Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 ... 26   Go Down

Author Topic: Ultrapack bug report thread (all versions)  (Read 32524 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

MooseMoi

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 67
  • Just like That
Re: UP3 bug report thread
« Reply #72 on: September 22, 2019, 02:17:25 PM »

My apologies Storebror.
Logged

MooseMoi

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 67
  • Just like That
Re: UP3 bug report thread
« Reply #73 on: September 22, 2019, 04:24:21 PM »

The game still crashes and it still searches for the graphics extender even though you told me to move il2 out of program files.
Logged

Gubi

  • Flying Ass Clown #34
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1251
Re: UP3 bug report thread
« Reply #74 on: September 22, 2019, 06:07:27 PM »

...there's no "graphics extender" in UP3.  What the hell are you blathering on about?
Logged
I am a moron.

SAS~Storebror

  • retired
  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21408
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: UP3 bug report thread
« Reply #75 on: September 22, 2019, 11:04:40 PM »

MooseMoi, reading back through your post history, one has to come to the conclusion that meanwhile you have installed a hundred things to your PC and nothing ever worked.
Time to go back to square one.
According to your log, you have the Steam Version of IL-2, so the process for you would be:
  • Reset your Steam game (Uninstall -> Reinstall)
  • Start the game, make sure it works (should be Stock IL-2 4.13.4 now)
  • Copy the whole IL-2 game folder from your Steam Library to a different location outside of the "Program Files" area, e.g. C:\Games\IL2\...
  • Start the game, make sure it works (should be Stock IL-2 4.13.4 now)
  • Download and install the Ultrapack 3 RC4 Megapatch.
    Just to make sure you understood: This is to be installed to the copied game folder, not the original Steam Library.
  • Start the game, make sure it works (should be Ultrapack 3 RC4 now)
  • Download and install Ultrapack 3.3 "Bigfoot".
  • Start the game, make sure it works (should be Ultrapack 3.3 "Bigfoot" Patch 0 now)
  • Download and install the latest Patch for Ultrapack 3.3 "Bigfoot".
  • Start the game, make sure it works (should be Ultrapack 3.3 "Bigfoot" Patch <whatever, greater than 0> now)

]cheers[
Mike
Logged
You live, you learn, you love, you're dead.

bomberkiller

  • Treffen sich zwei Jäger...!
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4002
  • Bf-109G-6/R6 = Bomber Killer
Re: UP3 bug report thread
« Reply #76 on: September 23, 2019, 02:58:20 AM »

Quote
...there's no "graphics extender" in UP3.  What the hell are you blathering on about?

...and if, when I read this...:

Code: [Select]
# IL-2 Graphics Extender (IL2GE)

I recommend using Carsmaster's water mod.

### Requirements
- IL-2 Selector (at least Version 3.4.2)
- Settings:
   - OpenGL mode - DirectX is not supported
   - perfect mode
   - conf.ini:
      ```
      [GLPROVIDER]
      GL=Opengl32.dll
      ```
      ```
      [Render_OpenGL] 
      HardwareShaders=1 
      Water=0
      ```

### Installation
Extract the contents of `install` in the zip file into your IL-2 folder.

### Current Bugs / Limitations
- ~~terrain artifacts (e.g. appears lower than it acually is)~~
- ~~objects appear in front of terrain even if they are behind it~~
- ~~forest near/far texture is not blended~~
- ~~distant coast line artifacts on some GPUs~~
- forests are flat (but using a parallax effect) (code for layered forests exists but needs performance improvement)
- misplaced coast lines on some maps
- no ground fog on terrain (objects are fogged, so this looks odd)
- currently only cloudless weather looks as intended
- no normal/bump maps
- lighting at dusk/dawn/night needs improvement
- lighting / atmosphere color could use some tuning, or a better (PBR) algorithm
- artifacts with the default water textures in VP modpack
- no water reflections
- water is flat
- no cloud shadows
- no cirrus clouds
- no shore waves / wave foam (code is there but currently disabled) - WIP
- lighting / atmospheric effect is not applied to objects (planes/buildings/trees/roads/clouds/etc.) - WIP

...then I do not want to have this modification in my IL-2!

One more note: Steam is shit! Nobody notices that anymore because you got used to this crap.  ;)

MooseMoi, try this:

http://www.mediafire.com/file/j97vfdn6311bf5d/ReShade_SweetFX_IL-2_%2528bk%2529.7z/file

This will not destroy your game.

Best regards, Gerhard  :)



Logged
FAC N° 9 ...cheers mein Schatz

SAS~Storebror

  • retired
  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21408
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: UP3 bug report thread
« Reply #77 on: September 23, 2019, 03:09:32 AM »

IL-2 Graphics Extender is a great thing.
It's in WIP state so you cannot expect everything to work well yet.
Nevertheless, it has nothing to do with Ultrapack, MooseMoi's issues or anything of that kind whatsoever.
The fact the IL-2 GE is mentioned in the initlog.lst file (which is generally unimportant unless some modder explicitely asks you to post it) is just because latest IL-2 Selector Versions have methods builtin to enable IL-2 GE automatically if it's been found in your IL-2 game folder. If not, nothing happens.
It's just that information "IL-2 GE found or not" which gets logged in initlog.lst, and once again, no one asks for that file usually.

