Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 ... 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 ... 21   Go Down

Author Topic: UP3 bug report thread  (Read 27415 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SAS~Storebror

  • retired
  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21125
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: UP3 bug report thread
« Reply #132 on: December 29, 2019, 10:48:55 AM »

Sorry, didn't get the last point.
What's the issue?
To me Bv-222 spawns flawlessly.

]cheers[
Mike
Logged
While love lives, while suns set, while snowmoons rise in november skies
While ties bind, while souls cry, while oceans ride in an endless tide
While love grows, while blood flows, while truth is real you need never feel alone.

Unca-Fester

  • Graduate of the Dirk Gently School of mucking about.
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 183
Re: UP3 bug report thread
« Reply #133 on: December 29, 2019, 12:19:26 PM »

Thought I'd report that with the aircraft not often appearing either in game or in map.  Once I deleted the deleteGhostAircraft=0 entry in [Mods] and reset the [Mods] Menu entrys to all zero in their binary entries, the next online game played fine. 

Caveat:  as far as I can tell, with just me on the server...?

Why this worked is beyond me, as other than the artifacts with running UP3 RC4, the older version had none of these issues.  I'm wondering in my dated machine isn't liking the overhead in process when the menu is activated?

Mysteries..
Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • retired
  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21125
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: UP3 bug report thread
« Reply #134 on: December 30, 2019, 01:04:33 AM »

Let me say that I would recommend to restore your conf.ini [Mods] section to the previous (yesterday) state.
What you did is completely unrelated to the reported issues.

We've got two things going on:
  • No planes on the map.
    This was solely due to your map being stuck in "Navigation Mode".
    Once you switched it back to normal mode, planes were back.
    No bug, no issue, everything worked as specified.
  • Planes missing in game.
    Did you ever really ensure that there was a plane missing?
    The report on TeamSpeak was quite a mess... I think you might have just been having suffered from planes missing on the map.
    Nevertheless, the only thing that could cause planes to completely disappear on client side is the new "Ghost Plane" bugfix in Patch 5 and later.
    Adding deleteGhostAircraft=0 to the [Mods] section of conf.ini disables the "Ghost Plane" bugfix and therefore restores the "old" behaviour of UP3.
    Therefore if you think you suffer from missing planes (not just on the map, but ingame, visually) then you should give that conf.ini entry a try.

Last but not least, as stated above, the "Ghost Plane" fix was introduced with Patch 5, but everyone who complained about missing planes yesterday said that this started with Patch 6 and was working fine before.
Fun fact: Nothing changed in Patch 6 in this regard.
This makes me wonder whether we really have an issue here at all, or whether people are just seeing pink elephants.

]cheers[
Mike
Logged
While love lives, while suns set, while snowmoons rise in november skies
While ties bind, while souls cry, while oceans ride in an endless tide
While love grows, while blood flows, while truth is real you need never feel alone.

SAS~Ghost129er

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1845
  • SAS Certified Nuisance
Re: UP3 bug report thread
« Reply #135 on: December 30, 2019, 02:12:35 AM »

Problem is we had about 10+ people on the comms all flying, in combat, discussing tech and etc, hence why I just shut up and typed at one point. This is okay but when it comes to discussing glitches and stuff, I think I should have moved Lewis and I on another channel and Mike could have joined us with his permission to discuss this; but I digress.

Should we perhaps organize a test session or something sometime later on? New years is around the bend and I doubt anyone would have time but we could have testing sessions to try these values and provide feedback.

Otherwise we could test it solo and report back here.

I for one have never had such an issue with planes disappearing or such. If you want just let me know, I will downgrade my UP3 to patch 5 and give it a shot and see if there's any ghosting. Could be mods if any at all.
Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • retired
  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21125
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: UP3 bug report thread
« Reply #136 on: December 30, 2019, 11:20:41 AM »

