Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: Performance Issues in BAT: The Blitz?  (Read 1954 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

TheIdiot

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: Performance Issues in BAT: The Blitz?
« Reply #12 on: July 05, 2019, 12:09:21 AM »

Okay, thanks for looking at it, Storebror. I tried a different conf.ini but it didn't help at all. At this point I'm running out of ideas as to what this could possibly be.

Quote
my conf.ini Water settings to 0 every time I change it to 3 or 4.
Quote
This could mean that "HardwareShaders" have reset to 0 in your conf.ini, which would also explain why your FPS are generally low.
Now that you said that other 4.12 based games work fine for you, it'd be time to compare the conf.ini files of both, copy a known working conf.ini to your BAT folder and/or showing your conf.ini to us.
Just checked, nope, it's still set to 1. I managed to fix this problem by setting conf.ini to Read-Only for one run of the game.
Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18303
  • Failure is not an option.
    • What goes around comes around, you'll see
Re: Performance Issues in BAT: The Blitz?
« Reply #13 on: July 05, 2019, 12:12:48 AM »

Maybe you can show us your conf.ini?
Logged
You've got no one to follow, and no one will follow you. Ain't that a relief?

TheIdiot

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: Performance Issues in BAT: The Blitz?
« Reply #14 on: July 05, 2019, 12:24:30 AM »

Sure can:
Code: [Select]
[il2]
title=Il2-Sturmovik Forgotten Battles
hotkeys=HotKey game

[window]
width=1920
height=1080
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
ChangeScreenRes=0
FullScreen=1
DrawIfNotFocused=1
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=1
SaveAspect=0
Use3Renders=0
Use3RendersUI=0
WideScreenFoV=1
UIColor=4
UIDetail=0
UIBackground=rnd

[GLPROVIDER]
GL=Opengl32.dll

[GLPROVIDERS]
Open GL=Opengl32.dll
DirectX=dx8wrap.dll

[NET]
speed=100000
routeChannels=0
serverChannels=31
localPort=21000
remotePort=21000
SkinDownload=1
serverName=Royal Canadian Air Farce
serverDescription=This was not their finest hour.
remoteHost=192.168.0.11
localHost=
socksHost=
checkServerTimeSpeed=1
checkClientTimeSpeed=0
disableNetStatStatistics=0
checkTimeSpeedInterval=5
showPilotNumber=1
showPilotPing=1
showPilotName=1
showPilotScore=1
showTeamScore=1
cumulativeTeamScore=1
showPilotArmy=1
showPilotACDesignation=1
showPilotACType=1
filterUserNames=0
reflyKIADelay=0
maxAllowedKIA=-1
reflyKIADelayMultiplier=0.0
reflyDisabled=0
allowMorseAsText=1
allowCustomSounds=1

[MaxLag]
farMaxLagTime=3.0
nearMaxLagTime=1.0
cheaterWarningDelay=5.0
cheaterWarningNum=-1

[chat]
region=(dx=0.0,dy=0.0,x=0.0,y=0.0)
autoLogDetail = 3
adr0=ALL

[game]
ClearCache=1
Arcade=0
HighGore=1
mapPadX=0.5229168
mapPadY=0.4101852
viewSet=25
Intro=0
NoSubTitles=0
NoChatter=0
NoHudLog=0
NoLensFlare=1
iconTypes=1
SubTitlesLines=5
eventlog=eventlog.lst
eventlogkeep=0
3dgunners=1
ScreenshotType=1
RecordingIndicator=1
MapAlpha=0.85
SaveTrk=1
IconUnits=0
SkipParatrooperViews=1
NoMissionInfoHud=1
lowInfoHud=1
noKillInfoHud=1
BlockMorseChat=0
SmallMapWPLabels=1
ShowMorseAsText=1
Typeclouds=1
mapPadMode=3

[HotKey game]
PrintScreen=ScreenShot
P=pause
Pause=pause

[HotKey gui]
Escape=activate

[HookViewFly Config]
timeFirstStep=2.0
deltaZ=10.0

[HookView]
MouseLeft=Len

[HookView Config]
AzimutSpeed=0.1
TangageSpeed=0.1
LenSpeed=1.0
MinLen=1.0
DefaultLen=20.0
MaxLen=3000.0
Speed=6
LeanF=0.2
LeanS=0.2
Raise=0.089999996
RubberBand=0.04

