Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: river traffic  (Read 6316 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Lagarto

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 327
river traffic
« on: April 29, 2014, 03:01:45 PM »

Perhaps I'm saying something obvious for everybody here, but... It always bothered me that most rivers are not navigable for ships. This is strange because it can be easily done manually by placing FrontMarkers in the river, and later using their coordinates to guide ships - by pasting the coordinates into the [Chief_Road] sections.



Some ships can even pass below bridges:





Hopefully some mission and campaign builders will find this little discovery useful :)
Logged

Juri_JS

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 252
Re: river traffic
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2014, 04:23:48 PM »

That was completely new to me.  Thanks for the hint.
Logged

SAS~Bombsaway

  • Choose your battles wisely.
  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9045
  • A day without laughter is a day wasted
Re: river traffic
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2014, 04:49:55 PM »

Very cool. :)
Logged
Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Music

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 173
  • why settle for the lesser of 2 evils, Vote Satan
    • Selfportrait Album
Re: river traffic
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2014, 05:24:10 PM »

Fantastic!

Great post.

farang65

  • never two weeks, two months, two years, two decades
  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2759
  • Terror Over The Top End
Re: river traffic
« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2014, 08:50:53 PM »

It depends a lot on the map maker concerning ed_map_t which is used for navigation.

if the map maker wants all rivers, lakes and oceans navigable then it can be quite a time consuming process to make a fully navigable ed_map_t.

Some map makers may just make the large rivers and lakes navigable.

Kirby


Logged

Ibis

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 145
Re: river traffic
« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2014, 11:36:35 PM »


 Thanks for the tip, it will come in vert handy.
cheers
Logged

Lagarto

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 327
Re: river traffic
« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2014, 03:11:35 AM »

Remember if you do this and you open your mission in FMB again all your rivier waypoints are gone and you can start all over.

Hmmm... it doesn't happen to me. I've been rearranging ships numerous times, exiting the game, opening the mission again in FMB and all the ships and 'river waypoints' I've placed are still there. Maybe in a modded game (I'm on HSFX7) it's different? Could anyone confirm?

I've staged a duel between HMS Prince of Wales and Bismarck in the middle of Rotterdam:



The've demolished half the town



Bismarck, although heavily damaged, won twice

Logged

Ojisan_bart

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 61
Re: river traffic
« Reply #7 on: April 30, 2014, 04:35:06 AM »

It was in non modded game but was v4.08 or so , if its all still there when you open the mission again in FMB than you did a great find . I will try it again and let you know what happens, you make me curious now  ;)
Logged

Ojisan_bart

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 61
Re: river traffic
« Reply #8 on: April 30, 2014, 10:40:43 AM »

YOU DID A SUPER GREAT FIND, I was completely wrong and I remove my wrong post.  I made missions now for few years and this was my missing part, I did something wrong in the last waypoint line and than its all gone in FMB and that's why I thought it was not possible ...  THX Very Much for you find :) :)
Logged

Lagarto

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 327
Re: river traffic
« Reply #9 on: April 30, 2014, 11:51:52 AM »

I'm happy to hear that :)
If only we had some river barges... Interdicting river traffic was a vital part of WWII air war, esp. in CBI, where rivers were the main routes of transport, but also in the ETO. Besides, I live by a big river and the sight of river barges is dear to my heart :)
Logged

Uufflakke

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2078
Re: river traffic
« Reply #10 on: April 30, 2014, 02:09:42 PM »

KiwiBiggles explained very well how to navigate ships in rivers and harbours by using a plane for that purpose: copy-paste its waypoints into the [Chiefs] section.

It all gets explained with illustrations about 1/3 of the page:
http://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php?topic=23731.0
Logged
"The Best Things In Live Aren't Things"

Blumax

  • Guest
Re: river traffic
« Reply #11 on: April 30, 2014, 04:29:04 PM »

As a footnote to this thread, the same technique can be applied to trains.....lay down your tracks in FMB then use a vehicle to set the waypoints and then copy and paste waypoints into Chiefs for a more realistic train set.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.016 seconds with 26 queries.