Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Down

Author Topic: WWI The Somme retexured in 2048 HD and 1024  (Read 9023 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

crazyeddie

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 425
Re: WWI The Somme retexured in 2048 HD and 1024
« Reply #12 on: May 19, 2013, 09:07:28 AM »

Boomer

Love both your WW1 Maps, they are exactly what we needed.

Cheeky request, the actors.static is HUGE and my ancient system is creaking at the seams running it, could you do one that covers the area shown only, I rarely fly outside of this:

Logged

SAS~Boomer

  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 814
Re: WWI The Somme retexured in 2048 HD and 1024
« Reply #13 on: May 20, 2013, 09:16:33 AM »

Hi Eddie

The Somme is actually a small map made ,that I cut out of the center of the Western Front map
it can be done,but is a bit of a chore to do

not sure if I would have time to create an even smaller map of the Somme
maybe some time when I don't have so much on my plate

Object count only effects load time of the map,it does not effect fps
so as long as you can load the map in FMB,then it works for you
as for the length of time it takes to load,you just need to be patient

only the amount of objects in your view will effect fps
and the amount of different objects,the more objects there are,and or the more different objects there are... the harder it is on fps

You yourself could open Unlocked,and start deleting buildings in and around the city's
that would improve fps for you  :)

delete whole citys and villages outside your flight zones to improve loading time  ;)

I'm not sure what you mean,by an older Pc
other than you do say"running it"
so I suggest unlocked and delete buildings so it still looks good for you,and plays better eventually for you

cracking the actors into a text file you could edit out huge amounts of objects editing them out in the text file
then compile a new actors.static

The actors management tool is extremely easy to use
and unlocked FMB is the same,easy to use

There is a lot of info out there on how to do anything in unlocked
so feel free to modify the map to your system

Sorry I don't have time to create another map for you
maybe someday I'll be able to take a look at this,but for now I am much to busy with what I have on the go at the moment

Cheers
Logged

crazyeddie

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 425
Re: WWI The Somme retexured in 2048 HD and 1024
« Reply #14 on: May 20, 2013, 02:14:44 PM »

Cheers mate - I use unlocked FMB now but my rig stops working when I try to open your map and I am assuming it is something to do with the size of the actors.static. I will have a go at what you suggest - thanks for pointing me in the right direction.

Great maps, well done.
Logged

SAS~Boomer

  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 814
Re: WWI The Somme retexured in 2048 HD and 1024
« Reply #15 on: May 20, 2013, 02:26:21 PM »

Oh,it could be too large for Unlocked
just noticed that

you would need to use the actors cut/shift tool then
to split the actors up into smaller actors to work on the map
however small you need them to be,you could split them into 4 actors for a actor for each corner quadrant
or into 8 or 10 actors if needed

then work on each actor in unlocked,when finished working on all actors
extract them and recompile together to create a full actors for the full mission builder
may sound complicated,but I wrote a tutorial on how to do it so it is relatively easy to do

you may only need to split the actors into two,around 3 mb each

Logged

crazyeddie

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 425
Re: WWI The Somme retexured in 2048 HD and 1024
« Reply #16 on: May 20, 2013, 03:37:10 PM »

Cheers again mate, I thought that might be the problem.  Never tried the tools, time I got around to learning how they work.

I will download them and get to work, thanks again, your advice has been extremely helpful and I am very grateful to you for taking the time to tell me.

You guys make this site what it is.
Logged

SAS~Boomer

  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 814
Re: WWI The Somme retexured in 2048 HD and 1024
« Reply #17 on: May 20, 2013, 07:12:05 PM »

You need help along the way,just let me know
if you get the hang of the cut/shift tool I could help you cut the population out of the Somme for the area you want  ;)

Then,I could help you out with cutting the map .tga's down
once that is done you would have a new map  :D

I could cut the smaller map in Gimp and cut the actors
in an afternoon with follow up that night to clean it up
6 to 8 hours or so

I know the tools and process though,but when finished it is a complete map just smaller,
and done in a day  ;)

See how you make out,I'm around if you need any help  :)



Logged

crazyeddie

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 425
Re: WWI The Somme retexured in 2048 HD and 1024
« Reply #18 on: May 31, 2013, 03:58:45 PM »

Boomer

I cannot work any of this stuff out, I have all the tools and I have read the various instructions but I'm damned if I can get anything to run in respect of the actors.static files.  I have .jar exe file that does nothing, no matter where I put it or how I set it up.

