Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 ... 100 101 102 [103] 104 105 106 ... 111   Go Down

Author Topic: graphics extender  (Read 314863 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

E69_Haukka

  • Mapper
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 80
Re: graphics extender
« Reply #1224 on: April 11, 2023, 06:45:07 PM »

I have tried the solution proposed by the user TXZCJSP to solve the problem of the black sky in the mirrors, as expressed in the reply #1156 of this same thread.

There it is said:

I have a temporary solution here.
Change the following in il2ge.ini
RealisticShadowColor=on
Atmosphere=Precomputed


It's really working, and even though the sky depicted in the mirror corresponds to a normal sky that doesn't have IL2GE, that's already much better than having a black sky. Thanks to Slibenli and everyone who puts in hours of work to further research and develop these capabilities and improvements.

https://youtu.be/b7kSxg1pku8
Logged

PaladinX

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
Re: graphics extender
« Reply #1225 on: April 14, 2023, 06:22:05 AM »

Somebody has a hint for me, why i have this uncredible ugly water when i use the graphics extender?
Everything else looks fine.

https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,61653.msg769199.html#new
Logged
Win 11 PC | 7800 X3D | RTX 3080 Ti | LG OLED 42 C2 | Virpil Alpha on War BRD & Warthog Throttle | Honeycomb Alpha & Bravo | TM TPM Rudder

Moezilla

  • Supporter
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 358
Re: graphics extender
« Reply #1226 on: April 19, 2023, 07:56:36 AM »

FYI: https://gitlab.com/vrresto/il2ge/-/issues/51

Hi slibenli and thanks for your work on il2ge.

On the topic of AMD issues, the readme.md states that the latest graphics drivers should be installed but any AMD driver newer than 22.6.1 includes a re-written OpenGL driver that doesn't support the way IL2 creates the OpenGLContext, and so Perfect mode will not work.

Could il2ge do anything here to help IL2 and the new AMD drivers to understand each other?
Logged

slibenli

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 619
    • IL-2 Graphics Extender
Re: graphics extender
« Reply #1227 on: April 23, 2023, 06:31:00 AM »

IL-2 looks for certain GL extension to determine the GPU. My guess is the new driver dropped support for some older extensions. What might work is faking the presence of these extensions. IL2GE could do this, but there might be tools that already do this

Moezilla

  • Supporter
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 358
Re: graphics extender
« Reply #1228 on: April 23, 2023, 02:32:51 PM »

IL-2 looks for certain GL extension to determine the GPU. My guess is the new driver dropped support for some older extensions. What might work is faking the presence of these extensions. IL2GE could do this, but there might be tools that already do this

Here are the extensions present in the 21.4.1 driver which are not in the 23.4.2 driver. Considering the age of IL2 I think a probable candidate extension used for checking if Perfect mode is possible on ATI/AMD hardware would be GL_ATI_fragment_shader

