Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11   Go Down

Author Topic: MissionProCombo PLUS v2.2  (Read 35821 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

whistler

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2784
Re: MissionProCombo PLUS v2.0 ~ NEW! ~
« Reply #84 on: July 12, 2020, 04:48:53 AM »





Note for non-BAT users: starting with v2.0 you no longer need "Mission Pro Combo for v4.12.2m" by benitomuso. MPC-PLUS v2.0 includes everything you need EXCEPT the QMB missions that must be downloaded separately.

BAT users will find in the first post a patch that can be installed on top of v3.8.X.

Having said that, let's get down to business... What's new, you ask? 8)




~ THE HANGAR ~

A visual aircraft selector has been solely missing in this game from day one. Back in the day not all PCs were ready to load and render many planes on screen but years later this can be finally realized.

The Hangar is accessible from the Arming screen but it is only available for Quick & Single Missions. Access to the Hangar was carefully designed to be out of the way so if it doesn't work for you, just... don't use it!




When you access your Hangar 20 planes will be rendered on screen.




Loading times and performance will vary depending on the power of your machine. Modded planes are more detailed and this will also impact performance. Any modern PC should render the screen in few seconds and SSD storage will certainly help.



If you click on aircraft besides the main window, browsing should be fast since it will only load one extra object with each click.

Not much else to explain here. I hope you enjoy this long awaited feature as much as I enjoyed building it!





~ THE OBJECT VIEWER ~
Reviewed, Reworked, Revamped

Accessible from the Main Menu, the Object Viewer hasn't gotten much attention in the last years. Modded planes weren't listed and we were missing most of the objects.

For MPC-PLUS v2.0 I reviewed the code and implemented some usability adjustments and the Object Viewer is actually usable now!




The viewer now remembers zoom and orientation:




To make the Object Viewer work in BAT you will need some files that can be downloaded in the first post. These files will be included in the next BAT patch but you can get them right away.






~ THE OBJECT BROWSER ~

FMB's new Object Browser was introduced in a previous post but let's review it in detail again. Access the Object Browser from the View menu:




The Object Browser is optimized for a 1920x1080 resolution. I changed the default size of the regular object selector to take advantage of the configuration below, which I found optimal to work with:



The collapse/expand button is your best allied: the browser won't load/render objects while collapsed. Use the button often for best experience.


The Object Browser will only work with static objects (house icon). It is more than a viewer or a browser, it works in conjunction with the regular selector via synchronization but it can also replace it: you can build a scene using the Object Browser alone if you wish to do so.




Not much to explain about usage, just a couple of remarks:

- Right click on blue window to unselect the object (when selected)
- Left click on blue window to bookmark/unmark an object (valid for the current session only)

Regarding responsiveness, I am afraid there is little that can be done. Objects get rendered fast once in memory, but it takes time to read the various files from the SFS. The faster the HDD/SSD, the better the experience, just like with The Hangar.

Last, MPC-PLUS v2 includes an improved FMB cursor. Get back the original cursor by deleting the 3DO folder found in the download.



You will find download links in the first post. Let me know how this update works for you. Take care and...

SEE YOU IN SKIES! ;)
Logged
NG-HUD v3.6.1 | NG-MAP v3.2 | NG-CAM v2.0 | NG-PAL v1.2: https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/board,93.0.html

magican

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Re: MissionProCombo PLUS v2.0 ~ NEW! ~
« Reply #85 on: July 12, 2020, 06:01:19 AM »

BRAVO !!!  :) :) :)
Logged

PO_MAK_249RIP

  • CMON U SPURS!
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2060
Re: MissionProCombo PLUS v2.0 ~ NEW! ~
« Reply #86 on: July 12, 2020, 07:39:42 AM »

Holy cow!! Amazing stuff whistler!
Logged
Corsair Carbide case, Intel core i5 4690 3.5ghz with Arctic Cooler, Asus Rock H97 performance, MSI Ventus XS OC 1660GTX 6GB DDR6, 32GB Patriot Viper 1600Mhz, 256GB/500GB Crucial SSDs, Windows 10 64bit.

henkypenky

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 958
  • BAT 4.2 Flashpoint & WAW
Re: MissionProCombo PLUS v2.0 ~ NEW! ~
« Reply #87 on: July 13, 2020, 01:53:00 AM »

Its getting better and better, many thanks Whistler
Logged

whistler

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2784
Re: MissionProCombo PLUS v2.0 ~ NEW! ~
« Reply #88 on: July 13, 2020, 05:25:23 AM »

So no games broke in the last 24hrs... good stuff :)

...

