Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]   Go Down

Author Topic: Performance Issues in BAT: The Blitz?  (Read 1965 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

TheIdiot

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: Performance Issues in BAT: The Blitz?
« Reply #36 on: August 10, 2019, 11:37:04 AM »

Could this have anything to do with it? It seems every time I run the game, it creates one of these "hs_err_pid_#####.log" files. I haven't noticed these being created when running the game on my old PC.

Code: [Select]
An unexpected exception has been detected in native code outside the VM.
Unexpected Signal : EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION occurred at PC=0x77305702
Function name=RtlGetCurrentServiceSessionId
Library=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll

Current Java thread:
at com.maddox.opengl.Provider.nGetGLCaps(Native Method)
at com.maddox.opengl.Provider.getGLCaps(Provider.java:136)
at com.maddox.il2.engine.Config.PALGetCardCaps(Unknown Source)
at com.maddox.il2.engine.Config.createGlContext(Unknown Source)
at com.maddox.il2.engine.Config.createGlContext(Unknown Source)
at com.maddox.il2.game.Main3D.beginApp(Main3D.java:1474)
at com.maddox.il2.game.MainWin3D.beginApp(MainWin3D.java:212)
at com.maddox.il2.game.Main.exec(Main.java:405)
at com.maddox.il2.game.GameWin3D.main(GameWin3D.java:235)

