Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 ... 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 ... 31   Go Down

Author Topic: DBW Current Build All Bug Reports  (Read 102189 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Gumpy

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1649
Re: DBW Current Build All Bug Reports
« Reply #144 on: September 02, 2011, 11:08:23 PM »

Gumpy I tried my I-16's all start for me. Bld 1.6, dont know what gives! :(
After further investigation I find this bug only happens to my I-16's when I have USSR chosen and I'm trying to take off from the Western Front map summer or winter doesn't matter.If I change to blue and chose Luftwaffe they all start.Very strange.
Logged

brat

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
Re: DBW Current Build All Bug Reports
« Reply #145 on: September 04, 2011, 03:26:52 AM »

Parts of buildings floating in the air on the Europe_Channel Battles map Just south of "Chain Home Dover"(in yellow) at 1300 feet.
Logged

Plowshare

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 634
Re: DBW Current Build All Bug Reports
« Reply #146 on: September 04, 2011, 05:51:00 AM »

Hi all:


That WoI error is one missing object:
House: Section House$VehicleOpelBlitz6700A not found

To fix add into your static.ini:

[buildings.House$VehicleOpelBlitz6700A]
Title           OpelBlitz6700A
MeshLive        3do/Cars/OpelBlitz6700A_summer/live.sim
MeshDead        3do/Cars/OpelBlitz6700A_summer/dead.sim
AlignToLand     1
Body            FuelSmall      // FIXME: need special type 'Vehicle'
Panzer          0.005


To get your Battle of France maps to load just change their lines in all.ini to:
ash_Battle_Of_France_1940   BoF/ash_load.ini
ash_Batl.OfFra.40_Online   BoF/ash_Oload.ini

Did this and now have the BoF maps but now, when loading the WoI map, I get CTD after a few seconds. I remarked out the OpelBlitz but the map still CTD. I never used this map before so the problem probably existed from the beginning.

Bob
Logged

Whiskey_Sierra_972

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5548
  • In memory of my beloved hero: Saburo SAKAI!
Re: DBW Current Build All Bug Reports
« Reply #147 on: September 04, 2011, 07:55:29 AM »

Dear Plowshare!

I got the same CTD with WoI!

A solution that was told me is to enable stc texture compression!

I haven't yet test it but you may have more time than me!

Keep the object enabled anyway!

All the best!

walter
Logged

OberstDanjeje

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1392
Re: DBW Current Build All Bug Reports
« Reply #148 on: September 04, 2011, 11:08:59 AM »

I'm using WOI in DBW1.6 without issue
Logged

Plowshare

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 634
Re: DBW Current Build All Bug Reports
« Reply #149 on: September 05, 2011, 05:06:55 AM »

Walter:

That did the trick! Thanks.

OberstDanjeje:

I have build 1.5 for the moment. Look in your conf.ini and check to see if the following lines look like this:

TexCompress=2
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=1

If they are you already have s3tc compression on. If they both "=0" then build 1.6 may have fixed the problem and I can go back and take off the texcompress (which I would really like to do). Let me know either way would you?

Thanks

Bob
Logged

OberstDanjeje

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1392
Re: DBW Current Build All Bug Reports
« Reply #150 on: September 05, 2011, 06:57:57 AM »

If you use 512MB memory in the selector you should solve the problem.
If you solved the issue with TexCompress=2 the issue is with your system and not with DBW.
Anyway without s3tc compression on I can't play with WOI, russian paratrooper error, even if I select 512MB in the selctor.
Remember that some maps are quite heavy, WOI too.
The trick to use TexCompress=2 was found when the final Cannon Chanel maps come out and many had the paratrooper issue, me too.
Logged

Birdman

  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1620
Re: DBW Current Build All Bug Reports
« Reply #151 on: September 05, 2011, 03:35:52 PM »

It looks like that with WOI map we're again pushing the boundaries just like we did with original CAN_Channel before.