[HotKey builder]
MouseLeft=objectMove
MouseRight=popupmenu
Enter=freeView
Shift MouseLeft=worldZoom
Alt MouseLeft=select+
Alt MouseRight=select-
Alt Ctrl=unselect
PageDown=change+
PageUp=change-
End=change++
Home=change--
Ctrl MouseLeft=insert+
Insert=insert+
NumPad-0=insert+
F=fill
Ctrl MouseRight=delete+
NumPad.=delete+
Delete=delete+
Backspace=cursor
Tab=cursor
F10=land
F11=onLand
NumPad-=normalLand
NumPad+=toLand
NumPad-5=resetAngles
NumPad-8=resetTangage90
NumPad-7=stepAzimut-5
NumPad-4=stepAzimut-15
NumPad-1=stepAzimut-30
NumPad-9=stepAzimut5
NumPad-6=stepAzimut15
NumPad-3=stepAzimut30

[MouseXYZ]
F1=SpeedSlow
F2=SpeedNormal
F3=SpeedFast
MouseRight=XYmove
F4 MouseRight=Zmove
MouseMiddle=Amove
F5 MouseRight=Amove
F6 MouseRight=Tmove
F7 MouseRight=Kmove

[MouseXYZ Config]
RealTime=1

[HotKey Console]
Shift Tab=Activate
[Console]
HISTORY=1024
HISTORYCMD=1024
LOAD=console.cmd
SAVE=console.cmd
LOG=1
LOGTIME=1
LOGFILE=log.lst
LOGKEEP=0
LOGDEBUG=0

[sound]
SoundUse=1
SoundEngine=1
Speakers=1
Placement=0
SoundFlags.reversestereo=0
RadioFlags.Enabled=1
RadioEngine=2
MusicVolume=8
ObjectVolume=14
MusState.takeoff=0
MusState.inflight=0
MusState.crash=0
MusFlags.play=0
MasterVolume=14
Attenuation=7
SoundMode=3
SamplingRate=1
NumChannels=3
SoundExt.occlusions=1
SoundFlags.hardware=1
SoundFlags.streams=1
SoundFlags.duplex=1
SoundExt.acoustics=1
SoundExt.volumefx=1
SoundFlags.voicemgr=0
SoundFlags.static=1
VoiceVolume=12
Channels=2
SoundExt.extrender=0
SoundFlags.bugscorrect=0
SoundSetupId=9
ActivationLevel=0.02
Preemphasis=0.85
RadioLatency=0.5
AGC=1
PTTMode=0
SoundFlags.UseRadioChatter=1
SoundFlags.AutoActivation=1
RadioFlags.PTTMode=0
RadioFlags.PlayClicks=1
ActLevel=0
MicLevel=0
SoundFlags.forceEAX1=0

[rts]
FF=1
ProcessAffinityMask=2730
mouseUse=2
joyUse=1
trackIRUse=0
DisableIME=0
locale=
JoyProfile=0
UseSmartAxis=0

[rts_mouse]
SensitivityX=1.2
SensitivityY=1.2
Invert=0
SensitivityZ=1.0

[rts_joystick]
X=0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
Y=0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
Z=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100
RZ=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
FF=0
U=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
V=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
1X=24 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0 0
1Y=24 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0 0
1Z=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0 0
1RX=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0 0
1RY=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0 0

[Render_DirectX]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=3
TexCompress=0
TexFlags.UseDither=0
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=0
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=0
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=0
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=0
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=1
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=0
TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=1
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=1
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=1
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=1

HardwareShaders=1

Shadows=1
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=0
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=2
Forest=3
LandShading=2
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=3
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=4

[Render_OpenGL]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=3
TexCompress=0
TexFlags.UseDither=0
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=1
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=0
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=1
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=1
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=1
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=0

TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=1
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=1
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=1
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=1

HardwareShaders=1

Shadows=2
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=2
Forest=3
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=3
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=17
Water=4
Effects=1
ForceShaders1x=0

PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.0625
PolygonOffsetUnits=-1.0

