Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T  (Read 1104 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Tore

  • Crazy Mission Maker!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 569
Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
« on: August 21, 2021, 04:11:55 PM »

Hi

Recently while looking at some maps I have noticed that a few interesting maps such as Kiev, Lvov, and Kurland still have the IL-2 stock texture. So, I've decided to try to add some of VP retextured maps from VP Modpack to B.A.T. Half of the maps were actually successful such as Balaton and Okinawa, while the other half were not. Some of the maps I've noticed wouldn't even load in the FMB by clicking "play" or would randomly give me an error. I could be probably missing some files but who knows honestly. :-|

The reason I would need help is because I've been desperate on trying to get Kiev, Lvov, and the Kurland map to work. I'm still wondering how am I supposed to find the rest of the files for the retextured map if it's necessary. If anyone is able to send in the those retextured maps from VP Modpack that would be wonderful.  8)

Any help would be appreciated.  :)

Tore
Logged

genXgamer

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 250
  • Player
Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2021, 06:14:32 PM »

Hi Tore

Sounds like missing textures.
Did you transfer the _Tex folder?
Press SHIFT + TAB to view the error.
Logged
Go in quickly.....Punch hard.....Get out !

Tore

  • Crazy Mission Maker!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 569
Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2021, 06:27:55 PM »

Yes, I had copied to map folders from  the _Tex folder on to the B.A.T _Tex folder. But it appears to not be working still. And the Kiev folder isn't found in the _Tex folder which got me confused.

Not sure on what you mean by shift + tab to view the error unless you're talking about the log. Which could help I guess?
Logged

WxTech

  • Modder
  • member
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2726
Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2021, 08:38:36 PM »

Shift-TAB brings up the on-screen console, which displays errors as they happen. A very handy way to check if anything is amiss without having to quit or jump out of the game. I find that the format can differ from that of the log.lst entries, and so these 'tools' complement each other. Hit shift-TAB again to close the console. During a flight, or while loading maps, etc., you can open and close the console anytime you want to check for issues.
Logged

Tore

  • Crazy Mission Maker!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 569
Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2021, 09:02:06 PM »

Oh I see now, many thanks Glenn!  :)

Hopefully this helps, however it seems a bit hard to read if it's not full screen

Logged

genXgamer

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 250
  • Player
Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2021, 11:51:46 PM »

G'day Tore

At the bottom of the console there is an error, it displays the path to the required texture.
The texture is vp_factory3.tga.
Maps/_Tex/land/Summer/vp_factory3.tga.

If it was me I would backup the BAT _Tex folder put the backup somewhere safe and transfer the entire _Tex folder from VP Modpack.
I haven't got around to installing BAT yet so perhaps I shouldn't be offering advice.
Logged
Go in quickly.....Punch hard.....Get out !

Tore

  • Crazy Mission Maker!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 569
Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
« Reply #6 on: August 22, 2021, 07:27:47 AM »

Hi genXgamer

I gave that a quick try and it works now. I'll probably take a look at the other folders if Kiev and Lvov give me the same error.

Quote
If it was me I would backup the BAT _Tex folder put the backup somewhere safe and transfer the entire _Tex folder from VP Modpack.
I haven't got around to installing BAT yet so perhaps I shouldn't be offering advice.

Now that I think about it, I could try to do that but my PC seems to be running out of space as I have 15.8 GB of space out of 231 GB on my PC. Which is not a lot of course.


Logged

Tore

  • Crazy Mission Maker!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 569
Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
« Reply #7 on: August 22, 2021, 09:46:25 AM »

UPDATE:

I've gotten Kiev and the Lvov map to work. However, I knew another map such as Murmansk summer and winter also had the stock texture. I've managed to get both of them to work but for some reason it still gives me an error of when I click play it doesn't show the briefing. And as I've said before that this isn't the only map that has this problem when I try loading it in BAT.

Is there a way to fix this problem? Here's the log if it's necessary.

https://pastebin.com/HWi5vMV8
Logged

genXgamer

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 250
  • Player
Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
« Reply #8 on: August 22, 2021, 09:48:39 AM »

G'day Mate

Good to see it now works.
A new mission to celebrate?

I'm also low on space with only 100 GB left, so that's why I've downloaded but not installed BAT yet.
Thankfully I have plenty of spare hard drives, just not a high priority.
Logged
Go in quickly.....Punch hard.....Get out !

genXgamer

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 250
  • Player
Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
« Reply #9 on: August 22, 2021, 10:01:43 AM »

The only time I've experienced the briefing screen not showing is from the properties file having a _RU at the end.
This may be a job for one of the knowledgeable big boys.
Logged
Go in quickly.....Punch hard.....Get out !

Tore

  • Crazy Mission Maker!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 569
Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
« Reply #10 on: August 22, 2021, 10:21:50 AM »

That could be it. Maybe someone else would have a solution on fixing the problem. Or sending in VP's retextured summer Murmansk map that could hopefully work on BAT would be the case. Yet, I'm not that smart.  :-X But there would be other maps that would have the same issue, such as Tarawa. But I've been also wanting to add in Normandy too. But we'll see.
Logged

WxTech

  • Modder
  • member
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2726
Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
« Reply #11 on: August 22, 2021, 11:19:34 AM »

Wouldn't it be nice if BAT could have all those horrible stock maps updated to Istvan's (vp's) standard?

Or if just vp's map-related material could be downloaded by itself?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.053 seconds with 24 queries.