BAT: Regarding the Object Viewer, and leaving Aircraft aside, I didn't specify any army for any object, but you can if you want.

In example, open #MOD\STD\i18n\ship.ini and find:

Aurora 3do/Ships/Aurora/Hier.him

Just go and add:

Aurora 3do/Ships/Aurora/Hier.him 1

This way, Aurora will show up only when the Red army is selected. If no army (empty, nothing) or 0 is found, the object will be displayed for both Red and Blue armies.

0 = Both armies
1 = Red
2 = Blue

Feel free to assign armies to objects. If anyone goes through all files, please share the result back.
Logged
NG-HUD v3.6.1 | NG-MAP v3.2 | NG-CAM v2.0 | NG-PAL v1.2: https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/board,93.0.html

PO_MAK_249RIP

  • CMON U SPURS!
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2060
Re: MissionProCombo PLUS v2.0 ~ NEW! ~
« Reply #89 on: July 13, 2020, 05:51:15 AM »

Hi Whistler fantastic mod!!
However If I load your mod BEFORE the engine mod everything works fine - If I load the engine mod BEFORE your mod I always getting the following CTD when selecting aircraft in my QMB?

Code: [Select]
java.lang.NoSuchFieldError: quikPlayerPosition
at com.maddox.il2.gui.GUIQuick$ItemWing.toAirArming(GUIQuick.java:834)
at com.maddox.il2.gui.GUIQuick$WButtonArming.notify(GUIQuick.java:393)
at com.maddox.gwindow.GWindowDialogControl._notify(GWindowDialogControl.java:51)
at com.maddox.il2.gui.GUIButton._notify(GUIButton.java:18)
at com.maddox.gwindow.GWindowDialogControl.mouseClick(GWindowDialogControl.java:86)
at com.maddox.il2.gui.GUIButton.mouseClick(GUIButton.java:22)
at com.maddox.gwindow.GWindow._mouseButton(GWindow.java:556)
at com.maddox.gwindow.GWindowRoot.doMouseButton(GWindowRoot.java:251)
at com.maddox.gwindow.GWindowManager.doMouseButton(GWindowManager.java:69)
at com.maddox.il2.engine.GUIWindowManager.msgMouseButton(GUIWindowManager.java:126)
at com.maddox.rts.MsgMouse.invokeListener(MsgMouse.java:98)
at com.maddox.rts.Message._send(Message.java:1217)
at com.maddox.rts.Message.sendToObject(Message.java:1191)
at com.maddox.rts.Message.sendToArray(Message.java:1147)
at com.maddox.rts.Message.sendTo(Message.java:1128)
at com.maddox.rts.Message.trySend(Message.java:1115)
at com.maddox.rts.Time.loopMessages(Time.java:180)
at com.maddox.rts.RTSConf.loopMsgs(RTSConf.java:101)
at com.maddox.il2.game.MainWin3D.loopApp(MainWin3D.java:131)
at com.maddox.il2.game.Main.exec(Main.java:422)
at com.maddox.il2.game.GameWin3D.main(GameWin3D.java:235)

Not a problem for me tbh just wondered why this happens?

Still on CUP but heavily modded!
Logged
Corsair Carbide case, Intel core i5 4690 3.5ghz with Arctic Cooler, Asus Rock H97 performance, MSI Ventus XS OC 1660GTX 6GB DDR6, 32GB Patriot Viper 1600Mhz, 256GB/500GB Crucial SSDs, Windows 10 64bit.

whistler

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2784
Re: MissionProCombo PLUS v2.0 ~ NEW! ~
« Reply #90 on: July 13, 2020, 06:13:37 AM »

Well, what can I say. I don't know what EngineMod you are running and in what state it is, I don't know what your CUP looks like and how you installed MPC-PLUS.

