Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: test skins without using the game?  (Read 2635 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

singüe

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 519
  • No por mucho amanecer, se madruga m
test skins without using the game?
« on: September 15, 2019, 12:32:52 AM »

Gentelmen, is there a way yo test skins without using the game? Mine works so bad I'm going crazy.
Logged

SAS~vampire_pilot

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6904
  • a million fixes
Re: Asking for help
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2019, 01:29:05 AM »

I don't know of any.

But you can easily run the game and your paint program in parallel and change between them and check in QMB preview as you go and paint... it's how I do it.

bomberkiller

  • Treffen sich zwei Jäger...!
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3833
  • Bf-109G-6/R6 = Bomber Killer
Re: Asking for help
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2019, 02:00:20 AM »

Hello singüe,

I also hate this loading problem.

When I painted the Lancaster skins in 2048... grrr!

"vampilots" note is good. Additionally deactivate all HD-stuff (if you don't paint in HD) per JSGME (True Color Textures for...).

Good luck.

Best regards, Gerhard  :)
Logged
FAC N° 9 ...cheers mein Schatz

eMeL

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 738
  • Use it wisely my friend
Re: Asking for help
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2019, 02:12:17 AM »

As do I.

...change between them and check in QMB preview as you go and paint... it's how I do it.

To change between press Alt+Tab. ;)
Logged
"Be excellent to each other" Bill and Ted

singüe

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 519
  • No por mucho amanecer, se madruga m
Re: test skins without using the game?
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2019, 02:14:32 PM »

Thanks for your advice, people, this is the way I do It, but muy laptop is so cheap and works so bad that will end kicking It to the trash can. Also my game is broken and  I've lost muy backup. Well, could be worst.
Logged

leperemagloire

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 351
Re: test skins without using the game?
« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2019, 09:03:47 AM »

Check MP  ;)
Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • retired
  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21194
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: test skins without using the game?
« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2019, 09:09:07 AM »

If there's a solution available, why send it by PM instead of sharing with all users?
Seems a bit counterproductive me thinks.

]cheers[
Mike
Logged
You live, you learn, you love, you're dead.

singüe

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 519
  • No por mucho amanecer, se madruga m
Re: test skins without using the game?
« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2019, 09:26:51 AM »

Mike, I'll give a try a Lepermagloire solution que Will tell how good It is.
Logged

leperemagloire

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 351
Re: test skins without using the game?
« Reply #8 on: September 17, 2019, 04:12:06 AM »

No secrets, so far no solution had been made to his problem, and it seemed to me that those who had already answered knew the existence of Skinl exe, that's all. :-[
Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • retired
  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21194
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: test skins without using the game?
« Reply #9 on: September 17, 2019, 04:32:54 AM »

Yep, Sknil and MeshViewer can do the job if you have the extracted meshes of the plane at hands.
That however is probably out of scope for most skinners.
Add to that, Sknil has certain issues with the material set of newer planes (4.13 and onwards) - MeshViewer can deal with those.

]cheers[
Mike
Logged
You live, you learn, you love, you're dead.

leperemagloire

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 351
Re: test skins without using the game?
« Reply #10 on: September 17, 2019, 10:16:14 AM »

Of course.
If you want to skin a modded plane, you have access to  the 3d in the folder ;)
Skinl don't work with some modded planes,
 I noted :tga textures format not compatible with application,and with some errors in édition of hier him: spécialy with // before  [part] or too big space between paragraph.
You still have an error message, but it's not always easy to fix it.
If you can not load the hier him, you can still load the mesh, except those where there is an error.
Logged

singüe

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 519
  • No por mucho amanecer, se madruga m
Re: test skins without using the game?
« Reply #11 on: September 27, 2019, 11:23:21 AM »

Tried and failed, I do not know if my fault or my laptop. When I can get It working properly I Will have another try.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.053 seconds with 25 queries.