Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: New CPU for BAT question  (Read 842 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

PinkFloyd

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 36
New CPU for BAT question
« on: March 05, 2017, 11:01:59 AM »

Afternoon,

I gave my i5 game rig to my kid a while back and now I'm running il2 BAT on an old E6700 machine (2.66Ghz dual core with 4GB RAM) I had sitting around. I threw a GTX 950 into it a few months ago and it's okay, but the limitations are pretty obvious. I want to get a new CPU/MB/RAM setup to go with my GTX 950 and, since I have kids, I don't have a lot of extra money. So anything I do will be a (very) budget build.

I don't play other games anymore, so if the PC runs BAT well, that is all that matters. I tend to fly with few planes in the air, often I just tool around sandbox style and do some small A2A and A2G. What I really like is max scenery detail. Just FYI, I have a 1080P 27" screen.

Is the AMD 860k 3.7 Ghz  or the 880K 4.0 Ghz going to handle BAT well enough if I decide I want some larger A2A or A2G action, or do I have to go to an i3 or better if I want a good show? Also, how much RAM is best/required, 8 or 16 GB?

Thanks.  :)
Logged

Mitthrawnuruodo

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
Re: New CPU for BAT question
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2017, 11:54:38 AM »

Il-2 1946 is heavily dependent on single-threaded CPU performance. Intel processors typically outperform AMD processors in this respect.

I would recommend you take a look at "PassMark Single Thread Performance" benchmarks. While the AMD 860K would work reasonably well, other processors, such as the i3, would offer significantly better performance in demanding situations.

As for RAM, 8GB is more than enough.

 I hope this information helps.

Thrawn
Logged

DougW60

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 212
Re: New CPU for BAT question
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2017, 01:36:57 PM »

Take your time in your search for a CPU, than buy the motherboard and RAM for it.  Since Il-2 is very much an older game, I would recommend an I5 CPU as the highest model CPU to go with.

Concur with the 8 gig RAM.  If the CPU you choose can work with either DDR 3 or DDR 4 RAM modules then if I remember correctly for RAM speed, DDR 3 1600 or DDR 4 2400 are the most cost effective, any RAM with higher speed than these offer little improvement. Ensure that your motherboard will accept your RAM selection, for example, if the motherboard will only accept DDR 3 RAM, than that is what you go with.  If only DDR 4, than that is what you go with.  If it accepts either type - what is on sale.

Suggest going to some computer hardware review sites to learn what is out there and recommendations.  Tom's Hardware comes to mind and pcpartpicker.

With AMD Ryzen now out, expect Intel's CPUs prices to drop.
Logged

PinkFloyd

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 36
Re: New CPU for BAT question
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2017, 01:47:18 PM »

Thanks for that.

I wouldn't have thought to check Passmark for single thread performance. Granted it's only one reference, but the numbers are surprising. There are $100 CPUs that score better than CPUs that are much more expensive.

My E6700 is about 900 on the performance chart. The 860K shows at 1600, and the i3-7350 tops the list at 2600. The i3-7100 Kaby Lake looks good at 2250. Dollar for dollar, that would seem to be the best buy (and if the prices drop as you say, that's even better.). The 860K is less than $100. The i3-7100 is $160. And the MB will probably be $50 more for the i3 than the 860K. On the plus side, the i3 MB would let me move to an i5 when I have the cash.

Decisions, decisions. At least I have an old Antec Sonata case with a working PSU to throw everything into. That saves me a good $150 right there I guess.
Logged

dagger123456

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 169
Re: New CPU for BAT question
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2017, 02:38:07 PM »

Hello PinkFloyd.   How old is it?  What would you do with it once you get your new CPU?  Are you selling it or giving it away?  Let me know OK.  Like you, i am tight on budget because of kid.

Also, may i know what is your MOBO for the E6700?
Logged

PinkFloyd

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 36
Re: New CPU for BAT question
« Reply #5 on: March 05, 2017, 03:00:29 PM »

Hello PinkFloyd.   How old is it?  What would you do with it once you get your new CPU?  Are you selling it or giving it away?  Let me know OK.  Like you, i am tight on budget because of kid.

Also, may i know what is your MOBO for the E6700?

Hello,

The E6700 is about ten-years old, from a rig I bought new, then sold, then bought back. The original video card with the rig was a GTX 9800, but it fried like toast. The MB is an ASUS P5N-E-SLI with 4GB of prehistoric RAM.

If you are in Canada, and if/when I replace it, I would be happy to send it to you if you are looking for parts. 

What kind of PC are you using now?
Logged

dagger123456

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 169
Re: New CPU for BAT question
« Reply #6 on: March 05, 2017, 03:29:21 PM »

I am still using Dual Core 1.8Ghz with MOBO Intel945G series.  I enjoy the game mostly in QMB and online.  I finished a couple of campaign.  Its a Gateway computer and over 10 years old.  I dont see Gateway in the shelves anymore.  Unfortunately, im in the eastcoast U.S.  We can talk again if you decide to upgrade.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.015 seconds with 26 queries.