Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How to customize your Air.ini  (Read 16560 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SAS~CirX

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4802
  • No Zips, Only Buttons
How to customize your Air.ini
« on: July 16, 2009, 03:22:54 AM »

Hi! 

If you want your list of planes to look like this, here is how...


 
So, you have every available flyable aircraft under the sun. Now find one quickly in your list of planes in QMB. Hard isnt it?

When you use automatic installers from AAA, your air ini will also get alphabetized, which helps a bit, if you are a librarian. Over here we do manual installations.

So, how to organize your aircraft so it MAKES SENSE and is easier to find.

Well, look no further, here is you introduction to working with the air.ini file:

Where is this air.ini file?

air.ini is found in your mods folder. It's adres is exactly:
..\IL-2 Sturmovik 1946\MODS\STD\com\maddox\il2\objects\air.ini

There may be other air.ini files in your game folder, but this is the one you want.

What does air.ini do?

the air.ini file in your mods folder in used by your computer to know which planes and new mod planes to load at startup. So, if you remove an entry from your air ini file, that plane will simply not load and be available.Similarily, if you have a plane listed in your air- ini that is not in your game or your mods folder, your game will not load, and you will have the famous 60% crash.

I used an auto installer, and now my air ini is alphpabetical, no longer devided into Allied/Axis, how do I get it back the way it was?

You dont. If you let auto installers install planes for you , you will have to live with it, and dont bother reading this thread any further.

Can I put planes in any order in my air.ini?

Yes, just copy the entire line to somewhere else in the air.ini. A complete line looks like this:


Bf-109G-6 air.BF_109G6 2 g01 SUMMER

Can I disable a plane in air ini WITHOUT deleting the entry ?( so I can easily enable it again later)

Yes, you simple put "//" in front of the line, for example:

//Bf-109G-6 air.BF_109G6 2 g01 SUMMER



Can I have more than one entry in air in for the SAME PLANE?

Yes, it will simply then show that plane twice in you list of planes in QMB.

So I can organize my air ini in any way I want, right?

Yup, you can have a list of all pink planes followed by all japanese 7 wheelers folowed by all Russian Transformers if you like. Whatever order you put it is, you can do, but then YOU CANNOT USE AUTOINSTALLERS.

But then I will have to learn do do manual installs?

Welcome to the real world.

Can I leave spaces between plane entries in the air ini then, to make it easy for me to find places and types and stuff when I add planes and so on?

Yes, you can leave spaces. The game wont see them.

OK, so I have put my planes in an order that I like, but still, when I look in QMB, its just one long list, I get lost in it.

You can fool the IL2 aircraft lister into giving you headings and divided groups in QMB lists
by telling it to load a known plane, but calling it something else. In the example air-ini in the download link, I have structured my air ini into roughly country segments, with DUPLICATE entries of planes I use a lot in QMB at the top of the list.

Then I used an entry for the A6M2 to create divisions. Dont worry, my A6M2 is still availbale at its entry in the Japan list. The result looks like the picture. Forther down this post you will read about why this zero I am using will have it's name missing in certain sections, and how to fix this.

Use this EXAMPLE as a guide to customising your air-ini in a way that makes sense to you:

DONT use this example as a replacement for your air ini. It is tailored to my game, and contains some of my experimental WIP planes, so it wont work for you. It is just an example.

DOWNLOAD: http://storebror.it.cx/sas/archive/sasdl/WIP/tipstrix/example_of_neat_air.ini

EDIT/NOTE: The Names of your Divisions (your nations ot whatever you call the headings) cannot contain spaces.

Also, In the choose paint/arming section of QMB, the list will not contain your headings anymore, but just single * s, this is normal, However, if you used the A6M2, like I did , IT TOO will appear in that section only as a * .You can either live with this small glitch, or you can , instead of the A6M2, use some other new slot plane that you dont really use or dont want, but is installed in your game ,and that is not entered anywhere else in your air ini. I have in the meantime swapped out the A6M2 for one of Muas'es New slot experimental G2 s

eg:

* air.BF_109G2Late 2 NOINFO g01 SUMMER
********************GERMANY air.BF_109G2Late 2 NOINFO g01 SUMMER
**************************************** air.BF_109G2Late 2 NOINFO g01 SUMMER
* air.BF_109G2Late 2 NOINFO g01 SUMMER

.

Happy playing with your air.ini file...but remember

MAKE BACKUPS BEFORE YOU CHANGE STUFF!

This is cool! But will this list be the same in FMB and AI planes too?
Yes

Cheers
Cirx
Logged

Fryslanboy

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
  • Royal Netherlands Navy Submarine Service
Re: How to customize your Air.ini
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2009, 02:26:34 PM »

How do you get the Weapons to Wapen, I'm Dutch myself, and would like to have it in Dutch too :)

Cheer!!
Logged

SAS~CirX

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4802
  • No Zips, Only Buttons
Re: How to customize your Air.ini
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2009, 02:44:20 PM »

haha, jy het dit gesien!

Ek is Afrikaans. van Wyk de Vries is nogals my van! Voorvaders ook van Frylaan af.

I am toying with translating IL2 to afrikaans. This is the page for the gui. It goes into
IL-2 409\MODS\STD\i18n\

or the files version of that.

Make a backup of your old one!

I dont remember, but I may have been crude with some things, so ,take care! :D

(Attachement below)
Logged

Fryslanboy

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
  • Royal Netherlands Navy Submarine Service
Re: How to customize your Air.ini
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2009, 02:52:37 PM »

Hee, dankje, het is leuk om Il2 in het Nederlands te hebben ;D
Logged

SAS~Malone

  • flying as #46 with the FAC
  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14423
  • proud member of that 'other' site
Re: How to customize your Air.ini
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2009, 03:54:25 PM »

ja, ek sien dit gaan heel lekker hier met almal!  ;D ;D
 ;D
Logged
.....taking fun seriously since 1968.....  8)

cartfather229

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 73
Re: How to customize your Air.ini
« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2011, 09:50:50 PM »

How do I save the files once I've added the new entries?
Logged

cartfather229

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 73
Re: How to customize your Air.ini
« Reply #6 on: April 26, 2011, 09:07:50 AM »

Got it... thanks dude!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.013 seconds with 27 queries.