]cheers[
Mike
Logged
You live, you learn, you love, you're dead.

SAS~Storebror

  • retired
  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21408
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: UP3 bug report thread
« Reply #78 on: September 23, 2019, 03:28:43 AM »

Time to summarize the reported issues and their current state in the next Patch (which is "2"):

  • Super Corsair (F2G) Prop has visual glitch when standing still / rotating slowly (reported here)
    Status: Fixed
  • Gladiator J8A is on the japanese list (should be "others" - Finland) (reported here)
    Status: Fixed
  • Lysander locks up the game (reported here)
    Status: Fixed
  • Cal .50 sounds have been changed unintentionally (reported here)
    Status: Fixed
  • Maps missing in all.ini (reported here)
    Status: Fixed
  • P-39 Fuel Pressure warning light is on all the time (reported here)
    Status: Fixed
  • Hs 123 tail wheel steers in opposite direction (reported by SAS~Loku)
    Status: Fixed
  • properties files in languages other than english still use the old naming scheme for planes and weapons.
    Status: WIP

Did I miss anything?

]cheers[
Mike
Logged
You live, you learn, you love, you're dead.

bomberkiller

  • Treffen sich zwei Jäger...!
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4002
  • Bf-109G-6/R6 = Bomber Killer
Re: UP3 bug report thread
« Reply #79 on: September 23, 2019, 07:53:51 AM »

Quote
Did I miss anything?

I do not think so. The FW-190A-1 is integrated.   8)

 ]cheers[

Gerhard
Logged
FAC N° 9 ...cheers mein Schatz

KingTiger503

  • Legendary History Luftwaffe Elite Ace ,,, FAC# 53
  • Supporter
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1322
  • KT503 Elite
Re: UP3 bug report thread
« Reply #80 on: September 23, 2019, 09:47:08 PM »

Got, the FW-190A1 was there at UP 3.3 on the List. Thanks to BK and Storebror.


Best Regards KT503
Logged
My Greatest and Best Regards KT503

SAS~Storebror

  • retired
  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21408
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: UP3 bug report thread
« Reply #81 on: September 24, 2019, 03:16:58 AM »

Further to the previously posted list of fixes, the flight models of the Barracuda, the Henschel 123, the Fiat CR.32 and the Fiat CR.42 will be fixed in Patch 2 as well.

And Patch 2 will have a somewhat "experimental" new functionality builtin:
Old missions sometimes tend to use loadouts for planes that don't exist anymore, either because they were simply removed or replaced by some other loadout option - sometimes it's just a naming thing, maybe even just capitalization of the loadout name.
This used to throw a runtime-exception and the regarding plane would simply be missing when the mission plays.
With Patch 2 we will get a new code implementation which, in case such "inexistent loadouts" issue happens, will attempt to find the best matching existing loadout according to the Damerau Levenshtein algorithm (case insensitive) applied to the loadout names, and load that "best match" instead.

Example: In old times, the I_16TYPE18_BS had loadouts like "2xFAB100" declared.
Meanwhile this loadout has been renamed to "2fab100". The new algorithm successfully picks that "best match" loadout from the available set ("default", "2fab50", "2fab100", "2tank100", "none") and selects it instead, meaning that the mission will work as intended even though the loadout on the mission doesn't really exist.

]cheers[
Mike
Logged
You live, you learn, you love, you're dead.

bomberkiller

  • Treffen sich zwei Jäger...!
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4002
  • Bf-109G-6/R6 = Bomber Killer
Re: UP3 bug report thread
« Reply #82 on: September 24, 2019, 04:02:16 AM »

Quote
The new algorithm successfully picks that "best match" loadout from the available set ("default", "2fab50", "2fab100", "2tank100", "none") and selects it instead, meaning that the mission will work as intended even though the loadout on the mission doesn't really exist.

Hello Mike,

Does that mean I have to fly bombs if the mission foresees it, even if I do not want to fly bombs?

 ]cheers[

Gerhard
Logged
FAC N° 9 ...cheers mein Schatz

SAS~Storebror

  • retired
  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21408
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: UP3 bug report thread
« Reply #83 on: September 24, 2019, 08:53:04 AM »

No.
Whatever loadout you select you will get exactly that one and nothing else.

This new code improvement just kicks in when an ancient mission is being loaded which has loadouts listed in the ".mis" file that don't exist anymore.
In that case, the game will automatically substitute the inexistent loadouts with the closest match available.
This is really just for ancient missions, mostly ones that are on our FAC server's list.

Even for a mission builder this process is completely care-free: Load an ancient mission, save it again and you'll get your loadouts updated automatically.

]cheers[
Mike
Logged
You live, you learn, you love, you're dead.
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 ... 26   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.074 seconds with 24 queries.