Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 ... 185 186 187 [188] 189 190 191 192   Go Down

Author Topic: VP Modpack Discussion  (Read 21140 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

jjmeow8

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
Re: VP Modpack Discussion
« Reply #2244 on: July 01, 2020, 04:25:00 PM »

My brother only has the Jetwar, Russian, and American airplanes. He installed this before installing AI flyables and even after installing AI flyables it's the same, and he can't fly normally AI airplanes either. This problem only started after he installed JetWar. Before that it worked perfectly fine. And I don't have Jetwar installed so I have no problem with the airplanes, but when I'm on a multiplayer server on a map (such as the English channel map with static airplanes and flights) it'll randomly freeze and not unfreeze after a random amount of time. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
Logged

nightmare70

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: VP Modpack Discussion
« Reply #2245 on: July 04, 2020, 11:01:26 AM »

Hello,

I've got a problem with VP- all additional campaigns doesnt want to start. First I heard that beep, then I installed the patch. Now whe I want to start a campaign which comes with VP when I chose one and press start... Game goes back to main menu.
I don't know what is going on, stock Il 2 campaigns are working very well, QMB works.

Here is what I did:

Downgraded GOG 4.13 il 2 to 4.10
Checked if game works
Installed SAS Mega Patch
Checked
Downloaded VP modpack and extracted everything to game folder ( game is on C:/ Program Files x86/ GOG/ Games/ Il2 1946 ) with skinpack as well.
Changed dgen lines in conf.ini to ones presented in 1st post.
Checked, when I wanted to start VP campaign I heard that beep, QMB did not work as well
Googled and changed folder name from Quick to correct name
Downloaded the patch
Deleted Ju-188 folder
Extracted everything to game folder
Checked, not theres no beep, now when I want to start a campaign ( e.g. RAF 1939-45 ) game returns to main and nothing happens. And when I launch a mission in stock campaign, during brief I can adjust everything, clouds, weather, time, even plane and theres no restrictions. Is that last one normal?


Just to notice Im new to modding environment, never modded Il 2.

And one question- how to change damn language? Game changed automatically to my native which mixes up with english and that's really annoying.



EDIT- Apparently I still hear beep in most of the campaigns. The generic ETO RAF one is sending me back to menu.
Logged

vpmedia

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6652
  • www.vpmedia.hu/il2
    • VPMEDIA SKINS
Re: VP Modpack Discussion
« Reply #2246 on: July 04, 2020, 02:54:00 PM »

If you downgrade from 4.13 to 4.12 you dont need to patch your game to 4.12. The patch is only needed for a dvd install or if you have a older 4.09/4.10/4.11 game.

The QMB needs the patch. That advice regarding the rename of the Quick folder is wrong.

You can some variables in a campaign , that's a feature provided by the Mission Pro Combo mod. It enables you to fly the stock campaigns using mod planes for your flight and you can also change date, weather, etc.

You need to set your game to english otherwise some campaign will not work. Adjust locale=en in the conf.ini.
My other conf.ini settings are in the install guide, which is linked in the first post:
https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,50919.msg556032.html#msg556032

vpmedia

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6652
  • www.vpmedia.hu/il2
    • VPMEDIA SKINS
Re: VP Modpack Discussion
« Reply #2247 on: July 04, 2020, 02:54:59 PM »

The patch is only needed for a dvd install or if you have a older 4.09/4.10/4.11 game.

By the patch I mean the 4.12 SAS megapatch.

whistler

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2761
Re: VP Modpack Discussion
« Reply #2248 on: July 04, 2020, 03:15:16 PM »

You need to set your game to english otherwise some campaign will not work. Adjust locale=en in the conf.ini.

locale=en doesn't exist. It must be either locale=us or locale= (empty)

When using locale=en, since the game cannot find an "en" locale because it doesn't exist, IL-2 will switch to the default langauge (english for the international version / Russian language for russian version). Using locale=en is like using locale=kl (for Klingon language), as I explained in the past. The downside is that if you use locale=en, and if you create a mission, the game will create xxx_en.properties files. Nobody but people using locale=en will see xxx_en.properties files.

locale= (good)
locale=us (good)
locale=en (bad, someone made this up time ago)

