Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: CUP on SSD?  (Read 1553 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

PO_MAK_249RIP

  • CMON U SPURS!
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1886
CUP on SSD?
« on: March 07, 2015, 09:30:37 AM »

Hi Peeps,

Have any of you guys running CUP on an SSD noticed any significant benefit from doing so? Better FPS perhaps? No stutters?

Just interested

Mick
Logged
Corsair Carbide case, Intel core i5 4690 3.5ghz with Arctic Cooler, Asus Rock H97 performance, Gainward windforce OC GTX 960 2GB, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz, 256GB/500GB Crucial SSDs, Windows 10 64bit.

Whiskey_Sierra_972

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5548
  • In memory of my beloved hero: Saburo SAKAI!
Re: CUP on SSD?
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2015, 10:35:33 AM »

In a SSD you have better data transfer from it to the CPU....you'll have fatesr loading times but after all depend from RAM and GPU....
Logged

PO_MAK_249RIP

  • CMON U SPURS!
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1886
Re: CUP on SSD?
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2015, 04:16:19 PM »

Hi Whiskey - my new builds got a 256gb SSD gonna install CUP and FSX onto it - oh and Win7 of course!!
Logged
Corsair Carbide case, Intel core i5 4690 3.5ghz with Arctic Cooler, Asus Rock H97 performance, Gainward windforce OC GTX 960 2GB, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz, 256GB/500GB Crucial SSDs, Windows 10 64bit.

Whiskey_Sierra_972

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5548
  • In memory of my beloved hero: Saburo SAKAI!
Re: CUP on SSD?
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2015, 12:04:26 AM »

CUP should rise a lot in GB....moreover it 'll got a lot of changes in it's composition.....an SSD theoretically is sensible when full of data and at changes to it's structure....moreover you can gain only few seconds on loading time....maybe a standadr HDD can be more indicated....
Logged

PO_MAK_249RIP

  • CMON U SPURS!
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1886
Re: CUP on SSD?
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2015, 04:38:41 AM »

I went with FSX on my HDD and CUP on my SSD otherwise my SSD could end up over populated - works great so far !!
Logged
Corsair Carbide case, Intel core i5 4690 3.5ghz with Arctic Cooler, Asus Rock H97 performance, Gainward windforce OC GTX 960 2GB, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz, 256GB/500GB Crucial SSDs, Windows 10 64bit.

decipher

  • Missioneer
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 297
Re: CUP on SSD?
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2015, 04:46:32 AM »

i have a dedicated second SSD [first is for windows] for my simulators and games and the loading times for me are definitely way faster than on my normal HDD [which i keep for storing videos, documents and such].

for il-2 1946 + CUP you will mostly see an improvement in the startup loading time and the time loading missions, there won't be much [if any at all] improvements in FPS, since as far as i can tell, the il-2 engine preloads almost everything at mission load.

modern games often stream textures and 3d models directly into the running games, so those will benefit more from SSDs.

personally i love my sim SSD and wouln't want to change back, but its of course always a matter of your budget too.

Logged

PO_MAK_249RIP

  • CMON U SPURS!
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1886
Re: CUP on SSD?
« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2015, 10:27:53 AM »

Hi mate yep would like another SSD for FSX but money wont allow at present - saying that FSX is bloody quick on my new HDD and new PC now!!
Logged
Corsair Carbide case, Intel core i5 4690 3.5ghz with Arctic Cooler, Asus Rock H97 performance, Gainward windforce OC GTX 960 2GB, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz, 256GB/500GB Crucial SSDs, Windows 10 64bit.

don.noca

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
Re: CUP on SSD?
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2015, 03:53:31 PM »

There is a benefit for sure, you are eliminating issues related to mechanical nature of a regular HDDs thus increasing overall performance. In my particular case, after moving IL2 to SSD, sound stuttering disappeared. For instance, when AI talks (radio communication)...
Logged

gn728

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 57
Re: CUP on SSD?
« Reply #8 on: March 20, 2015, 01:23:10 AM »

Have a copy of CUP on my C: which is SSD and E: drive, which is not, and agree that the difference is in load times - don't see any difference in performance.
Logged

marcost

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1019
  • Keep calm and run away
Re: CUP on SSD?
« Reply #9 on: March 20, 2015, 06:12:59 AM »

Don't have CUP but my heavily modded 4.12 definitely showed faster load times on SSD.

Stutters disappeared when I changed the SSD setting to AHCI from IDE (Windows defaults to IDE)

http://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,42933.0.html

Regards,

M
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.041 seconds with 24 queries.