Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 ... 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 ... 49   Go Down

Author Topic: msh Binary format  (Read 59296 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

hello

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 257
Re: msh Binary format
« Reply #288 on: May 28, 2014, 02:36:33 PM »

Well now, things are really looking up :) :) :) Glad to hear that!
And also the program is shaping up nicely too.

I just realised that if you really want the entire community to owe you for ever, there is one thing more thing to add: Integrate the ability to read and write 3ds files to meshes or parts of meshes.

I don't know how difficult that is, but it would allow a modeller to swop out a bad model mesh for a good one in no time. Is something like that doable? Again, just thinking out loud
Logged

Stainless

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1379
Re: msh Binary format
« Reply #289 on: May 28, 2014, 03:43:18 PM »

As long as the mesh is created with all the right submesh names....  yes.

In fact do you have an aircraft as a 3ds file?

I have a 3ds reader knocking about somewhere

Logged

Stainless

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1379
Re: msh Binary format
« Reply #290 on: May 29, 2014, 05:39:01 AM »

It's not reading the hierarchy yet, but I can load 3ds files.

How do you think this one would fly?  ;D

 

Logged

hello

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 257
Re: msh Binary format
« Reply #291 on: May 29, 2014, 02:49:31 PM »

Was away today, didn't see until just now. A bit of an alien, isn't it. lol lol

Does that mean your program can write them the meshes out to 3ds too? Your never stop, do you? :D :D

I don't have any complete IL-2 compatible 3ds files. I have seen them around in some tutorial, but can't remember where.
I believe a long time ago I saw Gibbages P38 in 3ds form on the web.
I'll google a bit...
Logged

Stainless

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1379
Re: msh Binary format
« Reply #292 on: May 30, 2014, 04:16:39 AM »

I've added an option to change a node.

As long as it is a mesh node (starts with Mesh_) you can right click on it and select "Replace"

It accepts msh files and 3ds files.

Guess I should put my head down and write the code to save the edited mesh now.
Logged

Stainless

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1379
Re: msh Binary format
« Reply #293 on: May 30, 2014, 06:57:51 AM »

Okay, I have implemented a File - Save all method.

This saves the mod to a directory.

All materials are saved
Him file created
All meshes saved as text files.

Couple of problems, one I am working on, the other I need feedback first.

The one I am working in is collision meshes, at the moment I don't save them as I haven't figured out how they are stored in a binary mesh.

The other, I don't save any textures, so you have to copy them by hand. I don't know if you want me to save all the textures or not.
Logged

hello

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 257
Re: msh Binary format
« Reply #294 on: May 30, 2014, 09:42:54 AM »

I think just collecting and saving all textures is the right way to go. You can always throw them out if it is one of the standard ones like null.tga or similar.

I just had dental  chirurgy. Had a moler chiseled out from below. A bit out of it. Going to lay down for a while.
Logged

Stainless

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1379
Re: msh Binary format
« Reply #295 on: May 30, 2014, 10:34:29 AM »

Well I have finally put my head down and finished off the binary reader

I can now read the collision mesh as well

So apart from bugs, it's fully functioning at last.

I'll do some more testing and put up a new version tomorrow.

Logged

Stainless

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1379
Re: msh Binary format
« Reply #296 on: May 31, 2014, 01:27:34 AM »

Logged

Stainless

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1379
Re: msh Binary format
« Reply #297 on: May 31, 2014, 05:35:33 AM »

Got cockpit door animation working



Logged

hello

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 257
Re: msh Binary format
« Reply #298 on: May 31, 2014, 06:08:46 AM »

So that is what that unused button is for :)

Here's a few suggestions that would make error checking meshes easier and faster:

Could you provide tool bar buttons for the the different level of details? Clicking a button would select the relevant meshes in the hierarchy tree.
Also a reset button for the tree would be good (but that would be the same as levelD0).

Could you make selecting/unselecting entire branches and sub-branches of the tree possible by selecting the top node of a tree branch.
If there is a problem somewhere and I/you have it more or less located, you don't want to see the rest of the model.

Just yesterday an update for the He 219 UHU was released. It is a very good model. But if I open it, the skin sits on the model wrong way around.
I have the same problem with the Vickers Whitley model. what is the cause of this?
Logged

Stainless

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1379
Re: msh Binary format
« Reply #299 on: May 31, 2014, 07:35:58 AM »

So that is what that unused button is for :)

It's not unused anymore.  ;D  Now it open the cockpit

Quote
Could you provide tool bar buttons for the the different level of details? Clicking a button would select the relevant meshes in the hierarchy tree.
Also a reset button for the tree would be good (but that would be the same as levelD0).

The distance slider was designed for testing LOD, because you may have an error in the lod table for a mesh. So just saying "I want LOD 1" is no good because when one mesh is displaying LOD 1 in the game, another may be displaying LOD 2 or it may be turned off completely.

Quote
Could you make selecting/unselecting entire branches and sub-branches of the tree possible by selecting the top node of a tree branch.
If there is a problem somewhere and I/you have it more or less located, you don't want to see the rest of the model.

Done.

Quote
Just yesterday an update for the He 219 UHU was released. It is a very good model. But if I open it, the skin sits on the model wrong way around.
I have the same problem with the Vickers Whitley model. what is the cause of this?

I have this problem a lot. I cannot find a reason for it. However just go to the texture browser and select the texture then click on invert.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 ... 49   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.014 seconds with 26 queries.