Cheers!
Logged
NG-HUD v3.6.1 | NG-MAP v3.2 | NG-CAM v2.0 | NG-PAL v1.1: https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/board,93.0.html

vpmedia

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6652
  • www.vpmedia.hu/il2
    • VPMEDIA SKINS
Re: VP Modpack Discussion
« Reply #2249 on: July 04, 2020, 04:00:55 PM »

its really strange that the game reacts to something that doesn't exist and creates those xxx_en.properties files

whistler

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2761
Re: VP Modpack Discussion
« Reply #2250 on: July 04, 2020, 04:26:28 PM »

Just as it reacts with locale=kl. You pass kl, and if it finds kl files (gui_kl.properties, hud_log_kl.properties, maps_kl.properties), it will use klingon translations. Otherwise it will stick to default (gui.properties, hud_log.properties, maps.properties).

For missions:

locale=en will generate xxx_en.properties and will only read xxx_en.properties
locale=kl will generate xxx_kl.properties and will only read xxx_kl.properties
locale=ru will generate xxx_ru.properties and will only read xxx_ru.properties
locale=fr will generate xxx_fr.properties and will only read xxx_fr.properties
...

But the game will care if it finds nothing or us:

locale= will generate xxx.properties and will only read xxx.properties
locale=us will generate xxx.properties and will only read xxx.properties

Code: [Select]
        private String textFileName(String tFileName, boolean flag)
        {
            String s = "";
            if(flag)
            {
                String s1 = Locale.getDefault().getLanguage();
                String s2 = RTSConf.cur.locale.getLanguage();
                if(s2.equalsIgnoreCase("ru") && !s1.equalsIgnoreCase("ru"))
                    s1 = "us";
                if(s1 == null || s1.length() < 2)
                    s1 = "us";
                if(!"us".equals(s1))
                    s = "_" + s1;
            }
            return tFileName + s + ".properties";
        }
Logged
NG-HUD v3.6.1 | NG-MAP v3.2 | NG-CAM v2.0 | NG-PAL v1.1: https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/board,93.0.html

nightmare70

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: VP Modpack Discussion
« Reply #2251 on: July 05, 2020, 02:38:20 AM »

Thank You guys for Your help.

I have changed the language in locale=- before that locale= was empty. I have switched it to locale=us. And now everything works.

Thanks again and that modpack is very good I love additional campaigns, stuff that I've missed from vanilla Il2- Africa, Battle of France, Western front.
Logged

whistler

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2761
Re: VP Modpack Discussion
« Reply #2252 on: July 05, 2020, 04:00:53 AM »

Well, if *it* (whatever it was) didn't work with locale=(empty) but it works with locale=us, then there might be a problem in DGen content. Glad it is sorted though.
Logged
NG-HUD v3.6.1 | NG-MAP v3.2 | NG-CAM v2.0 | NG-PAL v1.1: https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/board,93.0.html

jymp

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
Re: VP Modpack Discussion
« Reply #2253 on: July 05, 2020, 08:36:47 PM »

Hello, I'm very new to IL2 1946' and I know I've done something wrong here but have no idea what it is, first I have 4.12 of IL2 1946 from Steam, I installed Modact 5.30, and that worked fine, then tried to install VP Modpack for 4.12, thought I followed each step to the letter (guess not) but no luck, I don't see any difference from SAS Modact 5.30, any help would be greatly appreciated to help get VP Modpack working, maybe a step by step simple guide ?, I've looked at the Youtube videos several times, Thanks guys.
Logged

vpmedia

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6652
  • www.vpmedia.hu/il2
    • VPMEDIA SKINS
Re: VP Modpack Discussion
« Reply #2254 on: July 06, 2020, 05:49:42 AM »

Re: https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,53986.msg709047.html#msg709047

There's no need to install SAS modact.

I think when you extracted the files you created an unnecessary subfolder called vp_modpack.

jymp

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
Re: VP Modpack Discussion
« Reply #2255 on: July 06, 2020, 08:21:43 AM »

This morning I deleted IL2 46 using Steam, then reinstalled, then install VP Modpack, still doesn’t work, I noticed it installed 3.1.1 of the Selector . And yes it did create a VP Modpack folder in IL2 46’, should I delete this folder ??
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 185 186 187 [188] 189 190 191 192   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.048 seconds with 23 queries.