Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5   Go Down

Author Topic: B.A.T. Fast update JETWAR  (Read 22891 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23752
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: B.A.T. Fast update JETWAR
« Reply #24 on: November 02, 2017, 08:13:09 AM »

Well it works, in a way, using keyboard at least, but that might be a red herring, will have to check using Joystick in the evening.
It does not work by applying full positive trim though (even though that should get you airborne as well) and the whole elevon animation (and I'm afraid the corresponding control input calculation) is just wrong.

Best regards - Mike
Logged
Don't split your mentality without thinking twice.

4S_Vega

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3748
Re: B.A.T. Fast update JETWAR
« Reply #25 on: November 02, 2017, 09:43:54 AM »

Well it works, in a way, using keyboard at least, but that might be a red herring, will have to check using Joystick in the evening.
It does not work by applying full positive trim though (even though that should get you airborne as well) and the whole elevon animation (and I'm afraid the corresponding control input calculation) is just wrong.

Best regards - Mike

ATM i think it should be ok about FM, if it need to pull stick instead trim is a marginal issue.

On the contrary i miss the part of animation, will check it
Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23752
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: B.A.T. Fast update JETWAR
« Reply #26 on: November 02, 2017, 01:37:21 PM »

Okay, pulling the stick using Joystick works too.
As mentioned earlier, Trim doesn't work (only works after reaching 300km/h, trim input before that margin will simply not apply to the Flight Model, but to the visual positioning of elevons).

Elevon position on takeoff differs between actual gameplay and net replication / NTRK playback: On actual gameplay, Elevons stay "up" during takeoff, online and in NTRK playback they will be reset to neutral position when the engine runs up.
Engine instruments act strange (especially fuel pressure).
After takeoff, the plane does a couple of violent quick "jumpy" left-hand roll-shifts in very short sequence, without corresponding aileron input.
See videos below, first is internally...


...second is same thing on externals (note that the Elevons appear to be levelled straight, that's the NTRK playback error):


On the ground, Elevon animation is completely off.
When you move your stick in circles, Elevons move like crazy.
When you shutdown the engine while keeping the stick pulled, this is what happens:
In real time gameplay, the Elevons will stay "up", regardless how you move your stick around when the engine has stopped.
You can however move the rudder when the engine has stopped.
Online and on NTRK playback however, all control surfaces keep moving under the same condition, albeit in the "crazy style".
See video below:


Last but not least the Dagger's Java Code holds references to non-existing meshes:
Code: [Select]
[7:14:03 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: HierMesh: Can't find chunk 'GearL44_D0'
[7:14:03 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: HierMesh: Can't find chunk 'GearR44_D0'
[7:14:03 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: HierMesh: Can't find chunk 'GearL44_D0'
[7:14:03 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: HierMesh: Can't find chunk 'GearR44_D0'
[7:14:08 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: HierMesh: Can't find chunk 'GearC21_D0'
[7:14:08 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: HierMesh: Can't find chunk 'GearC6_D0'
[7:14:08 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: HierMesh: Can't find chunk 'GearC_D0'
[7:14:08 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: HierMesh: Can't find chunk 'GearC3_D0'
[7:14:08 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: HierMesh: Can't find chunk 'GearL212_D0'
[7:14:08 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: HierMesh: Can't find chunk 'GearR212_D0'
[7:14:08 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: HierMesh: Can't find chunk 'GearL33_D0'
[7:14:08 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: HierMesh: Can't find chunk 'GearR33_D0'
[7:14:08 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: HierMesh: Can't find chunk 'GearC_D0'
[7:14:08 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: HierMesh: Can't find chunk 'GearC3_D0'
[7:14:08 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: HierMesh: Can't find chunk 'GearL212_D0'
[7:14:08 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: HierMesh: Can't find chunk 'GearR212_D0'
[7:14:08 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: HierMesh: Can't find chunk 'GearL33_D0'
[7:14:08 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: HierMesh: Can't find chunk 'GearR33_D0'

Best regards - Mike
Logged
Don't split your mentality without thinking twice.

Koty

  • Mr. MiG
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2274
  • It's a MiG!
Re: B.A.T. Fast update JETWAR
« Reply #27 on: November 02, 2017, 03:26:10 PM »

this kinda happens with many jets actually


MiG-15's and 17's - cannot lift gear until you're at a lift-off speed already.
Logged
If I don't have to do it, I won't. If I have to do it, I'll make it quick.