Code: [Select]
GL_AMD_conservative_depth
GL_AMD_debug_output
GL_AMD_draw_buffers_blend
GL_AMD_framebuffer_sample_positions
GL_AMD_gcn_shader
GL_AMD_interleaved_elements
GL_AMD_multi_draw_indirect
GL_AMD_name_gen_delete
GL_AMD_occlusion_query_event
GL_AMD_performance_monitor
GL_AMD_query_buffer_object
GL_AMD_seamless_cubemap_per_texture
GL_AMD_shader_atomic_counter_ops
GL_AMD_shader_stencil_export
GL_AMD_shader_stencil_value_export
GL_AMD_shader_trace
GL_AMD_sparse_texture
GL_AMD_sparse_texture_pool
GL_AMD_stencil_operation_extended
GL_AMD_texture_cube_map_array
GL_AMD_texture_texture4
GL_AMD_transform_feedback3_lines_triangles
GL_AMD_transform_feedback4
GL_AMD_vertex_shader_layer
GL_AMD_vertex_shader_viewport_index
GL_AMDX_debug_output
GL_ARB_compressed_texture_pixel_storage
GL_ARB_ES3_1_compatibility
GL_ARB_imaging
GL_ARB_map_buffer_alignment
GL_ARB_provoking_vertex
GL_ARB_robust_buffer_access_behavior
GL_ARB_seamless_cubemap_per_texture
GL_ARB_shader_atomic_counter_ops
GL_ARB_shading_language_include
GL_ARB_shading_language_packing
GL_ARB_texture_buffer_object_rgb32
GL_ARB_texture_env_crossbar
GL_ARB_texture_mirror_clamp_to_edge
GL_ARB_texture_mirrored_repeat
GL_ARB_texture_query_levels
GL_ARB_texture_query_lod
GL_ARB_texture_snorm
GL_ARB_vertex_array_bgra
GL_ARB_vertex_type_10f_11f_11f_rev
GL_ARB_vertex_type_2_10_10_10_rev
GL_ATI_envmap_bumpmap
GL_ATI_fragment_shader
GL_ATI_texture_compression_3dc
GL_ATI_texture_float
GL_ATI_texture_mirror_once
GL_EXT_bindable_uniform
GL_EXT_copy_texture
GL_EXT_draw_instanced
GL_EXT_histogram
GL_EXT_packed_float
GL_EXT_rescale_normal
GL_EXT_separate_specular_color
GL_EXT_subtexture
GL_EXT_texgen_reflection
GL_EXT_texture_cube_map
GL_EXT_texture_mirror_clamp
GL_EXT_texture_swizzle
GL_EXT_vertex_array_bgra
GL_EXT_vertex_attrib_64bit
GL_IBM_texture_mirrored_repeat
GL_KHR_context_flush_control
GL_KTX_buffer_region
GL_NV_alpha_to_coverage_dither_control
GL_NV_conditional_render
GL_NV_copy_depth_to_color
GL_NV_explicit_multisample
GL_NV_half_float
GL_NV_texgen_reflection
GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap
GL_SGIS_texture_edge_clamp
GL_SGIS_texture_lod
GL_SUN_multi_draw_arrays
GL_WIN_swap_hint

It might be worth trying to fake the presence of that extension with IL2GE to see if it gets Perfect mode working again on AMD hardware with drivers newer than 22.6.1?

EDIT: Having done some more reading - while faking the presence of the right extension(s) to get Perfect mode activated on newer AMD drivers may work, if the driver doesn't re-route calls made to the removed extensions to newer ones then it will probably cause a game crash anyway. Given that one of the issues with IL2's now 20+ year old engine is that it is using direct calls to wgl methods during context creation instead of routing through the more compatible GDI wrappers then there's a fair chance that some of the old ATI shader methods are being called directly too. All these calls would then have to be intercepted and re-routed and I don't know how large an amount of work that would become.
Logged

Soto Cinematics

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: graphics extender
« Reply #1229 on: May 13, 2023, 07:07:48 PM »

Hi hopefully someone can help me.

Ive installed il2ge using IL-2 Selector v5.1.2, Im using YPack and il2 conf.ini has the correct settings as stated in the readme. il2ge works great on some maps like 'Normandy' or 'Mediterranean', but when I try to run missions in QMB or FMB using other maps like 'La Chute' or 'Solomons Oct 43' the game crashes on mission loading. I dont know how to fix this so Ive linked the 'il2_full' below and il2ge settings are also attached. Let me know if you need any more info.

Soto

https://pastebin.com/88wKA4eS il2_full

il2ge.ini below

Code: [Select]
# enable graphics extender
EnableGE=on

# disabling this gives higher fps but looks bad
EnableObjectShaders=on

# enable terrain bumpmapping
EnableBumpH=off

# cirrus clouds - experimental
EnableCirrusClouds=on

# enable shader for transparent objects - experimental
EnableTransparentShader=off

# experimental
RealisticShadowColor=off

# atmospheric light scattering shader
#
# choices:
#
#     Default:
#         the original shader
#
#     Precomputed:
#         (experimental)
#         precomputed light scattering
#
Atmosphere=Default


[Atmosphere.Precomputed]

# more accurate colors
AccurateLuminance=off

# possible values are between 0.0 and 1.0
Haziness=0.0

# no description
SingleMieScatteringHorizonHack=off
Logged

slibenli

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 619
    • IL-2 Graphics Extender
Re: graphics extender
« Reply #1230 on: May 14, 2023, 07:36:25 AM »

IL-2 looks for certain GL extension to determine the GPU. My guess is the new driver dropped support for some older extensions. What might work is faking the presence of these extensions. IL2GE could do this, but there might be tools that already do this
[...]
It might be worth trying to fake the presence of that extension with IL2GE to see if it gets Perfect mode working again on AMD hardware with drivers newer than 22.6.1?

