Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Change icon  (Read 1382 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Tony4mori

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 190
Change icon
« on: September 03, 2015, 07:54:57 AM »

Hi guys, I have a question to ask on the icons. I use the icons with only the distance but I would like to change so you can see a symbol red and blue on the planes (for example a cross or a line or one square) without the number that tells me the plane distance. There is a way to do it?

sorry for my english
Logged

Dr. Strangelove

  • Curator of Olegisms
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 188
Re: Change icon
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2015, 12:10:22 PM »

This thread had a lot of useful info:

http://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php?topic=21100.0
Logged
"Sure no."

Tony4mori

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 190
Re: Change icon
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2015, 03:45:57 PM »

Thanks, But you should always open SHIFT + TAB? There is no way to change the icons forever no need to open the console in game?
Logged

Dr. Strangelove

  • Curator of Olegisms
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 188
Re: Change icon
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2015, 05:20:57 PM »

I believe hguderian, the author of the icons mod included an adjusted rcu file to use. The rcu file controls the icon settings among other console commands. You can also change the rcu settings to your preference by opening it with a text editor like Notepad, but you might have to give it a .txt suffix, make your changes and save, then remove the .txt suffix.

Sorry it has been a while since I experimented with this and could not produce satisfactory results due to the way the icons are handled by the game. But you may find that you are able to set it up how you like.
Logged
"Sure no."

Tony4mori

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 190
Re: Change icon
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2015, 07:14:47 AM »

Thanks ,but unfortunately, the icons change depending on the distance. I would like to remain in the same way. I'll try to work
Logged

sniperton

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1222
Re: Change icon
« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2015, 12:50:24 PM »

Thanks, But you should always open SHIFT + TAB? There is no way to change the icons forever no need to open the console in game?

IIRC you should have a file named [Game]\Users\[User]\Icons with a text like this:

Code: [Select]
mp_dotrange FRIENDLY DOT 14.0 COLOR 6.0 RANGE 6.0 TYPE 6.0 ID 6.0 NAME 6.0 ALTICON 6.0 ALTSYMBOL + ALTCOLOR 2
mp_dotrange FOE DOT 14.0 COLOR 6.0 RANGE 6.0 TYPE 6.0 ID 6.0 NAME 6.0 ALTICON 6.0 ALTSYMBOL + ALTCOLOR 7

Details are explained in the link given by Dr. Strangelove.

Logged

Dr. Strangelove

  • Curator of Olegisms
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 188
Re: Change icon
« Reply #6 on: September 04, 2015, 01:08:42 PM »

That's right! In your IL-2 root folder --> Users --> [Your Pilot Name]
It's not easy to get the settings perfect, I can only suggest trial and error.
Hope it helps good luck!
Logged
"Sure no."

PapaG39

  • Supporter
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 342
Re: Change icon
« Reply #7 on: September 04, 2015, 06:44:06 PM »

man I hope you get it figured out.

since il2 day one I have always wanted just a small red or blue  "x" only so my eye could just pick out the aircraft. 
Then I could turn the icon off & try to follow along.
I could care less who it is or the distance... I Just need something to catch my eye to the aircraft...
I can look all day at a specific area and never see anything.

I hope you figure it out once and for all time...
Logged
A Pilots Prayer:  "May you not run out of airspeed, altitude and ideas all at the same time".

Zoran395

  • Mapper
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 355
Re: Change icon
« Reply #8 on: September 05, 2015, 05:37:34 AM »

After playing with this for some time, I managed to get what I wanted (just the distance, colour, small and appearing only very close) using mix of .rc instructions and custom (minute) fonts.
But of late I simply turned the icons off, my life has changed!
Very tricky to stay alive, like PapaG39 said, if you cannot see it and it is a Bf-110 firing on you from dead astern, no time for anything => the screen goes black, virtually death...  :-[
I just flew a single mission found over there:http://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,38070.msg521758.html#msg521758.
So without icons, you are suddendly alone in the middle of 18 Bf-110 escorted by four Bf-109, very scary and surprising !
Logged

Tony4mori

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 190
Re: Change icon
« Reply #9 on: September 05, 2015, 12:44:33 PM »

I did, finally.......

GREEN: Friendly
RED: Enemy

Code: [Select]
mp_dotrange FRIENDLY DOT 25.000 COLOR 0.005 RANGE 0.005 TYPE 0.005 ID 0.005 NAME 0.005 ALTICON 10.0 ALTSYMBOL • ALTCOLOR 3
mp_dotrange FOE DOT 25.000 COLOR 0.005 RANGE 0.005 TYPE 0.005 ID 0.005 NAME 0.005 ALTICON 10.0 ALTSYMBOL • ALTCOLOR 7



Logged

Borsch

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 153
Re: Change icon
« Reply #10 on: May 18, 2022, 09:12:18 AM »

I did, finally.......

GREEN: Friendly
RED: Enemy

Code: [Select]
mp_dotrange FRIENDLY DOT 25.000 COLOR 0.005 RANGE 0.005 TYPE 0.005 ID 0.005 NAME 0.005 ALTICON 10.0 ALTSYMBOL • ALTCOLOR 3
mp_dotrange FOE DOT 25.000 COLOR 0.005 RANGE 0.005 TYPE 0.005 ID 0.005 NAME 0.005 ALTICON 10.0 ALTSYMBOL • ALTCOLOR 7

Terrible necro, I know, but I just had to say MASSIVE thanks to Tony4mori! Gamechanger I was wanting all these many years of Il2! :)
PS If you get a weird looking letter instead of the circle, change encoding to ANSI in Notepad++ or pick own circle shape from Windows Character Map. Then change the "IL2\Users\doe\icons" file
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.124 seconds with 24 queries.