Dynamic libraries:
0x00400000 - 0x0049A000 D:\Games\IL-2 Sturmovik 1946\il2fb.exe
0x772C0000 - 0x7745C000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
0x74DD0000 - 0x74EB0000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\KERNEL32.DLL
0x74BD0000 - 0x74DCA000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\KERNELBASE.dll
0x72C80000 - 0x72D1C000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\apphelp.dll
0x72120000 - 0x723A7000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\AcLayers.DLL
0x75880000 - 0x75940000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\msvcrt.dll
0x76530000 - 0x766C9000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\USER32.dll
0x76870000 - 0x76887000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\win32u.dll
0x75750000 - 0x75773000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\GDI32.dll
0x770B0000 - 0x77216000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\gdi32full.dll
0x75670000 - 0x756F0000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\msvcp_win.dll
0x76F70000 - 0x77092000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\ucrtbase.dll
0x759A0000 - 0x75EEE000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\SHELL32.dll
0x77270000 - 0x772AB000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\cfgmgr32.dll
0x74EB0000 - 0x74F39000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\shcore.dll
0x76EB0000 - 0x76F6F000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\RPCRT4.dll
0x74930000 - 0x74950000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\SspiCli.dll
0x74920000 - 0x7492A000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\CRYPTBASE.dll
0x764C0000 - 0x76522000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\bcryptPrimitives.dll
0x752C0000 - 0x75339000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\sechost.dll
0x75040000 - 0x752B8000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\combase.dll
0x768B0000 - 0x76EAC000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\windows.storage.dll
0x74B20000 - 0x74B9E000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\advapi32.dll
0x76890000 - 0x768AC000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\profapi.dll
0x763C0000 - 0x76414000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\powrprof.dll
0x77220000 - 0x77264000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\shlwapi.dll
0x74BC0000 - 0x74BCF000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\kernel.appcore.dll
0x74B00000 - 0x74B12000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\cryptsp.dll
0x76420000 - 0x764B6000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\OLEAUT32.dll
0x75EF0000 - 0x7633B000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\SETUPAPI.dll
0x763A0000 - 0x763B9000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\bcrypt.dll
0x73080000 - 0x73098000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\MPR.dll
0x66680000 - 0x66683000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\sfc.dll
0x71FA0000 - 0x7200B000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WINSPOOL.DRV
0x71E20000 - 0x71F9E000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\PROPSYS.dll
0x73040000 - 0x73073000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\IPHLPAPI.DLL
0x72D90000 - 0x72D9F000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\sfc_os.DLL
0x74950000 - 0x74975000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\IMM32.DLL
0x73010000 - 0x73034000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WINMM.dll
0x6E5E0000 - 0x6E64C000 D:\Games\IL-2 Sturmovik 1946\DINPUT.dll
0x72FE0000 - 0x73003000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WINMMBASE.dll
0x6D420000 - 0x6D4EF000 D:\Games\IL-2 Sturmovik 1946\bin\hotspot\jvm.dll
0x6D220000 - 0x6D227000 D:\Games\IL-2 Sturmovik 1946\bin\hpi.dll
0x6D3B0000 - 0x6D3BD000 D:\Games\IL-2 Sturmovik 1946\bin\verify.dll
0x6D250000 - 0x6D266000 D:\Games\IL-2 Sturmovik 1946\bin\java.dll
0x6D3C0000 - 0x6D3CD000 D:\Games\IL-2 Sturmovik 1946\bin\zip.dll
0x6E5B0000 - 0x6E5DE000 D:\Games\IL-2 Sturmovik 1946\wrapper.dll
0x68380000 - 0x683A7000 D:\Games\IL-2 Sturmovik 1946\DT.dll
0x48E70000 - 0x48E7A000 D:\Games\IL-2 Sturmovik 1946\pathfind.dll
0x48E80000 - 0x4BD46000 D:\Games\IL-2 Sturmovik 1946\il2_core.dll
0x7C360000 - 0x7C3B6000 D:\Games\IL-2 Sturmovik 1946\MSVCR71.dll
0x4BD50000 - 0x4BD73000 D:\Games\IL-2 Sturmovik 1946\jgl.dll
0x5C900000 - 0x5C93A000 D:\Games\IL-2 Sturmovik 1946\il2_usgs2.dll
0x756F0000 - 0x7574F000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\WS2_32.dll
0x5D190000 - 0x5D207000 D:\Games\IL-2 Sturmovik 1946\mg_snd_sse.dll
0x6F980000 - 0x6F9B7000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\dinput8.dll
0x72030000 - 0x7203B000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\HID.DLL
0x6F8E0000 - 0x6F971000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\inputhost.dll
0x6F6A0000 - 0x6F72F000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CoreMessaging.dll
0x6F730000 - 0x6F8D3000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\twinapi.appcore.dll
0x6ECF0000 - 0x6EF5A000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CoreUIComponents.dll
0x6EF60000 - 0x6F468000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\d2d1.dll
0x6F470000 - 0x6F699000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\d3d11.dll
0x71260000 - 0x7133B000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\wintypes.dll
0x72DA0000 - 0x72DBE000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\RMCLIENT.dll
0x72D60000 - 0x72D89000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntmarta.dll
0x719E0000 - 0x71A84000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\dxgi.dll
0x713C0000 - 0x713E3000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DEVOBJ.dll
0x75950000 - 0x75995000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\WINTRUST.dll
0x75510000 - 0x7551E000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\MSASN1.dll
0x766D0000 - 0x76869000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\CRYPT32.dll
0x72410000 - 0x7248B000 C:\WINDOWS\system32\uxtheme.dll
0x6D340000 - 0x6D348000 D:\Games\IL-2 Sturmovik 1946\bin\net.dll
0x6E5A0000 - 0x6E5A8000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WSOCK32.dll
0x6ECD0000 - 0x6ECE1000 C:\WINDOWS\system32\napinsp.dll
0x6ECB0000 - 0x6ECC6000 C:\WINDOWS\system32\pnrpnsp.dll
0x71980000 - 0x71990000 C:\WINDOWS\system32\wshbth.dll
0x6EC90000 - 0x6ECA6000 C:\WINDOWS\system32\NLAapi.dll
0x72E50000 - 0x72EA2000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\mswsock.dll
0x730A0000 - 0x73130000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DNSAPI.dll
0x74AF0000 - 0x74AF7000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\NSI.dll
0x710D0000 - 0x710DB000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\winrnr.dll
0x6E390000 - 0x6E469000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\Opengl32.dll
0x6E560000 - 0x6E59F000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\GLU32.dll
0x75340000 - 0x7547E000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\MSCTF.dll
0x5EEB0000 - 0x5F109000 D:\Software\RivaTuner Statistics Server\RTSSHooks.dll
0x72D20000 - 0x72D46000 C:\WINDOWS\system32\dwmapi.dll
0x60A00000 - 0x60A86000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\TextInputFramework.dll
0x60A90000 - 0x627CB000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\nv_dispi.inf_amd64_4b310b124a4f2d9f\nvoglv32.dll
0x75780000 - 0x7587C000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\ole32.dll
0x73BC0000 - 0x73BCF000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WTSAPI32.dll
0x73B80000 - 0x73B88000 C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\VERSION.dll
0x627D0000 - 0x629E5000 C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvspcap.dll
0x74BA0000 - 0x74BB9000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\imagehlp.dll
0x71C90000 - 0x71E1F000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\dbghelp.dll
0x770A0000 - 0x770A6000 C:\WINDOWS\System32\PSAPI.DLL