EDIT: Having done some more reading - while faking the presence of the right extension(s) to get Perfect mode activated on newer AMD drivers may work, if the driver doesn't re-route calls made to the removed extensions to newer ones then it will probably cause a game crash anyway. Given that one of the issues with IL2's now 20+ year old engine is that it is using direct calls to wgl methods during context creation instead of routing through the more compatible GDI wrappers then there's a fair chance that some of the old ATI shader methods are being called directly too. All these calls would then have to be intercepted and re-routed and I don't know how large an amount of work that would become.

There is a specific AMD-specific extension that IL-2 looks for - but I don't remember which one. By faking this extension I was able to use perfect mode on an Intel GPU. This works because IL-2 just looks for the presence of that extension without actually using it.

Edit: It's GL_ATI_fragment_shader. IL-2 actually uses a different extensions for shaders.

slibenli

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 619
    • IL-2 Graphics Extender
Re: graphics extender
« Reply #1231 on: May 14, 2023, 07:50:44 AM »

Hi hopefully someone can help me.

Ive installed il2ge using IL-2 Selector v5.1.2, Im using YPack and il2 conf.ini has the correct settings as stated in the readme. il2ge works great on some maps like 'Normandy' or 'Mediterranean', but when I try to run missions in QMB or FMB using other maps like 'La Chute' or 'Solomons Oct 43' the game crashes on mission loading. I dont know how to fix this so Ive linked the 'il2_full' below and il2ge settings are also attached. Let me know if you need any more info.

Soto

https://pastebin.com/88wKA4eS il2_full

This looks like https://gitlab.com/vrresto/il2ge/-/issues/18.

Soto Cinematics

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: graphics extender
« Reply #1232 on: May 19, 2023, 11:26:32 PM »

Hi hopefully someone can help me.

Ive installed il2ge using IL-2 Selector v5.1.2, Im using YPack and il2 conf.ini has the correct settings as stated in the readme. il2ge works great on some maps like 'Normandy' or 'Mediterranean', but when I try to run missions in QMB or FMB using other maps like 'La Chute' or 'Solomons Oct 43' the game crashes on mission loading. I dont know how to fix this so Ive linked the 'il2_full' below and il2ge settings are also attached. Let me know if you need any more info.

Soto

https://pastebin.com/88wKA4eS il2_full

This looks like https://gitlab.com/vrresto/il2ge/-/issues/18.

Thanks for the reply. Is there a solution or workaround to this problem? The link you attached doesnt have an answer. Any suggestions?
Logged

slibenli

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 619
    • IL-2 Graphics Extender
Re: graphics extender
« Reply #1233 on: May 25, 2023, 12:42:23 AM »

There is no solution or workaround for now, I'm afraid. I will update that ticket once that changes.

Rostic

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 51
Re: graphics extender
« Reply #1234 on: June 03, 2023, 09:07:50 AM »

Hi hopefully someone can help me.

Ive installed il2ge using IL-2 Selector v5.1.2, Im using YPack and il2 conf.ini has the correct settings as stated in the readme. il2ge works great on some maps like 'Normandy' or 'Mediterranean', but when I try to run missions in QMB or FMB using other maps like 'La Chute' or 'Solomons Oct 43' the game crashes on mission loading. I dont know how to fix this so Ive linked the 'il2_full' below and il2ge settings are also attached. Let me know if you need any more info.

Soto

https://pastebin.com/88wKA4eS il2_full

This looks like https://gitlab.com/vrresto/il2ge/-/issues/18.

Thanks for the reply. Is there a solution or workaround to this problem? The link you attached doesnt have an answer. Any suggestions?


I just installed GE in my B.A.T. mod. And it works fine with La Chute map.
I'm using random cirrus clouds and installed Carsmasters water mod.

Sorry but you are not allowed to view spoiler contents.




Logged

V1rusX

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 28
Re: graphics extender
« Reply #1235 on: June 06, 2023, 05:30:05 AM »

Hi! My specs are Intel I3 9100 with UHD 630 and 16 gb ram. How do I get the perfect landscape option? Are there sny other good graphics mods that dont affect the fps that much? Is there a way to change the rendering distance of the enemy planes? Like fr I can barely see the enemy and I am on max res and graphics
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 100 101 102 [103] 104 105 106 ... 111   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.043 seconds with 24 queries.