Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Replace chevron on German aircraft with number 1!  (Read 4265 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

greybeard

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1934
  • diligo veritatem
    • Old stuff about RB3D and a tiny "IL2 corner"
Replace chevron on German aircraft with number 1!
« on: September 06, 2014, 02:16:37 AM »

Hi all!

I would have posted this on Skins&Markings section, but I'm not allowed... :(

I'm sure this mod isn't new since already part of the good old Mat Manager, not to mention it's now standard on stock game. But for who plays like me old versions, could be useful.



Please be aware it causes a "false" conflict with "Hakenkruz Enabler", if installed; just hit YES and install anyway: they'll share same folders without hurting each other. ;)

Enjoy!
GB

Link for download
Logged
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 - RAM: 2GB DDR @ 201 MHz - MoBo: ASUSTeK Computer INC. A8N-SLI (Socket 939) - Vidcard: 1024MB NVIDIA GeForce 9400 GT (Club3D) - Screen: L1750SQ (1280x1024@75Hz) - Audio: Realtek AC'97 Audio.

SAS~Malone

  • flying as #46 with the FAC
  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14560
  • proud member of that 'other' site
Re: Replace chevron on German aircraft with number 1!
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2014, 02:39:26 AM »

hi GB :D
i've just adjusted your profile, giving you modder status, so you should now be able to start threads in Skins and other sections.
let me know if there is any issues with it, but you should be good to go for posting there now ;)
Logged
.....taking fun seriously since 1968.....  8)

Epervier

  • 4.09 Guardian Angel !
  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8221
  • I'm French and Rebel_409! Nobody is perfect!
    • Some tinkering here
Re: Replace chevron on German aircraft with number 1!
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2014, 02:55:43 AM »

 :-X Quick question:
With this patch we will never, under any circumstances, chevrons ?
The chevrons were not available in 1939/40?

Petite question :
Avec ce correctif on aura jamais, dans aucun cas, les chevrons ?
Les chevrons n'existaient pas en 1939/40 ?
Logged
If your results are not up to your expectations, tell yourself that as large oak was once an acorn ...

greybeard

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1934
  • diligo veritatem
    • Old stuff about RB3D and a tiny "IL2 corner"
Re: Replace chevron on German aircraft with number 1!
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2014, 04:59:12 AM »

i've just adjusted your profile, giving you modder status,...
let me know if there is any issues with it,...

Malone,

thank you very much! :)

It works fine. S!
GB
Logged
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 - RAM: 2GB DDR @ 201 MHz - MoBo: ASUSTeK Computer INC. A8N-SLI (Socket 939) - Vidcard: 1024MB NVIDIA GeForce 9400 GT (Club3D) - Screen: L1750SQ (1280x1024@75Hz) - Audio: Realtek AC'97 Audio.

SAS~Malone

  • flying as #46 with the FAC
  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14560
  • proud member of that 'other' site
Re: Replace chevron on German aircraft with number 1!
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2014, 05:11:22 AM »

good - i have adjusted it again so that you should now have Modder as part of your profile tag ;)
Logged
.....taking fun seriously since 1968.....  8)

greybeard

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1934
  • diligo veritatem
    • Old stuff about RB3D and a tiny "IL2 corner"
Re: Replace chevron on German aircraft with number 1!
« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2014, 05:41:42 AM »

With this patch we will never, under any circumstances, chevrons ?

Never (you may remove it at any time, though, restoring chevron) ;)

Quote
The chevrons were not available in 1939/40?

Yes, they were, as well as during following years, until war's end. The chevron available in IL-2 is that identifying Gruppe Kommandeur and is used by default to mark always first fighter of player's flight. This looks to many quite unreal, hence the mod.

Quote
Avec ce correctif on aura jamais, dans aucun cas, les chevrons ?

Jamais (vous pouvez retirer la mod à tout moment, cependant, rétablissent le chevron)

Quote
Les chevrons n'existaient pas en 1939/40 ?

Oui, ils étaient, ainsi que pendant les années suivantes, jusqu'à la fin de la guerre. Le chevron disponible dans IL-2 est que l'identification Gruppe Kommandeur et est utilisé par défaut pour marquer toujours le premier combattant du vol du joueur. Cela ressemble à un grand nombre tout à fait irréel, où le mod.
Logged
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 - RAM: 2GB DDR @ 201 MHz - MoBo: ASUSTeK Computer INC. A8N-SLI (Socket 939) - Vidcard: 1024MB NVIDIA GeForce 9400 GT (Club3D) - Screen: L1750SQ (1280x1024@75Hz) - Audio: Realtek AC'97 Audio.

greybeard

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1934
  • diligo veritatem
    • Old stuff about RB3D and a tiny "IL2 corner"
Re: Replace chevron on German aircraft with number 1!
« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2014, 05:45:59 AM »

good - i have adjusted it again so that you should now have Modder as part of your profile tag ;)

Yes, there is! :D

Thanks again,
GB
Logged
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 - RAM: 2GB DDR @ 201 MHz - MoBo: ASUSTeK Computer INC. A8N-SLI (Socket 939) - Vidcard: 1024MB NVIDIA GeForce 9400 GT (Club3D) - Screen: L1750SQ (1280x1024@75Hz) - Audio: Realtek AC'97 Audio.

greybeard

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1934
  • diligo veritatem
    • Old stuff about RB3D and a tiny "IL2 corner"
Re: Replace chevron on German aircraft with number 1!
« Reply #7 on: December 22, 2014, 12:33:23 PM »

Updated to v1.1.

