Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 ... 182 183 184 [185] 186 187   Go Down

Author Topic: VP Modpack  (Read 244146 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

JohannDaart

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
Re: VP Modpack
« Reply #2208 on: October 16, 2019, 12:30:23 PM »

I'm sorry for noob questions, but I've never played IL-2 before (or flight sims in general), it's a bit hard to get a handle on everything, things that for seasoned IL-2 players are obvious...
I have couple problems with VP Mod.
So I've installed VP Modpack + Patch (2 combined) over clean 4.12.4m from Steam. Added conf.ini lines. Nothing else done apart that.


1) If I understand correctly, 1946 is a compilation of couple IL-2 expansions, but the intro movie is about Pacific war. Content from other titles (like original IL-2) is in campaigns?


2) Single Mission list of air forces is crowded with various countries, but some of them are empty without missions (like Italy). Is there a way to clean this list  manually or something's wrong and I should download missions for this air forces from somewhere?




3) When I enter Single Mission > Luftwaffe > Bf-109 > Bf-109 N1 (first mission), my plane instantly explodes upon spawning:




4) When I enter Single Mission > Finland >  B-239, the cockpit has some additional, glitched glass panel, that moves when I look around the cockpit:




5) Can I somehow revert this HUD (no cockpit view) to original (more readable), or is there some nice mod for it? :D




I'm really happy about VP Modpack, it makes the game look awesome (I plan to combine it with NG-HUD, to modernize it even more). 1946 is great for my laptop, with a joy it's a mobile setup that looks great with VP!
Logged

vpmedia

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6339
  • www.vpmedia.hu/il2
    • VPMEDIA SKINS
Re: VP Modpack
« Reply #2209 on: October 18, 2019, 01:08:37 AM »

1/ yes
2/ I did not add any missions, just campaigns. You can download extra content from mission4today.com
3/ known issue caused by the Ultimate 109 pack removing a weapon set, delete or edit the mission
4/ switch to OpenGL (there's a conf.ini sample for Nvidia gfx card in the install guide)
5/ deactivate #SAS/HUD folder

SAS~vampire_pilot

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4498
  • The man of a million fixes
Re: VP Modpack
« Reply #2210 on: October 18, 2019, 05:50:07 AM »

Hi Istvan

I noticed there is a missing link for a skinpack in the OP:

Quote
skinpacks for Dgen campaigns:


I suppose that's not intentional?
Logged

vpmedia

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6339
  • www.vpmedia.hu/il2
    • VPMEDIA SKINS
Re: VP Modpack
« Reply #2211 on: October 18, 2019, 06:41:02 AM »

For some reason I'm not allowed to post links to those skinpacks and guides at mission4today, so the links were removed by someone from the SAS admin team.

SAS~vampire_pilot

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4498
  • The man of a million fixes
Re: VP Modpack
« Reply #2212 on: October 18, 2019, 07:09:16 AM »

oh, I see.

However, I reviewed the edit history and I think I see the reason now. That link was directed at a complete subsection of M4T... like a "this is M4T, idk, get all of it..."

I think the link being so indiscriminate was considered a problem by that Mod, at a time when links to 3rd party sites were considered particularly problematic. A specific link to a specific M4T download is not forbidden or discouraged.

I would have expected you'd have a specific "VPMedia DGEN skinpack" of some sort...
Matter of fact, I found skins being called in your DGen material that I did not have. It was a $ skin, so something very unique to DGEN (RAF Buffalo in that case) and so I thought you had a specific DGEN set for your edits. I simply copied your vP Buffalo skin and renamed it accordingly to solve my problem
Logged

JohannDaart

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
Re: VP Modpack
« Reply #2213 on: October 18, 2019, 05:30:39 PM »

I really wanted to start learning how to fly (with my first stick that just arrived), but because I have problems with VP modded IL-2, I decided to focus on learning how things work in IL-2 in terms of mods, logs, where to activate etc...

