Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Aircraft templates in IL2, technical questions  (Read 6167 times)

BIOSURGE

• WOLVERINE
  • WISH I WAS AT 65000 FEET IN A JET
Aircraft templates in IL2, technical questions
« on: January 29, 2013, 01:28:09 AM »

I am not a programmer nor am I adept at the drawing and painting of the aircraft in the IL2 series of flight sims. I have a nagging, at least to me, question about the ability of the programming to make sense of the template and turn it into a viable and very nice looking aircraft. I hope what I am asking to explain   makes sense to whomever reads this posting.
The aircraft templates are in a seemingly chaotic from of 2d representation that is later painted, or colorized by very talented individual(s). I am at a loss as to the method that is used to turn the 2d representation of the aircraft into a 3d flying simulation. My other question is how does one make a template to begin with. What program is used to make the line drawing of the various aircraft and then what is used to color the aircraft for the finished and usable form of sim. Thank you in advance for your help and kind attention to my lack of knowledge.
JOE "BIOSURGE" WOLFGANG MOZART

Verhängnis

• Unofficial Heinkel Fan
  • Modder
Re: Aircraft templates in IL2, technical questions
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2013, 02:33:24 AM »

The aircraft are 3d models, with 2d planform textures applied to them. A template as referred to in skinning is just a layered image document in a format like .psd which can be rapidly use by the less crafty of us to create amazing paintschemes.

I don't know where you fostered the idea that the models in the sim were created from a flat 2d texture. ???

vpmedia

• Modder
  • www.vpmedia.hu/il2
    • VPMEDIA SKINS
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2013, 03:53:20 AM »