Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: spiky Clouds  (Read 709 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

David Prosser

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3494
spiky Clouds
« on: August 01, 2021, 08:48:53 PM »

I'm using BAT 4.13 on my lap top. The only issue I have is spiky clouds. I assume I need to change something in my conf.ini. What needs to be changed though?


EDIT: Problem solved. I turned clouds off.



cheers

David

NobleNerd

  • Spinny Wing Machine Flyer Person
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 169
  • I need bacon.
Re: spiky Clouds
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2021, 09:34:02 PM »

I had this problem when I first downloaded BAT.

Does your laptop have two graphics cards? If I'm remembering correctly, I right-clicked on the selector shortcut and switched graphics cards.
Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • retired
  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21278
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: spiky Clouds
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2021, 10:43:52 PM »

...and if it has no dedicated graphics card, switch to DirectX mode.
The Forum Search yields tons of results for this.

]cheers[
Mike
Logged
You live, you learn, you love, you're dead.

David Prosser

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3494
Re: spiky Clouds
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2021, 11:30:19 PM »

OK, thanks, I'll try that.

EHood

  • Supporter
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 544
Re: spiky Clouds
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2021, 11:55:35 PM »

Bought my desktop a few years ago, thinking I could have the Intel graphics card replaced by an nvidia card. Wrong. I'm stuck with the Intel card, and it somehow yields those same, spiky clouds. I did try DirectX for a brief while, but this proved more trouble than it was worth. It seemed as if some new and different graphics problem arose with each conf tweak. I've long been back in OpenGL; until I get a new, nvidia-equipped PC, I just switch on "No Clouds" in the Video Options. Depending upon the mission, there can still be plenty of other clouds in the sky. Just nothing too close or too fluffy.  8) Good luck to you, Mr. P.
Logged
If the brakes don't stop it, something will.

David Prosser

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3494
Re: spiky Clouds
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2021, 04:05:00 AM »

Switching to No Clouds did the job. Thanks for the tip.


cheers


David

EHood

  • Supporter
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 544
Re: spiky Clouds
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2021, 08:54:27 AM »

Glad to help. It's a shame having to take those close-range clouds away; they can definitely make missions more interesting, especially given visual restrictions for the AI. I'm about due for a new PC and Windows 11. This time I think I'll probably be shopping for a custom desktop, with an nvidia card already fitted. Strange to say, the last time I had a PC capable of deeper immersion, including no stuttering during lightning storms or large numbers of explosions, it was a Gateway with XP and, yes, an nvidia card.  ;)
Logged
If the brakes don't stop it, something will.

SAS~Storebror

  • retired
  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21278
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: spiky Clouds
« Reply #7 on: August 03, 2021, 09:14:47 AM »

Honestly I've never had any issues with using DirectX mode on my two laptops.
Gubi has been using DirectX mode for an eternity.
Only limitation is that in DirectX you can't use "perfect mode" - but you can't do that in OpenGL if you don't have a dedicated graphics card anyway.
So the advice stays as before: Switch to DirectX. And turn the clouds back on - they'll be working fine in DirectX mode.

]cheers[
Mike
Logged
You live, you learn, you love, you're dead.

ssn637

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
Re: spiky Clouds
« Reply #8 on: August 20, 2021, 10:42:35 AM »

I'm running IL-2 Sturmovik 1946 BAT 4.1.3 in a Parallels Desktop 17.0 Windows 11 virtual machine on a 2019 16" MacBook Pro.  Since this system only supports OpenGL 3.3 I'm unable to take advantage of ReShade, which requires OpenGL 4.1 as a minimum, but in DirectX mode the game runs surprisingly well, even without ReShade enabled. 

However, I've found that I need to set DrawLandByTriangles=1, otherwise when flying over water rectangles are clearly visible.





I also have an issue in DirectX mode where, with certain custom maps, jagged coastlines are visible, even if I enable FXAA or SMAA in ReShade (there are no graphics driver options in the virtual machine).  If anyone has a tip on any particular settings in the configuration file that prevents this anomaly I would be very grateful!





Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.054 seconds with 24 queries.