Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5   Go Down

Author Topic: The Siege of Rabaul - A DCG Campaign for C.U.P.  (Read 16465 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Whiskey_Sierra_972

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5700
  • In memory of my beloved hero: Saburo SAKAI!
Re: The Siege of Rabaul - A DCG Campaign for C.U.P.
« Reply #24 on: January 27, 2016, 10:38:16 AM »

....
Another thing I found, only a minor glitch - jeez, you can't think of everything compiling something like this - mission 2 of USMC F4U campaign, I got a "mission failed" message whilst sitting on the runway. Checking FMB, you had put a primary target tag on a Jap vehicle in the target area but had set timeout at "0" minutes. I reset the timeout to 45 mins to solve.
....

Mmmmm.....

I don't think of a creator error....objectives aren't generated from campaign generator engine and not set form campaign maker?
Logged

vonofterdingen

  • Missioneer
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1144
Re: The Siege of Rabaul - A DCG Campaign for C.U.P.
« Reply #25 on: January 27, 2016, 11:00:16 AM »

Yes. Objectives come from DCG.  I recommend disabling the No Instant Success setting. There is also a DCG setting for objectives that we might need to turn off.  I'm at work now but I will post better answers in a couple hours.
Logged

bergkamp

  • If you can't find it here, it doesn't exist
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 363
Re: The Siege of Rabaul - A DCG Campaign for C.U.P.
« Reply #26 on: January 27, 2016, 04:06:41 PM »

Sorry guys, I didn't mean to overcomplicate this. This is what I'm getting at:



I can usually get round this problem by opening up the mission in FMB and changing the "timeout" in the target object window. This is no big problem, so don't waste a lot of time checking every mission.

Logged

vonofterdingen

  • Missioneer
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1144
Re: The Siege of Rabaul - A DCG Campaign for C.U.P.
« Reply #27 on: January 27, 2016, 04:23:41 PM »

It is no waste of time, I promise you. I always appreciate people who are good enough to ask about a problem so that I can investigate it.

First the Hell Diver issue. When you select a different squadron, the aircraft does not update automatically; you need to select both aircraft and squadron. So, when I select the Hell Diver Squadron, I see this:



To select the aircraft for that squadron, I need to click the "Plane" field (which shows the Corsair by default); that will activate the ability to select other planes (at least I hope this is your issue):


Logged

vonofterdingen

  • Missioneer
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1144
Re: The Siege of Rabaul - A DCG Campaign for C.U.P.
« Reply #28 on: January 27, 2016, 04:29:55 PM »

Now the Mission failure message. As far as I know, DCG tracks its own success and failure for missions. Your success (and by you I mean your red or blue army) depends on your destruction of enemy planes, supplies, columns, factories, etc. To avoid the nag message which I think is irrelevant any way, try disabling Primary Objectives in the DCG Options menu. Remember that you will have to generate a new mission in DCG before this will take effect:


Logged

bergkamp

  • If you can't find it here, it doesn't exist
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 363
Re: The Siege of Rabaul - A DCG Campaign for C.U.P.
« Reply #29 on: January 28, 2016, 04:08:42 AM »

Thanks, mate. Well, you learn something new every day!! Never even occurred to me to click on the Corsair to get to a drop down menu. All good now.

As you say, the "mission over" before it has even begun message is just an irritant and not worth worrying about. Obviously easily fixed. I have never been much into the nuts and bolts of DCG, so maybe I will look at it a bit more in depth. I see there are tutorials on scripting campaigns on Lowengrin's site, should make interesting reading.

With regard to the low FPS situation, I found that once in the air my FPS went from 7-8 on the ground, to a norm of 58-60 and seemed to be fairly stable over the target area. I will play around with the settings and see if I can come up with anything worthwhile.

With regard to the missing IJN escorts. It's no biggy to put them into my CUP install. I will give Monty a nudge to see if he can put them into a later update ( or maybe they are in the upcoming #WAW part 19 already).

Thanks for your time and help,

Best Regards,

Bergkamp
Logged

vonofterdingen

  • Missioneer
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1144
Re: The Siege of Rabaul - A DCG Campaign for C.U.P.
« Reply #30 on: January 28, 2016, 08:38:29 AM »

I think I have the escorts on my install or I wouldn't have been able to add them.  I  vaguely remember that there is a jgme option with an esoteric name like "Dry Dock" that adds some missing ships. It might be obsolete now though. I will check when I get home.
Logged

bergkamp

  • If you can't find it here, it doesn't exist
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 363
Re: The Siege of Rabaul - A DCG Campaign for C.U.P.
« Reply #31 on: January 28, 2016, 09:19:42 AM »

Definitely not in CUP at the moment. I made a request to have them put in and asheshouse was good enough to send a reply #133 here: 

http://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,49967.msg547792/boardseen.html#new

I don't know if not having those ship objects would make a difference to the frame rate - I haven't had time today to test. I had dialled back all the settings in the edit and options menu in DCG and still didn't make a lot of difference.

The only other thing I did was to open a .MIS file in the campaign folder and delete every plane except for two flights of F4U's. That made a difference!! But then that was my experiment and is not helping anybody.
Logged

vonofterdingen

  • Missioneer
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1144
Re: The Siege of Rabaul - A DCG Campaign for C.U.P.
« Reply #32 on: January 28, 2016, 02:38:05 PM »

Agreed. In general, the best way to lower the number of planes in the missions is through the Squadron Density setting mentioned earlier in this thread. Then all subsequent missions will have the same setting applied to them. Just remember to generate one mission through DCG once you make the change.
Logged

vonofterdingen

  • Missioneer
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1144
Re: The Siege of Rabaul - A DCG Campaign for C.U.P.
« Reply #33 on: January 28, 2016, 02:47:32 PM »

This is the "Dry Dock" mod I have enabled (it is part of the stock install). It claims to address "missing ships" but I do not know which ones.


Logged

exhausted

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
Re: The Siege of Rabaul - A DCG Campaign for C.U.P.
« Reply #34 on: February 07, 2016, 12:05:20 AM »

I get an error after the briefing when I load the mission:

Mission loading failed: Landscape
'Rabaul_1944/load.ini' loading error

I'm using CUP 20, how do I fix this?
Logged

vonofterdingen

  • Missioneer
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1144
Re: The Siege of Rabaul - A DCG Campaign for C.U.P.
« Reply #35 on: February 07, 2016, 11:32:12 AM »

I have CUP 20 as well and it is working, so I don't think that is an issue.

In the Render_OpenGL section of your config.ini, make sure that you have set HardwareShaders=1

If that does not solve the problem, see if you can open the Rabaul map in the FMB.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.123 seconds with 28 queries.