Local Time = Fri Aug 09 23:49:33 2019
Elapsed Time = 14
#
# The exception above was detected in native code outside the VM
#
# Java VM: Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (1.3.1-b24 compiled mode)
#
Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18333
  • Failure is not an option.
    • What goes around comes around, you'll see
Re: Performance Issues in BAT: The Blitz?
« Reply #37 on: August 10, 2019, 11:44:58 AM »

Let's agree that it's definitely not normal.

]cheers[
Mike
Logged
You've got no one to follow, and no one will follow you. Ain't that a relief?

TheIdiot

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: Performance Issues in BAT: The Blitz?
« Reply #38 on: August 10, 2019, 11:50:41 AM »

So does anyone know what these errors are?

Actually, it seems these are generated when I try to run the game and it immediately crashes, which isn't every time, but it tends to happen when I haven't run the game for a while and it's been unloaded from my hard drive as the game is running off of an SSHD.
Logged

TheIdiot

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: Performance Issues in BAT: The Blitz?
« Reply #39 on: October 05, 2019, 02:45:56 AM »

Still trying to solve this issue, I played around in the BIOS a bit to no avail (tried enabling virtualization, but that didn't help). However, I did discover something rather odd in Task Manager:



It seems the game is only running off of one processor. The others aren't doing anything. What's strange is that it's only the second one it's utilizing, even though I have ProcessAffinityMask set up so that it should use all 6+6 for the hyperthreading (ProcessAffinityMask=4095). Also notable is that my PC's RAM usage only hits 51%. These same results occured when I tried my Battle of France mission, which still isn't playable. You can see the Rivatuner results in the top left.

I was also wondering what kind of performance people are getting when they look at the city of Brest on the Belarus (the non-reworked one) map in FMB. Once I've zoomed in close enough for the actual buildings to load in, my performance drops from FPS in the hundreds down to 6ish FPS. Move around a bit so that only part of the city is in view, suddenly it jumps to 30. I'm wondering if it's like that for everyone or just me?

Any ideas?

EDIT: Also worth noting is that I have SAS Selector set to use 2048 mb of RAM. However changing this value doesn't seem to do much other than increase the game's RAM usage - I've tried 512 and 1024. The selector also tells me I don't have 2048 of virtual memory to use, despite the fact that I do (RAM is 8GB, paging file is 4096MB, I think).
Logged

SAS~vampire_pilot

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4500
  • The man of a million fixes
Re: Performance Issues in BAT: The Blitz?
« Reply #40 on: October 05, 2019, 03:28:06 AM »

Quote
It seems the game is only running off of one processor. The others aren't doing anything.

That's IL-2 for you. It is ancient. It can't run on more than one processor core.

Quote
I was also wondering what kind of performance people are getting when they look at the city of Brest on the Belarus (the non-reworked one) map in FMB. Once I've zoomed in close enough for the actual buildings to load in, my performance drops from FPS in the hundreds down to 6ish FPS.