TypeClouds=1

[DGen]
LogLevel=1
RandomFlights=5
MaxFLAK=100
MissionDistance=100
AirIntensity=High
GroundIntensity=High
MaxBomberSkill=1
CampaignMissions=Normal
CampaignAI=Normal
CampaignLength=Medium
CampaignDifficulty=Normal
SlowFire=20
OperationVictory=200
OperationDefeat=-200
WarVictory=2000
WarDefeat=-2000
UseParkedPlanes=1
UseParachutes=0
HistoricalRanks=0
NoAirfieldHighlight=0
NoBadWeather=0
NoActiveFrontline=0
PromotionRate=0.3
;Language=English

[QMB]
PlaneList=0

[Mods]
Flyby=1
FlybyFov=60.0
ToggleMusic=1
RandomSplash=1
PALHUDMode=1
SpeedbarTAS=0
SpeedbarSIToo=1
SpeedbarShowExtraInfo=1
netCallsign=TheIdiot
Stab4all=1
PALShowChocks=1
PALShowCatGear=1
DumpFuel=1
SpeedbarUnits=0
PALGameMenuStatusBar=1
PALGameMenuShowFPS=0
PAL3DStart=0
PAL3DSepAim=0.7
PAL3DSepGun=1.35
PAL3DSepPit=1.5
PAL3DSepExt=25.0
PAL3DConvAimL=-0.01
PAL3DConvAimR=-0.01
PAL3DConvGunL=-0.09
PAL3DConvGunR=-0.09
PAL3DConvPitL=-0.13
PAL3DConvPitR=-0.13
PAL3DConvExtL=-0.55
PAL3DConvExtR=-0.55
PAL3DDOFfNumber=0.0
PAL3DDOFFocus=20.72121
PAL3DAdjustVariable=1
PAL3DFullColorFrames=0
PAL3DRenderStereo=1
PAL3DFilterLeft=R___
PAL3DFilterRight=_GB_
PAL3DCockpitSoftViewEnabled=0
PAL3DCockpitSoftView=0.0015
PAL3DCockpitTurretInertiaEnabled=0
PAL3DCockpitTurretInertia=0.0010
PAL3DFollowInertiaEnabled=0
PAL3DFollowInertia=0.009999999776482582
PAL3DFollowInertiaAngle=0.01
PAL3DExternalSoftView=0.075
PAL3DExternalTrackIR=0
PAL3DExternalMouseInertia=0
TracersPlayer=400
TracersAircrafts=200
TracersWorld=100
TracersWirbelwind=100

Now that I think of it, there is one thing that might be the culprit - a while back, I mentioned I had a crashing issue with multiplayer in this thread:
https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,61439.0.html
and was instructed to delete these classes, which I unfortunately did before BAT was updated to fix the error:

05572CF6FB4775FC
0E384E24A36BEBF0
130B387CAF526AC2
18CB9ECED995A9CA
22A0C9A2D2CB0F5E
23959E9E62E44FB0
51A0525EA2129E92
57ACFDC40FF0D040
680C5FAC30D5349C
843CAD8CEE509BD0
947F235854E268E8
AA91B9FCCDB7FB8A
B7D74CC8D550EF72
ED2C875881FB3B38

I know the 3.6.2 update was supposed to have fixed these files, but I'm wondering if maybe I'm still missing any of them? Would someone be able to send me these files for the 4 SAS modules and let me know what folder they go in so I can see if installing them helps at all?
Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18303
  • Failure is not an option.
    • What goes around comes around, you'll see
Re: Performance Issues in BAT: The Blitz?
« Reply #15 on: July 05, 2019, 01:59:20 AM »

Conf.ini looks fine to me.
The classes are always completely replaced with each BAT update, that can't be an issue.
The fact that you have to set your conf.ini to read-only mode in order to maintain the water and hardwareshader settings means that your game simply doesn't accept the settings.
That also means that they will not be active, whether you set the conf.ini to read-only or not.
Actually that advice of setting conf.ini to read-only is a dud.
As a matter of fact, the settings that are in use by the game are the settings it writes back to conf.ini on exit, therefore better leave the file writeable so at least you see that (and what) things are going wrong.

Now if your game constantly rewrites conf.ini flags and you can't remember what you did to get it to that (broken) state, you will have no other choice but to reinstall the game from scratch because we can't look through your eyes.

