Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5   Go Down

Author Topic: ***How to Utilise IL-2 Selector - Properly***  (Read 18374 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Whiskey_Sierra_972

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5453
  • In memory of my beloved hero: Saburo SAKAI!
Re: ***How to Utilise IL-2 Selector.exe v3.1.1- Properly***
« Reply #36 on: August 05, 2013, 02:40:26 PM »

Yes I tried to put my Huge Skin Folder in the Mapmods folder and it didnt work

But since in a similar installation the main root/Paintscheme/skins folder is shared from all game version loaded from the selector , why you don't use that?
Logged

BravoFxTrt

  • "BIGFOOT"
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13443
  • Flying Ass Clown #13
Re: ***How to Utilise IL-2 Selector.exe v3.1.1- Properly***
« Reply #37 on: August 05, 2013, 04:14:33 PM »

 I do Walter, because it only works that way.
Logged
MSI R9 280X 6GB x2/Crossfire /ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 Mobo/AMD FX 4170 Bulldozer 4core CPU/RAM Kingston HyperX FURY 16GB/ Corsair RM 1000WATT PSU/Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19108
  • Failure is not an option.
    • What goes around comes around, you'll see
Re: ***How to Utilise IL-2 Selector.exe v3.1.1- Properly***
« Reply #38 on: August 08, 2013, 01:23:00 AM »

Hi walter,

A little late on my side but here we go:
I got a no go for have the two folders working together!
I add the 7th option as follow
Files=#SAS
Mods=#SAS_TRAINING
(...)
When I run the game in this configuration the game don't recognize the SAS Mods Activator and load as a 412 vanilla C(rashing)T(o)D(esktop) at 60%!
Sounds logical.
The "Files" folder structure differs from the "Mods" folder structure:
In the "Files" folder the mods don't reside in dedicated subfolders, instead they're all located straight in that folder.
For instance all contents of "XTD" and "STD" folders would have to go straight into "#SAS" folder when using this as "Files" folder.
I know it's confusing but that's due to the modding history of IL-2: The very first wrapper worked that way and up to and including HSFX 6 and UP 3 the big mod packs work like that, too.

If I change the two folder in this way:
Files=#SAS_TRAINING
Mods=#SAS (with the air.ini disabled)

....the game load as SAS Mods Activator but don't recognize the new planes installed into the #SAS_TRAINING folder....
I tried to reproduce but this way it works for me as expected.
Maybe your new planes don't work because "Mods" folder content overrides the "Files" folder one, so each file in "#SAS_TRAINING" will be skipped when a corresponding file in "#SAS" folder exists.
On the other hand, maybe you just missed the point of the different subfolder structure in "Files" folder again.
For instance, in the original "#SAS" folder (using "Mods" folder structure) the air.ini is located at:
"#SAS/STD/com/maddox/il2/objects/air.ini"
whereas in your "#SAS_TRAINING" folder (using "Files" folder structure) it would have to be located at:
"#SAS_TRAINING/com/maddox/il2/objects/air.ini"
(Note the missing "STD" subfolder in the tree)

I don't know how much this would count, but theoretically (benitomuso already did something similar in his TotalMODder) we could use as many "Files" and "Mods" folders as we like, so there could also be two folders where both carry the "Mods" folder structure. This would require another Selector modification, but if it helps, it might be worth the effort.

Best regards - Mike
Logged
While love lives, while suns set, while snowmoons rise in november skies, while ties bind, while souls cry, while oceans ride in an endless tide, while love grows, while blood flows, while truth is real you need never feel alone.
In loving memory of times when I cared.

SAS~Gerax

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4698
Re: ***How to Utilise IL-2 Selector.exe v3.1.1- Properly***
« Reply #39 on: August 08, 2013, 02:38:29 AM »

I don't know how much this would count, but theoretically (benitomuso already did something similar in his TotalMODder) we could use as many "Files" and "Mods" folders as we like, so there could also be two folders where both carry the "Mods" folder structure. This would require another Selector modification, but if it helps, it might be worth the effort.

+1! Yes please! That would be wonderful to have.  :)

Mike, you know my arguments from former discussions, 
I just want to repeat it for other guys who are new to this:

the reason why I like to have at least two mods folders is:
its simply more readable and less confusing and so easier to maintain. In this structure I see which classfiles, wich 3do folder etc. belongs to wich mod! also I can have them proper arranged and can so influence their reading order.

So when I want to have some "primary" mods folders for special Theatres-of-Ops, its good to have a "secondary" mods folder where I can have all the mods I want to share with some of this special folders. And of course the loading order has to be: primary mods folder (ie SCW) is read before secondary mods folder where I share the common mods and of course before the file(s) folders.