I've also read, that VP & BAT modpack work well with missions/campaigns prepared for them, but they don't guarantee, that original, stock content will work...
It's a bit of a bummer for me, because I thought that VP Modpack is a best option to enjoy original 1946 in refreshed form.
I perceived VP Modpack as something for newcomers, but it turns out it's more for old guard players, that already played through OC multiple times and want to play new missions using various planes from addons.

I really want to play OC missions, so I'm trying to plow through this problems :(

4/ switch to OpenGL (there's a conf.ini sample for Nvidia gfx card in the install guide)

But I am using OpenGL both in conf.ini and nvidia panel...
To check things out, I copied your conf.ini, but it didn't solve this problem, the second glass near the sight was still present :(
It turns out it's a bug of the B-239 mod contained in your pack:
https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,61276.msg675017.html#msg675017

I've installed the other B-239 cockpit mod into SAS folder, and bam, solved, no additional glass:



3/ known issue caused by the Ultimate 109 pack removing a weapon set, delete or edit the mission
Thanks! I've browsed forum and found the solution (editing weapon loadout for all planes in the Flight, in mission file):
https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,56816.msg628893.html#msg628893


1) But then I have another problem... In second Luftwaffe > Bf-109 mission N2, the Flight containing Bf-190 for the mission is grayed out... The mission is playable as IL-2, in Luftwaffe mission... Is there a way to solve it?



2) I also found out, that in the first mission (the one with solved weapon loadout problem), on the Flight list, Russian Flights are grayed out too, so there's problem with them too... Does this mean, that they won't be present in the mission?


3) I've checked the logs of Bf-109 missions, and they all throw warnings about absent Default PaintSchemes, should I worry about this? How to fix it, or maybe it's intended?

Code: [Select]
[8:55:29 PM] Mission error, ID_12: java.lang.StringIndexOutOfBoundsException: String index out of range: 6
[8:55:30 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: Can't open file 'PaintSchemes/Skins/Bf-109G-6/Default'
[8:55:30 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: Bitmap 'PaintSchemes/Skins/Bf-109G-6/Default' size: 0 != 512 | 1024
[8:55:30 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: Can't open file 'PaintSchemes/Pilots/Default'
[8:55:34 PM] ERROR file: File users/daart/Icons not found
[8:55:34 PM] Mission: single/de/Bf-109/BF_109_1.mis is Playing
[8:55:34 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: Can't open file 'PaintSchemes/Pilots/Default'
[8:55:35 PM] Time overflow (0): speed 0.84626234
[8:55:35 PM] warning: no files : music/takeoff
[8:57:29 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped 8 -> 0.5 (delta = -7.5) to Range 0..0.5
[8:57:50 PM] warning: no files : music/inflight

4) Can I change country descriptions in country.properties file, without any consequences like braking campaigns/missions? Are descriptions only used for lists?

ie. de Luftwaffe -> de Germany (Luftwaffe)


Thank you guys for helping and passion to keep 46 alive! :)
Logged

SAS~vampire_pilot

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4498
  • The man of a million fixes
Re: VP Modpack
« Reply #2214 on: October 19, 2019, 01:40:06 AM »

the greyed out squadrons mean that they have a StartTime "delay" in the .mis file, so they spawn like... some minutes into the mission.

This makes a lot of sense for AI flights but for a player flight it is just an error on the mission builders part.
(the mission would fly fine from FMB as this is simply ignored there but not from single mission or campaign mode)

Open the .mis file, find the player flight and simply delete the "StartTime" line there


.properties can be edited to your hearts content, these have no actual influence on the game, they are just "cosmetics" for the GUI


Quote
I really want to play OC missions, so I'm trying to plow through this problems :(

I don't understand what you think is not working... Any "stock" static mission should work just as well (99%), and for DGen missions, you have fix packs for either VP or BAT, so these also work. I suppose you see a problem where there is none really.
Logged

JohannDaart

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
Re: VP Modpack
« Reply #2215 on: October 19, 2019, 02:47:24 AM »

.properties can be edited to your hearts content, these have no actual influence on the game, they are just "cosmetics" for the GUI

Good to know, I wasn't 100% sure that it was only cosmetic.


the greyed out squadrons mean that they have a StartTime "delay" in the .mis file, so they spawn like... some minutes into the mission.