]cheers[
Mike
Logged
You've got no one to follow, and no one will follow you. Ain't that a relief?

whistler

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1761
Re: Performance Issues in BAT: The Blitz?
« Reply #16 on: July 05, 2019, 03:07:26 AM »

Let me add that the below statement is still deceiving:

I've been playing on the latest version of BAT and I've noticed there are still a number of performance issues that don't occur in the vanilla game or the one other modpack I've tried, the VP Modpack.

The mission shared cannot be played in VP-Modpack in the same conditions (with the same aircraft) as in BAT. A fair comparison is what we need to draw any conclusion, otherwise we are comparing apples and oranges.
Logged
NG-HUD v3.5 | NG-MAP v3.1 | NG-CAM v1.6: https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/board,93.0.html

TheIdiot

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: Performance Issues in BAT: The Blitz?
« Reply #17 on: July 20, 2019, 11:51:03 PM »

Okay, guys - so I finally got some free time and re-downloaded the entire BAT modpack (only took 3 whole days to get up and running). I didn't modify it whatsoever upon first testing, I literally installed the whole BAT series up to the latest Blitz patch and went right in.

The first thing I did was go into the game and do a quick 1v1 Bf 109 vs Spitfire ace fight, and everything seems to be running smoothly, as before. Then I jumped into the same Battle of France mission I posted, and lo and behold, it still runs like utter garbage...it's a slideshow. So that was a big old waste of time, and I quickly restored my old install. I feared that perhaps I'd added some mod that had destroyed my framerate in the old install, but that doesn't seem to be the case as this was tested from a clean BAT install.

I discovered something else in my testing - it seems the game only runs poorly when I'm looking at the ground in this mission. If I look up at the sky, it suddenly jumps up to a smooth framerate! So maybe there's something going on with the rendering? My specs should be completely capable of dealing with this, especially since I can play this same map and not have this issue on other missions. I just checked the NVidia control panel and the only thing it seems I have enabled is FXAA, but I can't see that resulting in a loss of 50+ FPS.

Any ideas on this one? Again, it seems the major FPS drop only happens when looking at the ground - if I look at the sky, it's fine.
Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18303
  • Failure is not an option.
    • What goes around comes around, you'll see
Re: Performance Issues in BAT: The Blitz?
« Reply #18 on: July 21, 2019, 12:58:22 AM »

The main issue you keep having is this:

the game keeps resetting my conf.ini

This is not a BAT issue.
Resetting conf.ini values means that your hardware/OS/drivers cannot handle the desired conf.ini values.
Even if you set conf.ini "read only", the game will still use it's own (minimum) values where your hardware/OS/drivers can't cope with what has been set in conf.ini.

Looking down on the ground puts many objects in view at the same time.
This is mostly CPU heavy.
It's not a BAT or mission thing here, because as I mentioned earlier:
I've watched the mission until the flights left the circle around Brussels and headed to Lille (too boring to watch them another half an hour, nothing ever happens on this mission).
All the time, rock solid 60 FPS.
^^that was including looking down at Brussels from relatively low altitude, straight down at the city.

We can only guess what's wrong with your system.
Graphics driver maybe?
Or a thermal issue (CPU cooler grease?) causing the CPU to throttle?

On the other hand you've claimed that other IL-2 game versions would do fine, and honestly: That just doesn't make sense, because if this was a BAT issue, we all should see it, not just you.
I therefore can't help myself but to put some of your statements into question for the time being.

]cheers[
Mike
Logged
You've got no one to follow, and no one will follow you. Ain't that a relief?

PO_MAK_249RIP

  • CMON U SPURS!
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1577
Re: Performance Issues in BAT: The Blitz?
« Reply #19 on: July 21, 2019, 07:51:11 AM »

Might help if you posted details of your rig????
Logged
Corsair Carbide case, Intel core i5 4690 3.5ghz with Arctic Cooler, Asus Rock H97 performance, Gainward windforce OC GTX 960 2GB, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz, 256GB Crucial SSD, 500GB Seagate HDD, LG M Disc DVD rewriter, Windows 10 64bit.

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18303
  • Failure is not an option.
    • What goes around comes around, you'll see
Re: Performance Issues in BAT: The Blitz?
« Reply #20 on: July 21, 2019, 08:08:25 AM »

We know from the log that the GPU is an Nvidia GTX 1080.
I doubt that the CPU is of the weak sort in that case ;)

]cheers[
Mike
Logged
You've got no one to follow, and no one will follow you. Ain't that a relief?