But this is nearly impossible with the structure as we have it now and only one kind of mods and files folder: here ALL classfiles/3do folders/etc. I want to share have to go in this "files" directory straightly, no chance to know at a glance wich (class)files comes from wich mod and no chance to have any kind of structure or order. its pure chaos. so to me this files folder is useable for a shared Mapsmod or maybe mods like a font mod, and maybe the gui and the i18 folder only.  ;)

so a good structure would be:

; Mod Type No.2 (Zero-based Index = 1).
[Modtype_01]
Name=SAS Modact
Help=SAS Modact 3 or later, mods reside in '#SAS' folder
Files=XXXXX
Mods2=YYYYY
Mods1=ZZZZZ (in this case #SAS)

where the loading order is: Mods1 is read before Mods2 before Files.
don't know if a second files folder is necessary but I would not need it.

Logged
i7-4790K 4.00GHz, Asus Z97 Extreme 6, 16GB DDR3; 750GB SSDs, 2TB SSHD, 8TB int.+ext.HDs; Sound Blaster ZxR; Nvidia GTX 980 4GB, Acer 3840x2160 GSync; Win10 prof.; Logitech Extreme 3D Pro, Saitex Throttle Quadrant. Beyerdynamic DT880 Headphones.

BravoFxTrt

  • "BIGFOOT"
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13443
  • Flying Ass Clown #13
Re: ***How to Utilise IL-2 Selector.exe v3.1.1- Properly***
« Reply #40 on: August 08, 2013, 02:55:00 AM »

I like the Idea
Logged
MSI R9 280X 6GB x2/Crossfire /ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 Mobo/AMD FX 4170 Bulldozer 4core CPU/RAM Kingston HyperX FURY 16GB/ Corsair RM 1000WATT PSU/Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit

Whiskey_Sierra_972

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5453
  • In memory of my beloved hero: Saburo SAKAI!
Re: ***How to Utilise IL-2 Selector.exe v3.1.1- Properly***
« Reply #41 on: August 08, 2013, 05:22:00 AM »

Above all I must to thank Mike for all the great work he's doing for us and for the last heaven's door: the SAS ModActivator 5.20!!!

I have solved my issue with the maps because even if I know the different folder level I had some issue in the creation of the FILES/MODS structure till I reboot the rig....

ATM I have multiple installation for planes and the few commons in MODS and I'll start to build up the whole maps and static objects in FILES.

Management of objects and maps trought FILES folder isn't too much complicated because those mods have a deeper level structure than planes/ships/dynamic objects where classfiles atm must be placed all together and can't be isolated in each single mod folder (this is most troublesome when updating class of mods where even if a single object is in a single classflies the whole class is coded in another that must be updated and thus searched among all others and not into a single folder....also because disabled classfiles change their alphabetical position and must be searched each time....)

I completely agree with the line of think wrote by Gerax with two MODS and one FILES folders so in one MODS we can install all common stuff , in the MODS with high order of loading the specific mods and in the FILES a continuing line of work common for every other modding community that use the MODS/FILES structure....

I think that this also allow save a lot of space on disk!

Thanks again for your help!

All the very best!

walter
Logged

BravoFxTrt

  • "BIGFOOT"
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13443
  • Flying Ass Clown #13
Re: ***How to Utilise IL-2 Selector.exe v3.1.1- Properly***
« Reply #42 on: August 08, 2013, 06:16:39 AM »

Yeah, Mike is a Magician, he is a very cool Man, I thank him for every thing he has contributed to our Beloved Sim!
Logged
MSI R9 280X 6GB x2/Crossfire /ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 Mobo/AMD FX 4170 Bulldozer 4core CPU/RAM Kingston HyperX FURY 16GB/ Corsair RM 1000WATT PSU/Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit

dietz

  • Supporter
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 770
  • " Keep watching the skies...."
    • Art of James Dietz
Re: ***How to Utilise IL-2 Selector.exe v3.1.1- Properly***
« Reply #43 on: August 12, 2013, 01:31:41 PM »

Thought I had this made, but I've gone wrong somewhere :when I try to switch to SCW in the selector it almost gets to start but stalls at 95% .Obviously I have done one thing wrong but not sure what.I'm only interested in the most simple install of this great utility ( i.e.DBW TFM,) so any help greatly appreciated ( and of course I'd like to be ready for the Jet Age when its available.) :-X
Logged

Whiskey_Sierra_972

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5453
  • In memory of my beloved hero: Saburo SAKAI!
Re: ***How to Utilise IL-2 Selector.exe v3.1.1- Properly***
« Reply #44 on: August 12, 2013, 01:34:21 PM »

Post your il2.exe ini and a screenshoots of the SCW mods folder please....
Logged

dietz

  • Supporter
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 770
  • " Keep watching the skies...."
    • Art of James Dietz
Re: ***How to Utilise IL-2 Selector.exe v3.1.1- Properly***
« Reply #45 on: August 12, 2013, 01:41:41 PM »

Here you go:
Code: [Select]
; Modtype setting. Set the number of different Mod Types here.
[Modtypes]
Types=6

; Mod Type No.1 (Zero-based Index = 0).
; Set short Name, Help text, Files folder name and Mods folder name.
[Modtype_00]
Name=Stock Game
Help=Unmodded, untouched 'stock' game version.
Files=none
Mods=none

; Mod Type No.2 (Zero-based Index = 1).
[Modtype_01]
Name=The First World War
Help=Dark Blue World 1916 by VPMedia, '#DBW_1916'
Files=none
Mods=#DBW_1916