FPS drops over overpopulated city areas is normal. If your system is weak, than it will be more visible.
Map builders can make your game crumble away while trying to build a superb looking city... There is such a thing as too many details in Il-2.
Logged

vpmedia

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6339
  • www.vpmedia.hu/il2
    • VPMEDIA SKINS
Re: Performance Issues in BAT: The Blitz?
« Reply #41 on: October 05, 2019, 03:39:22 AM »

That's correct. The game only runs on one core by default, you can have Windows run on one core and the game run on a different core, but it makes no noticeable difference in the games performance. Large cities can cause fps drops even in the stock game on stock maps, Berlin and Leningrad are good examples.
Some modded maps are even worse, for example on the Poland map most cities showed 30-40 fps drop and needed much reworking before they became playable. Some objects imported from Theatre of War have high polygon count and it's not recommended to place them in large number on maps. I had to fix dozens of maps which included too many or wrong type of objects. If you want your IL-2 1946 to run well you have to invest into a really fast processor and maybe use 1080p instead of 4k.

vpmedia

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6339
  • www.vpmedia.hu/il2
    • VPMEDIA SKINS
Re: Performance Issues in BAT: The Blitz?
« Reply #42 on: October 05, 2019, 03:42:47 AM »

I forgot about one more, important thing. Repeating java errors can influence your fps in a negative way, so when you experience an fps drop always press shift+tab and check your console for error messages.

TheIdiot

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: Performance Issues in BAT: The Blitz?
« Reply #43 on: October 05, 2019, 12:41:18 PM »

Quote
It seems the game is only running off of one processor. The others aren't doing anything.

That's IL-2 for you. It is ancient. It can't run on more than one processor core.

Quote
I was also wondering what kind of performance people are getting when they look at the city of Brest on the Belarus (the non-reworked one) map in FMB. Once I've zoomed in close enough for the actual buildings to load in, my performance drops from FPS in the hundreds down to 6ish FPS.

FPS drops over overpopulated city areas is normal. If your system is weak, than it will be more visible.
Map builders can make your game crumble away while trying to build a superb looking city... There is such a thing as too many details in Il-2.
Okay, that definitely makes sense. I just finished reading another thread by vpmedia, who mentioned the second point as someone was having serious FPS drops over Berlin. Sure enough, I checked out the Berlin map which was reworked by vpmedia and I got a constant 30+ FPS over Berlin. Now I'm starting to think I need to start manually editing maps and remove buildings so the game is playable (Westfront and Channel maps in particular).

That's correct. The game only runs on one core by default, you can have Windows run on one core and the game run on a different core, but it makes no noticeable difference in the games performance. Large cities can cause fps drops even in the stock game on stock maps, Berlin and Leningrad are good examples.
Some modded maps are even worse, for example on the Poland map most cities showed 30-40 fps drop and needed much reworking before they became playable. Some objects imported from Theatre of War have high polygon count and it's not recommended to place them in large number on maps. I had to fix dozens of maps which included too many or wrong type of objects. If you want your IL-2 1946 to run well you have to invest into a really fast processor and maybe use 1080p instead of 4k.
Hmm, so then what's the point in using ProcessAffinityMask? As I mentioned before, I have it set so that it supposedly should run the game off of all 12 processors, yet it only uses the one. In fact, changing it to any value doesn't seem to do anything.
I can definitely say that my processor should be fast enough to handle large missions (AMD Ryzen 5 1600 - PassMark gives it a 12278, comparable to an I7 7700k), and I don't even have a 4K monitor - as you can see in my screenshots, my PC is running at 1920x1080. I'm wondering if the reason my performance was much better in the VP Modpack was because it contained mostly reworked maps, while BAT seems to contain basically everything map-wise with little quality control.

I forgot about one more, important thing. Repeating java errors can influence your fps in a negative way, so when you experience an fps drop always press shift+tab and check your console for error messages.
I'll keep that in mind. I generally don't get too many errors, though there are definitely some laggy missions which cause a lot of errors.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.015 seconds with 27 queries.