This makes a lot of sense for AI flights but for a player flight it is just an error on the mission builders part.
(the mission would fly fine from FMB as this is simply ignored there but not from single mission or campaign mode)

Open the .mis file, find the player flight and simply delete the "StartTime" line there

Ok, this explains things, thanks :)

But I think it's more of a Mission Pro mod (included in VP) problem, than Maddox building it wrong, because in Mission Pro Combo Plus (googled it by searching "StartTime" on this forum), the problem was addressed:

Maintenance update to smash a few bugs and to introduce a new feature:

  SINGLE MISSION / CAMPAIGN BRIEFINGS
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
- Fixed a bug that prevented the selection of your own flight when "StartTime" was set.


Quote
I really want to play OC missions, so I'm trying to plow through this problems :(

I don't understand what you think is not working... Any "stock" static mission should work just as well (99%), and for DGen missions, you have fix packs for either VP or BAT, so these also work. I suppose you see a problem where there is none really.

You are looking at it from a different perspective.
You've probably played IL-2 for many years and maybe you've played some other flight sims before.

For you guys, if a plane is exploding on spawn, it's probably weapon problem or a mesh problem (planes standing close to each other on a carrier). For new player it's more like "did I press a wrong button?".
If a player's flight is not selectable in mission, for you it's just a StartTime thing, for a new player it's a grayed out menu option that gives no clues how to solve it.

For me, everything is new, IL-2 menus, options, how missions are built, how it's modded, what keys are best to bind on a stick's base, what are definitions of some words used in missions (like "Flight" being a group of planes) etc.

I wanted to start by learning Bf-109, so after I modded 4.12 with VP, I hopped into Single Missions, I encountered glitches, like Bf-109 exploding on spawn, starting in IL-2 in Luftwaffe mission, visual bug in Finnish plane.

That's a lot of stuff to fix/learn upfront for a new player, before even enjoying the sim.

I'm not ungrateful for VP Modpack, I think it's amazing and I'm excited about it - VP did amazing job. But I needed to learn how to fix common problems with IL-2 missions before being able to fly them.
Logged

SAS~vampire_pilot

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4498
  • The man of a million fixes
Re: VP Modpack
« Reply #2216 on: October 19, 2019, 04:34:19 AM »

Quote
That's a lot of stuff to fix/learn upfront for a new player, before even enjoying the sim.

welcome to a sim that has been modded for over a decade by dozens and dozens of (sometimes rivalling) individuals with varying capabilities and tools :D

besides: you know a .mis file, you know about loadouts and the exploding bug... you talk like pro already, so do not worry ;)

Logged

JohannDaart

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
Re: VP Modpack
« Reply #2217 on: October 19, 2019, 04:58:13 AM »

Hah, thanks for a warm welcome and your tips!
I'm really happy how VP Pack works on my laptop, keeping mods lightweight on performance was a good decision by VP ]thumleft[

Apart from this warnings about default PaintSchemes (I wonder if it isn't desired behavior by chance, as stock defaults are low quality) I think I'm good to go and start learning how to fly :)
Logged

JohannDaart

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
Re: VP Modpack
« Reply #2218 on: October 21, 2019, 07:30:03 AM »

I wanted to check Normandy map in QMB and I got a screen without ground texture and "Game Over: Aircraft inoperable" message :(
I've tried searching for errors contained in the log by myself, but I found nothing conclusive...

Europe_Normandy and Europe_Normandy1 are not working, Europe_Normandy2 works.