; Mod Type No.3 (Zero-based Index = 2).
[Modtype_02]
Name=The Spanish Civil War
Help=The Spanish Civil War by Poltava, '#SCW'
Files=none
Mods=#SCW

; Mod Type No.4 (Zero-based Index = 3).
[Modtype_03]
Name=WWII to Korea New-TFM
Help=Dark Blue World + The Full Monty, '#DBW'
Files=none
Mods=#DBW

; Mod Type No.5 (Zero-based Index = 4).
[Modtype_04]
Name=The Cold War and the Jet Age
Help=Vietnam and beyond by SAS~Monty27, '#JTW'
Files=none
Mods=#JTW

; Startup Settings for the SAS / UltraPack IL-2 1946 Game Launcher
[Settings]

; Mod Type Setting:
;
; 0 = No Mods, Stock IL-2 1946 Server
; 1 = "Classic" Mod Style, i.e. modded files reside in "FILES" and "MODS" folder
; 2 = Dark Blue World 1916 Modded game, i.e. modded files reside in "#DBW_1916"
; 3 = Spanish Civil War Modded game, i.e. modded files reside in "#SCW" folder
; 4 = Dark Blue World Modded game, i.e. modded files reside in "#DBW" folder
; 5 = The Jet Age Modded game, i.e. modded files reside in "#JTW" folder
; 6 = Version 4.12 Modded game, i.e. modded files reside in "#SAS" folder
;
; default setting: 0
ModType=3

; Ram Size Setting in Megabytes.
; Be careful not to select too big size here.
; Above 512MB is risky.
; Above 1024MB is critical.
; Above 1800MB will most likely cause startup errors.
;
; default setting: 512
RamSize=512

; Expert Mode Setting
; With Expert Mode enabled, the selector offers more setting options than
; than with default setting
;
; default setting: 0 (Expert Mode disabled)
ExpertMode=1

; Memory Strategy setting
; This setting affects the way memory is being allocated for the Java
; virtual Machine. Balanced means that memory will be allocated in a
; balanced manner for heap, stack and objects.
; Heap only is the "old fashioned" way of binary edited il2fb.exe files
; where only the heap memory size is getting increased while all other
; memory areas remain untouched.
; Conservative is a setting right between Balanced and Heap only.
;
; default setting: 0 (Balanced Mode)
MemoryStrategy=0

; Cached File Lists setting
; When this setting is enabled, IL-2 on startup does not scan the modded files
; folder anymore, but uses a filelist cache file for this folder if it exists.
; The filename for this cache file is "~wrapper.cache".
; Every time when you change something inside your modded files folder, you
; have to wipe this file for the game to recreate it with updated contents.
;
; default setting: 0 (Cached File Lists disabled)
UseCachedFileLists=0

; Multiple Instances setting
; Usually you can run only one single IL-2 instance at a time.
; When you enable this setting, you can run IL-2 multiple times in parallel.
; This is particularly useful for developing and debugging tasks.
;
; default setting: 0 (Multiple Instances disabled)
MultipleInstances=0

; Exit With IL-2 setting
; When enabled, IL-2 selector will quit when you exit the game.
; When disabled, you'll get back to the selector when you exit the game, in
; case you started it through the selector.
;
; default setting: 0 (Exit With IL-2 disabled)
ExitWithIL2=0

; The following section holds additional parameters for the JVM,
; one parameter per line. Check Java 2 SE documents for applicable parameters.
[JVM]



( I just know I haven't done something right in the selector...even tho I tried several times & now back at default...)
Logged

Whiskey_Sierra_972

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5453
  • In memory of my beloved hero: Saburo SAKAI!
Re: ***How to Utilise IL-2 Selector.exe v3.1.1- Properly***
« Reply #46 on: August 12, 2013, 03:08:36 PM »

If in the root/#SCW/#DBW the path continue with /some mods name/3do or classfiles , maybe you have the #DBW folder a level too low and so the game don't recognize the mods inside , thus the error....
Logged

Griffon_301

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1567
Re: ***How to Utilise IL-2 Selector.exe v3.1.1- Properly***
« Reply #47 on: August 12, 2013, 03:14:07 PM »

thats easy Dietz!

If you are not interested in SCW at all, simply remove it from the Selector;

change this

[Modtypes]
Types=6

to type=5

and delete these ones:

; 3 = Spanish Civil War Modded game, i.e. modded files reside in "#SCW" folder
; 6 = Version 4.12 Modded game, i.e. modded files reside in "#SAS" folder

do not forget to renumber the remaining choices though in the respective menues, everything should work then;
I made that renumbering mistake myself when switching to the new Selector :)
after changing these values, my Selector works like a charm

of course you can remove DBW_1916 as well if you do not use it;
thats the beauty of this selector thingie! makes adding modded content easy as long as you stay on the same game version...

oh and of course DBW will not work with 4.11 :)
and as Walter pointed out, there should not be a #DBW folder inside the #SCW folder;
its #DBW/mod folders and #SCW/mod folders...
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.015 seconds with 26 queries.