Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Mk 13 torpedoes  (Read 1442 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Alien_12

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 68
Mk 13 torpedoes
« on: April 26, 2021, 03:20:23 PM »

I need some help. Every time I drop a Mk 13 torpedo, I get a 'torpedo failed' message. Not one of my drops was successful. I usually drop them at around 190-200 km/h and altitude of 20 meters maximum. Is there a way they need to be armed before they're dropped, were they this unreliable, is there something wrong with my files, or am I just doing it wrong?
I did it in B5N2, too, and the fish worked fine.
Logged

Dreamk

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1787
Re: Mk 13 torpedoes
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2021, 04:33:54 PM »

The Mk13 torpedoes have very different data from one mod to another. Mod 0 and Mod 1 are the most challenging, mod 8 (chute) and Mod 10 (box and nose) are the easiest.
Torpedo launching is done according to matrix specific to each torpedo. If you take the Mk13 Mod 0 for instance, the matrix envelop shows that teh launch is successful inside the following limits:
max speed of 200km/h at the min height of 3 m over water
and
max height of 15 but at max speed of 58.1 km/h (well under the stall speed of most ww2 planes)
So in practice for this torpedo try to launch at between 90 and 150 km/h and under 10-15m height 
(precise calculations give in fact max limit at 15m and under 196 km/h)
 
Logged

Alien_12

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 68
Re: Mk 13 torpedoes
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2021, 05:16:57 PM »

Thanks, I knew it had to be me. All I did to know the speed and altitude was look at the data via comms menu, and it stated 30m 205km/h without any more details.
Logged

Knochenlutscher

  • "always check your trash..."
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3477
  • aka Segfej
Re: Mk 13 torpedoes
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2021, 10:01:14 PM »

I use a custom printed cardboard with all Torpedo specs I found for
1C/TD, and the different Modded Torpedoes.

Such easy access Specs are vital for Virtual dropping in heat of battle.
Search once, collect data, print out.
Logged
Wiseman: Did you speak the exact words? Ash: Look, maybe I didn't say every single little tiny syllable, no. But basically I said them, yeah.

Dreamk

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1787
Re: Mk 13 torpedoes
« Reply #4 on: April 27, 2021, 02:01:07 AM »

In fact USN pilots in ww2 used a disc calculator to determine whether they were inside the limits of the envelop before dropping their torpedoes as the various Mk13 mods had quite different proprieties.
here's a pic of such a  disc calculator for the Mk13 mod1:

and for the Mk13 Mod 2

On the lower part you can see the speed scale and launch altitude scale and on the upper part the resulting torpedo speed after correct entry and its resulting range.
Previous to that they used an abaccus - a data chart where they plotted before take off (or by the observer during the flight for aircraft such as the Avenger) the correct relationship for speed and height as here:

This picture is taken from an instructional movie of the US Navy called Technical Operation of the US Mk13 Torpedo (part of a longer movie which original title was "Aerial Torpedo Attack: High Speed, High Altitude", a movie produced in 1944 for instruction to the use of the late mods of the Mk13 that could be dropped at high speed and high altitude)

A similar instructional movie is also available on Youtube concerning the MkXII British torpedo with its different versions


I think than I can to arrange my excel form with the torpedoes data into some kind of pilot calculator, or to organiuze some kind of abaccus. I need to check how I can do this.











Logged

Griffon_301

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2209
Re: Mk 13 torpedoes
« Reply #5 on: April 27, 2021, 03:09:54 AM »

Ehm...with the HUD Mod you just enter the communications menu and then press E (for example) IIRC, you get to see your weapons loadout and for the Torpedos the drop parameters, works like a charme...
Logged

Knochenlutscher

  • "always check your trash..."
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3477
  • aka Segfej
Re: Mk 13 torpedoes
« Reply #6 on: April 27, 2021, 03:48:37 AM »

HUD Mod didn't know that?

What is IIRC, I read this everywhere?

My E does bail out, gues I'll have to tick in HUD Menu then sth.


I wonder if it's possible to expand an already existing Tool.
https://www.mission4today.com/index.php?name=Downloads&file=details&id=1712

It's already in Excel, and should be suitable to house the plethora of Cigars.

I use this on my Tablet.

Logged
Wiseman: Did you speak the exact words? Ash: Look, maybe I didn't say every single little tiny syllable, no. But basically I said them, yeah.

Griffon_301

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2209
Re: Mk 13 torpedoes
« Reply #7 on: April 27, 2021, 04:24:40 AM »

Ah I will fire up the sim and show what mean...I did not touch any of the standard keys but will check how I can access that...

Makes Torp bombers a real blast to fly...well not the TBD but the TBM with later mod Torps at least :D
Logged

cbradbury

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 792
Re: Mk 13 torpedoes
« Reply #8 on: April 27, 2021, 04:58:23 AM »

What is IIRC, I read this everywhere?

'If I recall (or remember) correctly'
Logged

Griffon_301

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2209
Re: Mk 13 torpedoes
« Reply #9 on: April 27, 2021, 06:10:40 AM »

two quick grabs from a test mission:

the first one shows the run in with the torp parameter info enabled (communication - technical: on my pc it is enabled with TAB  key - then "E")





the second one shows the torp hitting the target ship (and WXTechs nice new explosion effects):




excuse the not up to standards picture quality, those are just quick grabs with the mobile off the running game....


Logged

Knochenlutscher

  • "always check your trash..."
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3477
  • aka Segfej
Re: Mk 13 torpedoes
« Reply #10 on: April 28, 2021, 05:58:29 AM »

Thanks Cbradburry,

another mystery solved. Thanks for explanation.

Hi Phil,

Aaahhh, that one, I remember, com Tab and then Key E,
I used that only once. But I didn't kept that in memory.
Will try these Effects, they're from his latest Effect Pack, right?
https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,66487.0.html

Tobias
 
Logged
Wiseman: Did you speak the exact words? Ash: Look, maybe I didn't say every single little tiny syllable, no. But basically I said them, yeah.

Griffon_301

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2209
Re: Mk 13 torpedoes
« Reply #11 on: April 28, 2021, 07:12:54 AM »

Yes that's the one :)
I load them before the engine Mod and have not noticed any problems yet...
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.106 seconds with 25 queries.