For what is worth, I have MPC-PLUS working fine in my SAS ModAct testbed as well as in VP-Modpack's Jetwar, both employing EngineMod...
Logged
NG-HUD v3.6.1 | NG-MAP v3.2 | NG-CAM v2.0 | NG-PAL v1.2: https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/board,93.0.html

Spireitemoose

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: MissionProCombo PLUS v2.0
« Reply #91 on: July 27, 2020, 12:18:00 PM »

Hi. Dont know what i'm doing wrong here but i'm patched to 3.8.4 and downloaded the patch for mission pro combo 2. its a zip file which I assume I just extract to my IL246 folder? I did that but I'm not seeing any of the new features such as the hangar, no button for it or improved object viewer. In fact when i click on anything other than the planes (which doesnt show the complete list) in the object viewer it either crashes the game or shows no objects at all.
Have I done this correctly or am i missing something? Thanks.
Logged

whistler

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2784
Re: MissionProCombo PLUS v2.0
« Reply #92 on: July 28, 2020, 01:19:26 AM »

Hi Spireitemoose,

It actually is very simple, just pay attention to the structure of the download and compare it to your BAT. Unzip the download:

BAT_MissionProCombo-PLUS_v2.0-Patch >>> BAT v3.8.X >>> #DOF3
BAT_MissionProCombo-PLUS_v2.0-Patch >>> BAT v3.8.X >>> #TGA3
BAT_MissionProCombo-PLUS_v2.0-Patch >>> BAT v3.8.X >>> #WAW3
BAT_MissionProCombo-PLUS_v2.0-Patch >>> BAT v3.8.X >>> #JTW3

Open the folder BAT v3.8.X, drag the #DOF3, #TGA3, #WAW3, #JTW3 folders and drop them on your BAT. Allow overwrite. Done.
Logged
NG-HUD v3.6.1 | NG-MAP v3.2 | NG-CAM v2.0 | NG-PAL v1.2: https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/board,93.0.html

Spireitemoose

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: MissionProCombo PLUS v2.0
« Reply #93 on: July 28, 2020, 02:10:32 AM »

Hi Spireitemoose,

It actually is very simple, just pay attention to the structure of the download and compare it to your BAT. Unzip the download:

BAT_MissionProCombo-PLUS_v2.0-Patch >>> BAT v3.8.X >>> #DOF3
BAT_MissionProCombo-PLUS_v2.0-Patch >>> BAT v3.8.X >>> #TGA3
BAT_MissionProCombo-PLUS_v2.0-Patch >>> BAT v3.8.X >>> #WAW3
BAT_MissionProCombo-PLUS_v2.0-Patch >>> BAT v3.8.X >>> #JTW3

Open the folder BAT v3.8.X, drag the #DOF3, #TGA3, #WAW3, #JTW3 folders and drop them on your BAT. Allow overwrite. Done.

Cheers. I’ll try it when I get home. I extracted the files from the zip into the IL246 folder. Looks like that’s where I went wrong. Will doing the above cancel out whatever I did wrong in the first place or will I have to start all over again from scratch. Does the X refer to the version I’m running eg 3.8.4?
Thanks.
Logged

whistler

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2784
Re: MissionProCombo PLUS v2.0
« Reply #94 on: July 28, 2020, 03:17:37 AM »

Will doing the above cancel out whatever I did wrong

You probably have a "BAT_MissionProCombo-PLUS_v2.0-Patch" or "BAT v3.8.X" folder in your BAT: delete it.

Does the X refer to the version I’m running eg 3.8.4?

Yes, any v3.8 version, including 3.8.4.

MPC-PLUS v2 will eventually be part of an official BAT-patch so if you don't feel confident just have a little patience ;)
Logged
NG-HUD v3.6.1 | NG-MAP v3.2 | NG-CAM v2.0 | NG-PAL v1.2: https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/board,93.0.html

Spireitemoose

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: MissionProCombo PLUS v2.0
« Reply #95 on: July 28, 2020, 03:50:30 AM »

Many thanks for your help. The work you are all doing is absolutely amazing. So glad I came back to the game after about 15 years away.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.073 seconds with 27 queries.