All I want to do is reduce the actors.static for your Somme map to include objects within the areas I show above, deleting everything else outside of that. I don't want to change the map size or anything else, just reduce the objects in the actors.static so that I can work within the area I show.

Where is your crib on how to do that, I have found dozens of notes from various authors but nothing that really helps me get started.

Eddie

Where is your
Logged

SAS~Boomer

  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 814
Re: WWI The Somme retexured in 2048 HD and 1024
« Reply #19 on: May 31, 2013, 05:06:38 PM »

Hi Eddie

here's the map tools,most of the links I am hosting on this page>
http://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,33463.0.html

My actors tutorial is from when I was EasyRider over at AAA>
EasyRider's actors tutorial
http://www.mediafire.com/?2cmuma6ymmee85g

You'll need the actors cut/shift tool>
Actors Cut/Shift tool by LSA
http://www.mediafire.com/?itmdkldzdzn

This tool from Zuti
you can also filter objects out of an actors.static or replace objects for other objects
for extracting,and compiling actors>
"Actors Management Tool" by Zuti
http://www.mediafire.com/?gyewm4en23t

Grab my map editng kit, to get the jsgmemod folder for the "Unlocked FMB" switching Mod I made
extract to jsgmemods and use the JSGME to switch it on and off>
http://ultrapack.tuttovola.org/index.php/topic,1977.0.html

I would also grab the old version of Gimp,much better than there newer version IMHO
At least I could help you with the older version of Gimp as I do not have the newer version do to them changing to much

Gimp 2.0.7. (older version,I like it better than the newer versions)
http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?3ei6awmr1rawsyl

If you want to cut the map down or a chunk out of it keep these measurements in mind>
100% .tga : my_mapc.tga
50% .tga : ed_m01.tga
25% .tga : ed_m02.tga / map_h.tga / map_t.tga / map_f.tga / ed_map_t.tga

You would need the map C toolbox
dissaesmble the map_c.tga to create a new My_Map_c.tga
then cut a section out that you want
create cut outs of the other files to match the same area pixel prefect with each other

Also the sides of the map's .tga files
all need to be in multiples of 32 for the game to use the .tga's correctly

once you cut a smaller map,then you could use the actors cut/shift tool to cut just the population out of the area you want your smaller map to be
if you did that,you most likely could just open the smaller map in Unlocked and work on it with no need for multiple actors.statics

Give that a shot and let me know how you make out  :)



Logged

crazyeddie

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 425
Re: WWI The Somme retexured in 2048 HD and 1024
« Reply #20 on: June 01, 2013, 01:32:00 AM »

Cheers mate

Thanks again.
Logged

SAS~Boomer

  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 814
Re: WWI The Somme retexured in 2048 HD and 1024
« Reply #21 on: June 01, 2013, 06:40:20 PM »

Cool Eddie

download what you need and get set up and comfortable with the tools and terminology
Then if needed, I can walk you through a few steps where you need a hand to complete what you want to do   :)

I'm sure others would be interested in the smaller map you create  ;)
Logged

max_thehitman

  • SAS~Area51
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8990
  • Beer...Girls...IL2+Mods!
Re: WWI The Somme retexured in 2048 HD and 1024
« Reply #22 on: June 01, 2013, 07:26:14 PM »


Thanks Boomer for the tips and tutorials. Your a great teacher.
I am very interested in that part of changing a little bit the Actors.ini to place objects around
the maps. I would like to place more historical looking objects and create action scenes where the battles took place on my maps. So far I do not have any problems with ftps when I fly over
cities or places with hundreds of objects.
I really like the quick-missions VPmedia created for you first Somme (1024) map. When you fly
close to the ground you see so many interesting things. Tanks with dust moving around, soldiers
shooting and bombing each other. Its like flying over a real WW1 battlefront.
Logged
Everything I like is either illegal, immoral or fattening ! Welcome to SAS1946

SkyWalker2

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
Re: WWI The Somme retexured in 2048 HD and 1024
« Reply #23 on: August 23, 2013, 11:39:22 AM »

Hi guys!

I tried to install the Western Front and the Somme HD textures. But unfortunately I get an error

"Mission loading failed: landscape 'WWI_Somme/WWI_load.ini' loading error"

What did i wrong.

Cheers
Sky
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.014 seconds with 26 queries.