4S_Vega

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3748
Re: B.A.T. Fast update JETWAR
« Reply #28 on: November 02, 2017, 05:31:27 PM »

Guys, about 3d animation I replaced the early update with a new one during the day

test last version pls
Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23752
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: B.A.T. Fast update JETWAR
« Reply #29 on: November 02, 2017, 11:25:38 PM »

this kinda happens with many jets actually
(...)
cannot lift gear until you're at a lift-off speed already.
And the fix is so damn easy.
It's a 3D thing.
The plane's parts are too far up front, therefore the center of mass is too far in front of the main gears.
On the Fokker D.XXIII for instance I've had the same situation.
The fix was this (you can check by looking at the D.XXIII "3DO/Plane/Fokker-DXXIII/hier.him" file yourself):
I've added a "placeholder" node (Placeholder.msh, Placeholder.mat and Placeholder.tga files in the same folder, an invisible mesh as small and easy as can be), put that 1.2 meters to the aft of the plane's hier.him root coordinates, called that node "_BASE_" and changed all subsequent "Parent _ROOT_" lines in hier.him to "Parent _BASE_".
That way the whole model is shifted 1.2 meters back and voilá - you can rotate way before the plane lifts off.

This fix can easily be applied to any other plane where this issue happens.
Anyone can do it.
All you need is notepad.

I replaced the early update with a new one during the day
Okay will do. How were we supposed to know?

Best regards - Mike
Logged
Don't split your mentality without thinking twice.

4S_Vega

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3748
Re: B.A.T. Fast update JETWAR
« Reply #30 on: November 03, 2017, 01:49:22 AM »

No nothing, i had to replace also it
Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23752
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: B.A.T. Fast update JETWAR
« Reply #31 on: November 03, 2017, 03:17:58 AM »

I have just tried your updated "fix" but the Elevon animation issues stay the same.
What's also noteworthy is that even if the engine is not running, you can still move your rudder - but nothing else.
The video below demonstrates the issue again. It also shows the "stuck" Elevons after stopping the engine. Note that the latter looks completely different when you playback the recorded NTRK.

At the end of the video you can see a takeoff "as it should be", with updated hier.him file as discussed before - easy as can be.
You can find the hotfix here, just drop into the "#JTW3" folder:
https://www.mediafire.com/file/760debyfdeb459s/F-102A_CoG_Fix.7z

Here is the video, please excuse the bad quality/stuttering, the machine I'm currently using is not that powerful:


Best regards - Mike
Logged
Don't split your mentality without thinking twice.

4S_Vega

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3748
Re: B.A.T. Fast update JETWAR
« Reply #32 on: November 03, 2017, 05:31:16 AM »

Excellent Mike!

I have correct the code for ailerons/elevators animation, now seems better but still not perfect.


Logged

4S_Vega

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3748
Re: B.A.T. Fast update JETWAR
« Reply #33 on: November 04, 2017, 10:08:19 AM »

At first post Java/Fm update for De Havilland Vampire & Venom
Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23752
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: B.A.T. Fast update JETWAR
« Reply #34 on: November 04, 2017, 02:00:52 PM »

F-102 Fix: https://www.mediafire.com/file/3sb25uucn5j6niq/%21%21_F-102_Fix_2017-11-04.7z
Sources are on SVN, but I know it gets ignored... ]violent1[ ]banghead[
So to avoid that the code mess with constant decompiling and recompiling continues, here are the sources in the hope that further changes will get shared back:
https://www.mediafire.com/file/5m545m4oiq9au2z/F-102_Code_Fixes_2017-11-04.7z

The source has been cleaned in a tedious full-day job.

Demo Video:


Best regards - Mike
Logged
Don't split your mentality without thinking twice.

SAS~Monty27

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3851
  • Action and Adventure!
    • SPEEDMACHINE
Re: B.A.T. Fast update JETWAR
« Reply #35 on: November 05, 2017, 12:07:25 AM »

Hi Vega, It is good have you working on B.A.T. these days.  B.A.T. is becoming the best Jet Age option for the Il2 platform.  Thanks for excellent work on all of these upgrades which are being incorporated into the latest Expansion.

Thanks to Mike as well for the fixes and further testing.  As he points out; the goal of B.A.T. is an easy to install set.  Its not designed for too much after market tweaking.  As long as users understand that - we shall see these updates factored alongside existing content and introduced with the new Expansion.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.034 seconds with 24 queries.