TheIdiot

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: Performance Issues in BAT: The Blitz?
« Reply #21 on: July 21, 2019, 11:25:44 AM »

The game isn't resetting the conf.ini anymore since I reinstalled BAT, it's letting me run with Water=4 now and I don't have the file set to read only. Even when I tried using the default conf.ini that came with BAT, the performance remained exactly the same, even running at 1024x768 resolution.

A few more things I've discovered in the test I currently have running in the background:
-Looking at the sky doesn't solve the problem every time, only sometimes, and you have to look at it for a few seconds before it starts improving performance.
-If I reduce game speed to 1/2, it suddenly starts running smoothly, no matter where I look. I'm in an He 111 on Dusseldorf airfield and zooming all the way out, looking around at the huge city to the south and the water of the river produces a smooth framerate at 1/2 speed. Going over to the city doesn't reduce my FPS at all. If I go up to Full Speed, the game becomes choppy again. The more I reduce speed, the better the game runs.
-The log is producing time overflow messages only when I have the game at Full Speed. If I'm at 1/2 speed, there's no time overflow.
-Seems the game's memory usage is steadily increasing in Task Manager as I let the mission run. It was at 1.1 million K when I first loaded it up, and it's slowly climbed its way past 1.4 million K, and the mission is slowly starting to run better as it does so. It's been running for 20 minutes now and the game isn't giving me Time Overflow at full speed anymore. At 30 minutes, seems it capped out at 1.45 million K and went back down.

I have YPack downloaded as well - I'll try and find a mission that works between BAT and YPack and compare the performance of the two. Because I have a funny feeling that BAT is going to continue to run at a bad framerate. Honestly, to me it seems like I'm still running into the Java Wall somehow, but that just makes no sense at all, considering I'm on The Blitz...

My basic specs are:
Windows 10 64-bit
NVidia GTX 1080
AMD Ryzen 1600 6-core 3.60 GHZ
8GB RAM

This PC generally runs both newer and older games at the highest settings at at least 45-60 FPS. It's solely IL-2 that's giving me trouble.

I'll have to get an FPS overlay up so I can prove what I'm seeing here, and I'll try updating my drivers, but I only got this new PC back in February. I haven't tried the mission on my old PC with worse specs yet.

EDIT: Nearly at 40 minutes of mission time now and I've nearly reached a perfectly smooth framerate at full speed...the longer I run this mission, the better the performance. Unfortunately I have to do something else now, so my testing concludes here. But at 40 minutes, the game was running at something like 25-30FPS I'd say. Quite the improvement over the barely even 5 FPS it got at the start.

I've also noticed an unrelated bug: the He 111H-2s I'm flying have their full-throttle engine flames coming out from behind and above where they should be coming out of the cylinders.
Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18303
  • Failure is not an option.
    • What goes around comes around, you'll see
Re: Performance Issues in BAT: The Blitz?
« Reply #22 on: July 21, 2019, 11:38:10 AM »

to me it seems like I'm still running into the Java Wall
We can definitely rule that out if you're on Blitz (and didn't install a thousand additional aircraft mods separately).

AMD Ryzen 1600 6-core 3.60 GHZ
That one's comparably weak in IL-2 (it's like my old i5-2500K), but it will run the mission in question just fine.

Nearly at 40 minutes of mission time now and I've nearly reached a perfectly smooth framerate at full speed...the longer I run this mission, the better the performance. Unfortunately I have to do something else now, so my testing concludes here. But at 40 minutes, the game was running at something like 25-30FPS I'd say. Quite the improvement over the barely even 5 FPS it got at the start.
That's odd to say the least.
Could it be that something's using up all the RAM on your PC?
This would explain a bit of what you've described.

]cheers[
Mike
Logged
You've got no one to follow, and no one will follow you. Ain't that a relief?

Sergent Pepper

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: Performance Issues in BAT: The Blitz?
« Reply #23 on: July 21, 2019, 03:40:03 PM »

For 75th anniversary (?) of Dday, i made a mission for C47 above "marais de Carentan" and Ste Mère Eglise (l live in Normandy) near Utah Beach.
24 x4 C47 (with 18 paratroopers in each one).
96 aircrafts!!!
I'ts possible with 3.6.2.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.018 seconds with 27 queries.