Full log: https://pastebin.com/FYMAxc9H

Example errors from the log, string float clamps:

Code: [Select]
[1:09:33 PM]     INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped 3 -> 2 (delta = -1) to Range 0..2
[1:09:33 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped 3 -> 2 (delta = -1) to Range 0..2
[1:09:33 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped 3 -> 2 (delta = -1) to Range 0..2
[1:09:33 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped 75 -> 32 (delta = -43) to Range 0..32
[1:09:33 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped 120 -> 60 (delta = -60) to Range 0..60
[1:09:33 PM] WARNING: ****( Unexpected txr reload (tfTranspBorder): 'Effects/Explodes/Air/Zenitka/Germ_20mm/flame.tga'
[1:09:33 PM] WARNING: ****( Unexpected txr reload (tfTranspBorder): 'Effects/Explodes/Air/Zenitka/Germ_88mm/flame.tga'
[1:09:33 PM] WARNING: ****( Unexpected txr reload (tfTranspBorder): 'Effects/Explodes/Air/Zenitka/USSR_25mm/flame.tga'
[1:09:33 PM] WARNING: ****( Unexpected txr reload (tfTranspBorder): 'Effects/Explodes/Air/Zenitka/USSR_85mm/flame.tga'
[1:09:33 PM] WARNING: ****( Unexpected txr reload (tfTranspBorder): 'Effects/Materials/WhiteSmoke.tga'
[1:09:33 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped 0 -> 1 (delta = 1) to Range 1..512
[1:09:33 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped 0 -> 0.1 (delta = 0.1) to Range 0.1..16384
[1:09:33 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped 0 -> 1 (delta = 1) to Range 1..512
[1:09:33 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped 0 -> 0.1 (delta = 0.1) to Range 0.1..16384
[1:09:33 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped 160 -> 128 (delta = -32) to Range 0.01..128
[1:09:33 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped 600 -> 32 (delta = -568) to Range 0..32
[1:09:34 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped 1 -> 0.5 (delta = -0.5) to Range 0..0.5
[1:09:34 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: Str2FloatClamp() - Clamped 50 -> 32 (delta = -18) to Range 0..32

Ship spawn problems:
Code: [Select]
[1:09:36 PM] Ship: Value of [Ship0]:<Mesh> not foundCan't set property
[1:09:36 PM] java.lang.RuntimeException: Can't set property
[1:09:36 PM] at com.maddox.il2.objects.ships.BigshipGeneric$SPAWN.getS(BigshipGeneric.java:4444)
[1:09:36 PM] at com.maddox.il2.objects.ships.BigshipGeneric$SPAWN.LoadShipProperties(BigshipGeneric.java:4547)
[1:09:36 PM] at com.maddox.il2.objects.ships.BigshipGeneric$SPAWN.<init>(BigshipGeneric.java:4776)
[1:09:36 PM] at com.maddox.il2.objects.ships.ShipPack.<clinit>(ShipPack.java:975)
[1:09:36 PM] at java.lang.Class.forName0(Native Method)
[1:09:36 PM] at java.lang.Class.forName(Unknown Source)
[1:09:36 PM] at com.maddox.rts.Spawn.get_WithSoftClass(Spawn.java:84)
[1:09:36 PM] at com.maddox.rts.Spawn.get_WithSoftClass(Spawn.java:57)
[1:09:36 PM] at com.maddox.il2.game.Main.preloadChiefClasses(Main.java:243)
[1:09:36 PM] at com.maddox.il2.game.Main3D.beginApp(Main3D.java:1505)
[1:09:36 PM] at com.maddox.il2.game.Main3D.beginApp(Main3D.java:1436)
[1:09:36 PM] at com.maddox.il2.game.MainWin3D.beginApp(MainWin3D.java:212)
[1:09:36 PM] at com.maddox.il2.game.Main.exec(Main.java:432)
[1:09:36 PM] at com.maddox.il2.game.GameWin3D.main(GameWin3D.java:235)
[1:09:36 PM] Problem in spawn: com.maddox.il2.objects.ships.ShipPack$Ship0

Hier Mesh not found:
Code: [Select]
[1:10:52 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: HierMesh: Can't find chunk 'RackL_D0'
[1:10:52 PM] INTERNAL ERROR: HierMesh: Can't find chunk 'RackR_D0'
Logged

loman

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: VP Modpack
« Reply #2219 on: October 23, 2019, 10:27:18 AM »



imposible to   run game   gog il2  With Modpack  o_O


The game display appears and disappears
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 182 183 184 [185] 186 187   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.017 seconds with 27 queries.