Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Im new to the forum.  (Read 416 times)

Aztop033

Im new to the forum.
« on: July 19, 2021, 05:02:10 AM »

Hello! I would gladly appreciate if someone helped me on how to mod my il-2 1946 because im new to modding and im new to this forum. My il-2 1946 version is 4.12.2m. Thank's a lot! It would be cool if someone showed me around the parts of the forum.

Fresco23

• Part-Time Skinner
  • Modder
  • F.A.C. #23
Re: Im new to the forum.
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2021, 06:33:56 AM »

Welcome to SAS Aztop033! You've come to the right place. The community here is excellent.

First step to modding your IL-2 is knowing what you want to do with it, as there are lots of fine options available. If you want to stick with the 4.12.2 version you have already, and if you have a halfway decent PC, then I'd advise you to look at BAT: https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,63246.msg696450.html#msg696450

The BAT install is a multi-step process, depending on how much you want to use. It can be a single huge ww2 and 1946 installation, or it can be all that plus a ww1 era, a 30's "Golden Era", and a slick late 50's to modern day jet era all wrapped into one glorious package.

This would be my number one recommendation for OFFLINE play. It has everything, including a handful of mods not in general circulation, at least by my understanding.

DOWNSIDE to BAT: It is a HUGE install, and a HUGE, MUlti-step download and installation process. If HD space or internet bandwidth are concerns then you may have trouble here. If you make a mistake on the installation it simply will not work. That'll be no fun. Ask for help (In the appropriate thread) if needed. There are usually multiple people around that will assist you.