"Whitened" Gruppe markings (were black, outlined white, for leader of player's flight - so in contrast with white "1").







Same link of first post.

Cheers,
GB
Logged
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 - RAM: 2GB DDR @ 201 MHz - MoBo: ASUSTeK Computer INC. A8N-SLI (Socket 939) - Vidcard: 1024MB NVIDIA GeForce 9400 GT (Club3D) - Screen: L1750SQ (1280x1024@75Hz) - Audio: Realtek AC'97 Audio.

Epervier

  • 4.09 Guardian Angel !
  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8221
  • I'm French and Rebel_409! Nobody is perfect!
    • Some tinkering here
Re: Replace chevron on German aircraft with number 1!
« Reply #8 on: December 22, 2014, 12:39:19 PM »

Thank you very much !  :) :)
Logged
If your results are not up to your expectations, tell yourself that as large oak was once an acorn ...

greybeard

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1934
  • diligo veritatem
    • Old stuff about RB3D and a tiny "IL2 corner"
Re: Replace chevron on German aircraft with number 1!
« Reply #9 on: December 23, 2014, 01:23:13 AM »

Thank you very much !  :) :)

Thanks to you for having correctly moved this thread in the right place!

Cheers,
GB
Logged
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 - RAM: 2GB DDR @ 201 MHz - MoBo: ASUSTeK Computer INC. A8N-SLI (Socket 939) - Vidcard: 1024MB NVIDIA GeForce 9400 GT (Club3D) - Screen: L1750SQ (1280x1024@75Hz) - Audio: Realtek AC'97 Audio.

Kopfdorfer

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1672
  • Potez 63.11 France's most significant AC in 1940
Re: Replace chevron on German aircraft with number 1!
« Reply #10 on: December 23, 2014, 07:20:50 AM »

Hey Greybeard,

                      I think this is a welcome mod indeed. I always loved the capabilities of Mat Manager , and felt the improved immersion
                      factor was well worth the frigging around it took me to get it up and running.

                      I have a suggestion/consideration for a mod based on this concept by Greybeard.
                      What about taking each of the German Geschwader listed in the Regts table , and adding a Stab flight (in Il2 terms
                      Geschwader) for each.
                      In the "graphics" files (my terminology could very well be incorrect here) , instead of numerical graphics , create images
                      of the historical "Stab" markings.
                      If the Stab Schwarm was structured the same way as the Gruppe/Staffeln in the IL2 model - (4 flights of 4)  - (I know we
                      are challenging the  basic historical numbers assigned to each of these units , but Il2 did that anyway) , then we would have
                      the possibility of up to 16 Stab markings.

                      If we use Greybeard's "1" as the default of the Stab Schwarm , here are some of the further graphics that could be 
                      represented in our "Stab Flight" enumeration symbology :

                     
                     

                     Here is a brief article with the basics...
                     http://www.486th.org/Aircraft/Markings/index.htm

                     Clearly skinning experts could detail exactly what symbology is historically representative better than I can. Concievably ,
                     all Jabo units could receive the Jabo coding as well.
                     
                     

                     I am sure I am not perceiving all the work loads my idea is implying for a modder to take on , but as the saying goes
                     "nothing ventured , nothing gained".

                     If this is thread hijacking I apologize , and please move it as you see fit , but I thought the relationship with the
                     mod under discussion made it appropriate here.

                     Seasons best to all,

                     Kopfdorfer
                     
Logged

greybeard

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1934
  • diligo veritatem
    • Old stuff about RB3D and a tiny "IL2 corner"
Re: Replace chevron on German aircraft with number 1!
« Reply #11 on: December 23, 2014, 04:36:15 PM »

Interesting proposal. I would pick section regarding Jabo and Schlacht identification symbols: I "clashed" already twice against IL-2 incorrect letter codes for fighter-bombers and assault planes, and would allow these aircraft to have their historical markings. I shall ask some help to try.

Happy Christmas!
GB
Logged
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 - RAM: 2GB DDR @ 201 MHz - MoBo: ASUSTeK Computer INC. A8N-SLI (Socket 939) - Vidcard: 1024MB NVIDIA GeForce 9400 GT (Club3D) - Screen: L1750SQ (1280x1024@75Hz) - Audio: Realtek AC'97 Audio.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.062 seconds with 25 queries.