1X=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0 0
1Y=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0 0
1RZ=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0 0
1U=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0 0
1V=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0 0
1X1=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0 0
1Y1=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0 0
1Z1=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0 0
1RX1=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0 0
1RY1=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0 0

[Render_DirectX]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=2
TexCompress=0
TexFlags.UseDither=1
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=1
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=0
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=0
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=0
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=0
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=0
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=0
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=0
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=0

HardwareShaders=0

Shadows=2
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=2
Forest=2
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=2
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=4
ForceShaders1x=0
PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.15
PolygonOffsetUnits=-3.0

[Render_OpenGL]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=2
TexCompress=0
TexFlags.UseDither=1
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=1
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=0
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=0
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=1
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=1

TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=1
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=1
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=1
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=1

HardwareShaders=0

Shadows=2
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=2
Forest=2
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=2
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=3
Water=1
Effects=1
ForceShaders1x=0
PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.15
PolygonOffsetUnits=-3.0

[Mods]
PALMODsColor=0
PALQMBLinesMap=10
PALQMBLinesPl0=25
PALQMBLinesPl1=20
PALQMBLinesPl2=19
PALQMBLinesPl3=18
PALQMBLinesPl4=18
PALQMBLinesPl5=18
PALQMBLinesPl6=18
PALQMBLinesPl7=18
BombBayDoors=0
RandomSplash=1
netCallsign=
TracersPlayer=400
TracersAircrafts=300
TracersWorld=25
TracersWirbelwind=5
HUDLogLines=3
HUDLogColor1=80FFFFFF
HUDLogColor2=10FFFFFF
HUDLogBottomColor1=80FFFFFF
HUDLogBottomColor2=10FFFFFF

Logged

bomberkiller

  • Treffen sich zwei Jäger...!
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4253
  • Bf-109G-6/R6 = Bomber Killer
Re: VP Mod install questions
« Reply #6 on: October 15, 2021, 03:37:53 PM »

Hello Bsmooth,

I suspect you are flying the IL-2 in mode: OpenGL.

Please try the following:

[Render_OpenGL]

HardwareShaders=1

.                               
Logged
FAC N° 9 ...cheers mein Schatz

SAS~tsisqua

  • Tsisqua Tsigawonisgi, but you can call me Bird!
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 359
Re: VP Mod install questions
« Reply #7 on: October 15, 2021, 03:48:04 PM »

Did you happen to notice the load percentage on the load screen at the time of the crash? Or did it not get past the initial splash screen? The different percentages tell what was loading at the time of the crash. Also, You have HardwareShaders=0 . So you can't get perfect settings unless HardwareShaders=1 .

GenX, I have never used VP, so if you see me say something wrong feel free to jump right in there and straighten me out. ;) I don't understand why he's having this because it sounds to me as if he's done (pretty much) everything correct.
Logged
"When you have to kill a man, it costs nothing to be polite." Winston Churchill

Bsmooth

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
Re: VP Mod install questions
« Reply #8 on: October 15, 2021, 07:50:41 PM »

Tried it with Hardware shaders at 1 and at 0 and the results are the same crashes at 60% loading. I do know before I put the patches in it worked, and loaded all the way.
I also used the both patches together at 1.6 GB. Maybe I should do the patches separate. I think you can download them separately.
 It also means I need to start again from 4.12.2.
Logged

genXgamer

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 407
  • Player
Re: VP Mod install questions
« Reply #9 on: October 16, 2021, 02:47:10 AM »

Hi Bsmooth

Can you look at my reply that shows the screenshot of the patches required.
Underneath there are install instructions, did you follow these eg. delete the JU-188?
Logged
Go in quickly.....Punch hard.....Get out !

Bsmooth

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
Re: VP Mod install questions
« Reply #10 on: October 16, 2021, 12:39:47 PM »

Yep put the patches in and deleted the JU-188. So I have deleted all that and started over. I now have the regular 4.12.2 and have added the 16 parts that were zipped, and now unzipped them into my sort of new Folder.
 I checked and it works still. Problem is at what point of adding in the patches does it go south ? I'm thinking of copying what I have so far, so I don't have to do this all again if it stops working.
Logged

Bsmooth

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
Re: VP Mod install questions
« Reply #11 on: October 16, 2021, 01:26:31 PM »

I also just noticed something. There is already a mods section in the Conf.ini file. Yet in the VP Modpack release it telss you to add more MOD entries including another mods section. Would that be a reason for it to crash ?
I have this in my Conf.ini file already.
[Mods]
RandomSplash=1
netCallsign=
 then add this?
[Mods]
PALMODsColor=0
PALQMBLinesMap=10
PALQMBLinesPl0=25
PALQMBLinesPl1=20
PALQMBLinesPl2=19
PALQMBLinesPl3=18
PALQMBLinesPl4=18
PALQMBLinesPl5=18
PALQMBLinesPl6=18
PALQMBLinesPl7=18
BombBayDoors=0
RandomSplash=1
netCallsign=
TracersPlayer=400
TracersAircrafts=300
TracersWorld=25
TracersWirbelwind=5
HUDLogLines=3
HUDLogColor1=80FFFFFF
HUDLogColor2=10FFFFFF
HUDLogBottomColor1=80FFFFFF
HUDLogBottomColor2=10FFFFFF
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.115 seconds with 26 queries.