Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: "Wistful Isles" map  (Read 1667 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

hoddyman

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 169
"Wistful Isles" map
« on: March 27, 2017, 12:21:00 PM »

I was curious about flying over and looking over the so-called Whistful Isles map, in my BAT installation, in the Full Mission Builder- but after selecting my aircraft, and determining "conditions", like clouds, and time-of-day, and saving the mission, in order to fly over the map, the "mission" failed to load, and the screen showed two blank panels, and didn't recognize my choice of airplane (listing, as my aircraft, the "default" piper cub). What's up with this map? Am I missing something? Is the map's appearance in the list just a tease, until someone gets around to actually making it?
Logged

jpten

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 226
Re: "Wistful Isles" map
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2017, 07:48:22 PM »

So you opened the map in FMB, chose a plane, placed it on the map with at least 2 way points (#0 and #1) and checked the box to make that plane "player', then saved the mission, correct? 
  I am not clear on how you tried to fly the mission.  Did you try to fly it from within FMb or did you save it as a single mission and tried to fly it that way? 
Logged

SAS~Malone

  • flying as #46 with the FAC
  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14543
  • proud member of that 'other' site
Re: "Wistful Isles" map
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2017, 10:33:36 PM »

...the screen showed two blank panels...
the typical 'horizon' view that occurs, usually when the plane you selected has some issue.
we need to see your error log to see what's causing this.... please post it up
Logged
.....taking fun seriously since 1968.....  8)

hoddyman

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 169
Re: "Wistful Isles" map
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2017, 12:23:32 AM »

what happened was that I selected a "waypoint" on the map, I chose an airplane to fly (I've tried more than one), I selected myself as the pilot, I chose a time, and set the weather to "good", I gave the mission a name, and I saved it, then I selected "play" and , as always, the screen went to the "brief" screen- except there's nothing in the windows of the brief screen, and when I select the "arming" button, or press the "fly" button, nothing happens. What's this about two waypoints? I've never needed two before on anything in FMB. How do you set two? If I press "ctrl" and click-on another spot on the map, I just get another airplane, and I only want to fly one.
Logged

Plowshare

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 609
Re: "Wistful Isles" map
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2017, 09:11:27 AM »

What's up with this map? Am I missing something? Is the map's appearance in the list just a tease, until someone gets around to actually making it?

I can assure you the map exists - I just tried it out and it's a neat little "What-if" map.

As suggested above post your log and look in it for something like texture(s) or object(s) that may be missing on the map itself. 

What's this about two waypoints? I've never needed two before on anything in FMB. How do you set two? If I press "ctrl" and click-on another spot on the map, I just get another airplane, and I only want to fly one.

Just for the hell of it, I tried a single waypoint for my F4U-1 Corsair (something I'd never done before) and the plane started out facing 090 degrees and in a sharp left turn; this means, as you already know, that a single waypoint is indeed valid for a player's aircraft. From your comments, "How do you set two? If I press "ctrl" and click-on another spot on the map, I just get another airplane....", it looks like you don't build missions. This is fine but you'll open up your horizons by starting to set more than one waypoint for your plane. Set the first waypoint and leave it active and flashing, move the cursor to another spot on the map where you wish the plane to head to and hit whatever "insert object" key you used to set the first waypoint. TADAAA!! You just made a flight plan!

Until you post the error log however, nobody can help you with this map.

Bob
Logged

nyali

  • Supporter
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 500
Re: "Wistful Isles" map
« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2017, 10:10:32 AM »

have you tried replacing the .dll files ? someone else had a similar map issue in the past that was solved this way
Logged

hoddyman

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 169
Re: "Wistful Isles" map
« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2017, 12:26:59 PM »

Which ".dll" files? where do I find replacements?
Logged

SAS~Poltava

  • Avid FMB user
  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3195
  • Keep calm and carry on
    • Check out my modded campaigns
Re: "Wistful Isles" map
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2017, 02:11:35 PM »

what happened was that I selected a "waypoint" on the map, I chose an airplane to fly (I've tried more than one), I selected myself as the pilot, I chose a time, and set the weather to "good", I gave the mission a name, and I saved it, then I selected "play" and , as always, the screen went to the "brief" screen- except there's nothing in the windows of the brief screen, and when I select the "arming" button, or press the "fly" button, nothing happens. What's this about two waypoints? I've never needed two before on anything in FMB. How do you set two? If I press "ctrl" and click-on another spot on the map, I just get another airplane, and I only want to fly one.

Hoddyman, have you remembered to tick the box in one of the aircraft, to designate the one you will fly?
Logged
My aim: to build campaigns for Mods! You can find them here: http://mission4today.com/index.php?name=Downloads3&file=search&sa=740

hoddyman

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 169
Re: "Wistful Isles" map
« Reply #8 on: March 28, 2017, 04:46:45 PM »

Of course, I ticked the box, making myself the pilot. I should also add that in the "briefing" area, the airplane I selected reverted to the Piper Cub, as if I hadn't even selected anything.
Logged

nyali

  • Supporter
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 500
Re: "Wistful Isles" map
« Reply #9 on: March 28, 2017, 06:26:20 PM »

hoddyman - you should have the wonderful PDF manual for BAT, read the first few sections, there in big bold letters is listed the required downloads and the alternate .dll files, more than that it kindly even tells you where to get them from.

Hidden inside this fiendish PDF file is even a set of instructions for how to create a log file so that the modders here can actually read what went wrong.

Other than that any help is pure guesswork.
Logged

jpten

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 226
Re: "Wistful Isles" map
« Reply #10 on: March 28, 2017, 09:35:18 PM »

Of course, I ticked the box, making myself the pilot. I should also add that in the "briefing" area, the airplane I selected reverted to the Piper Cub, as if I hadn't even selected anything.

  So, when you save the mission, it does not save?  That usually is a missing map object.  Open the map in FMB and do a Shift+tab and look for "file not found" reports.
Logged

nyali

  • Supporter
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 500
Re: "Wistful Isles" map
« Reply #11 on: March 29, 2017, 12:58:23 AM »

@jpten - he already said he saved it

I gave the mission a name, and I saved it, then I selected "play"
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.014 seconds with 26 queries.