Patch 5, once again, has the same Ghost Plane fix like Patch 6.
If you'd want to compare anything, you'd have to go back to Patch 4.
I've checked my logs from last sunday's session where two of us, including me, didn't see James flying around (we saw him being in the game, but without plane, i.e. not spawned yet).
As the Ghost Plane fix is a client side thing, I should have found an entry
Code: [Select]
Destroying Ghost Plane: <whatever>, Tick Diff to last Update: 0with "<whatever>" reflecting James' plane in my log. Note: The "0" for Tick Diff is intentional.
There is no such thing.
I've got 4 Ghost Plane removals in my sundays' log (which is a lot), but all of them are AI planes:
Code: [Select]
[2019-12-29 16:05:33.518 UTC +1] dT:    4 Destroying Ghost Plane: 210705 (1GvIAP303), Tick Diff to last Update: 0
[2019-12-29 16:06:50.654 UTC +1] dT:  785 Destroying Ghost Plane: 196453 (g010007), Tick Diff to last Update: 0
[2019-12-29 17:07:52.984 UTC +1] dT: 1822 Destroying Ghost Plane: 1049853 (g012033), Tick Diff to last Update: 0
[2019-12-29 17:23:06.236 UTC +1] dT:  311 Destroying Ghost Plane: 4646097 (gb010001), Tick Diff to last Update: 0
That's all.
Therefore, the absence of James' plane was no Ghost Plane fix thing.
Whatever it was, it wasn't related to UP 3.3 or any of the patches at all.
There was no further valid report of missing planes.
Therefore I consider this "issue" being an imagined fault for the time being.

We can host test sessions, but only later as I'll be unavailable until mid january.

]cheers[
Mike
Logged
While love lives, while suns set, while snowmoons rise in november skies
While ties bind, while souls cry, while oceans ride in an endless tide
While love grows, while blood flows, while truth is real you need never feel alone.

Unca-Fester

  • Graduate of the Dirk Gently School of mucking about.
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 183
Re: UP3 bug report thread
« Reply #137 on: December 30, 2019, 11:54:11 AM »


Could it be I was running with 512K of memory allocation in the settings in Selector?.

 I was a bit in-circumspect as to my trouble shooting after the session yesterday, as I had re-edited my config .ini and turned up the memory allocation in selector to 1 gig.  Which doesn't reveal where the fix is or if I actually fixed the issue.

I did run a few missions online by myself to see if I had fixed the issue, which had all the normal aircraft.  But without 7 other online users I suspect this doesn't serve to reveal where the problem was.

Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • retired
  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21125
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: UP3 bug report thread
« Reply #138 on: December 30, 2019, 12:01:05 PM »

512MB :)
No, that's unrelated.

]cheers[
Mike
Logged
While love lives, while suns set, while snowmoons rise in november skies
While ties bind, while souls cry, while oceans ride in an endless tide
While love grows, while blood flows, while truth is real you need never feel alone.

Unca-Fester

  • Graduate of the Dirk Gently School of mucking about.
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 183
Re: UP3 bug report thread
« Reply #139 on: December 30, 2019, 12:21:25 PM »

 ]banghead[ Yeah, I meant 512 megs  I sometimes regress to I-486 speak.  Remember when having external CPU caches of up to 64K was a thing?
Logged

Uhu-Alpenrose

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: UP3 bug report thread
« Reply #140 on: December 31, 2019, 08:31:50 AM »

Hi Mike,

coming back to the BV issue.

The Mission I have sent to you has an airfield Close to the place where the AI BV start.
If you go there  and select the BV and then press fly simply nothing happens. All other float planes work.....just the BV doesnt work.

Tried in that Mission also with the airfield where the BVs land. Same effect......you Chose the BV....hit fly.....nothing happens.

Regards


ALPI
Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • retired
  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21125
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: UP3 bug report thread
« Reply #141 on: December 31, 2019, 08:35:34 AM »

Ah well, thanks for the hint.
I'll have to check that, but it will take time.
No IL-2 in the coming two weeks for me, so please bear with me ;)

]cheers[
Mike
Logged
While love lives, while suns set, while snowmoons rise in november skies
While ties bind, while souls cry, while oceans ride in an endless tide
While love grows, while blood flows, while truth is real you need never feel alone.

E69_Haukka

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
Re: UP3 bug report thread
« Reply #142 on: January 05, 2020, 04:25:20 PM »

This afternoon, flying on the SAS UP Server, I discovered this oddity in the cockpit of the I.A.R 81c 1940. My UP 3.3.6 is clean and updated, without mods:



Thank you very much for your attention. regards
Logged

Flanker27

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 425
Re: UP3 bug report thread
« Reply #143 on: January 06, 2020, 06:13:02 AM »

Looks ok to me? Unless your referring to the reflecting gunsight
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 ... 21   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.059 seconds with 23 queries.