Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How to remove Alpha channel without getting holes in image?  (Read 616 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

glibble

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 111
How to remove Alpha channel without getting holes in image?
« on: August 30, 2020, 01:41:52 PM »

Hi All,

I'm sort of new to tweaking skins.
How do I remove the Alpha channel of a default skin, so that I can use it as a .bmp?

What I got instead was a skin with white "holes" in it:


Here's what I tried:
1. Extracted the default D3A1 skin in .tgb format
2. Changed the file extension to .tga
3. Used the ViewIMF tool to convert it to a readable .tga format
4. Opened GIMP, went to Layer/Transparency/Remove Alpha Channel
5. Exported as .bmp from GIMP

Basically I'm looking for a way to extract the original skin without the holes in it.
Any help is greatly appreciated.  :)

Cheers,
Glibble
Logged

WxTech

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2304
Re: How to remove Alpha channel without getting holes in image?
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2020, 10:01:01 PM »

With GIMP or Photoshop, for example, you could select the channels tab, delete the alpha channel, and save the image as 24 bit. Easy peasy. ;)

I haven't found a way for Irfanview (or my old-ish copy, anyway) to separate out the alpha channel.
Logged

glibble

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 111
Re: How to remove Alpha channel without getting holes in image?
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2020, 08:18:59 AM »

Hi WxTech,

Thanks for your reply.
When I select the channels tab, I can only turn the alpha channel off, but I cannot delete it. That option is greyed out in GIMP:



When I exported the image as 24 bit, the same white patches showed up :(

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Glibble
Logged

Koty

  • Mr. MiG
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2238
  • It's a MiG!
Re: How to remove Alpha channel without getting holes in image?
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2020, 12:06:21 PM »

first go to the layers tab, right click the layer, remove alpha channel
Logged
If I don't have to do it, I won't. If I have to do it, I'll make it quick.

Kelso

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 251
Re: How to remove Alpha channel without getting holes in image?
« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2020, 12:25:22 PM »

I don't know if I understood your problem correctly, but it's probably very simple:
1. Extracted the default D3A1 skin in .tgb format
2. Changed the file extension to .tga
3. Used the ViewIMF tool to convert it to a readable .tga format
4. Opened Irfan View and save as bmp
Logged

Mission_bug

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5226
Re: How to remove Alpha channel without getting holes in image?
« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2020, 01:27:12 PM »

As far as I am aware you cannot remove the alpha from the skin, you can export a copy of it so it can be added to another skin without one but the alpha will remain on the skin you have. ;)

There must be the original skin around that the targa files were made from, please check the downloads here and elsewhere, failing that you would need the template that the skin was made with so you could check the box not to save the alpha before saving as a BMP.

There are various skinners who have made skins for this type, vpmedia, Sakai and possibly Hayate, try making a request in the appropriate place and I am sure one of them would still have their own templates and could make it for you if you ask nicely.

Other than that the crude way of doing things would be to paint in those areas, it would not look good though unless you took the time to add new lines and rivets as new layers to replace what has been lost.

Sorry I cannot be of more help.

Take care and be safe.

Wishing you all the very best, Pete. ;D
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.053 seconds with 25 queries.