Let me share some tricks that might give you enough memory to enjoy WOI and other heavy maps:

- Try to enable 4 GB address space in selector settings. For me that is all that was needed to get rid of paratrooper errors or other errors with heavy maps, and I think all others with 64bit Windows, at least 4 GB RAM and nVidia GPU should also get rid of these issues with this trick (I haven't tested with ATI/AMD GPU, so you can try it). For others with more than 2 GB RAM it is also worth trying and if it works OK you'll get enough memory available also for the heaviest maps.

- Lower RAM usage setting in selector might help when loading heavy maps. I really mean lower setting here since that selected amount of memory is reserved for Java objects, and large textures of heavy maps should fit outside that memory. If you can get 4 GB address space for IL-2, then using 1 GB of it for Java is not a problem, but even 512 MB may be too much Java memory for loading large maps when you are limited to that standard 2 GB for IL-2.

- Texture compression helps for sure if you are ready to play with lower texture quality since it makes textures use less memory. For weaker PCs with less than 2 GB RAM this is the only easy option to enjoy those heavy maps. You can also consider enabling texture compression if you can load the map but are suffering severe stuttering while flying because of too small graphics memory for all needed textures. First two options won't help with stutters caused by too small graphics memory, but texture compression will help a lot.

- If you have money, you can get more RAM now that it's pretty inexpensive. Also a GPU with 1 GB graphics memory can help a lot if you have 512 MB or less currently, suffer from stutters without texture compression and can upgrade. Less RAM may be needed for loading heavy maps when graphics memory is large enough for textures.

- If you have time and want to use heavy maps on weaker PC without texture compression (or with texture compression on a very old PC barely capable of running IL-2 at all), you can always extract textures with sfs extractor, find the right textures in load.ini and downscale them with Photoshop, GIMP or other suitable program. You can then make a lower resolution texture mod and also share it for others with weaker PCs.

- If you are getting crashes while loading maps, in flight or when taking screenshots instead of paratrooper error, then check how many planes you have installed in your #DBW folder. If you have many planes installed, you may be running out of Java memory instead (not the total Java memory in selector settings but a certain part reserved for permanent objects that you currently can't adjust). When you are just at the limit (you use the maximum number of planes you can have without CTD at 70% loading or crashes in simple missions), you may run out of Java memory with a complex mission on a heavy map although your Il-2 seems to work OK otherwise. For that situation the fix is to disable some planes you have installed (at least comment their lines in air.ini by adding // in the beginning of them). You can always test with clean #DBW folder that just has files of DBW pack and your favorite JSGME options to check whether the issue is caused by a heavy map in DBW or your additional mods. Note that none of the previous tricks helps with Java memory limit, the only way to avoid it currently is to keep number of additional planes small enough. Other reason to keep number of additional planes small enough is that too many planes may cause FPS drop even below Java memory limit. In future DBW builds some planes will be merged and some made optional to allow installing more additional planes without these issues.

I hope these tricks can help you to get stable IL-2 and enjoy all content available in DBW.
Logged

santobr

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1349
  • Senta a Pua!
    • F
Re: DBW Current Build All Bug Reports
« Reply #152 on: September 05, 2011, 04:31:13 PM »

I have 2GB of RAM and 256MB of GPU RAM. :)
I run IL-2 with maximum settings, without texture compression.
My settings for IL-2 selector are 512MB and 4GB of address space.
I have low FPS, sometimes 8 FPS, but it runs without stutters, freezes or CTD.
The low FPS are related to my GPU, FPS are not related to RAM in this case.
Perhaps there is something wrong in conf.ini or OS, for people that are having problems with IL-2. :-\



santobr.
Logged

LuseKofte

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6906
Re: DBW Current Build All Bug Reports
« Reply #153 on: September 06, 2011, 01:16:51 AM »

All tho the woi map workes for me , The 4 GB adress Space is greyed out and cant be used on my selector (DBW 1,6)
Logged

Kazegami

  • target
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 725
  • Everyone is dumb, but some are dumber than others
Re: DBW Current Build All Bug Reports
« Reply #154 on: September 06, 2011, 07:30:10 PM »

All tho the woi map workes for me , The 4 GB adress Space is greyed out and cant be used on my selector (DBW 1,6)

Enable "Expert Mode."
Logged
DFTBA

Ribs

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 197
Re: DBW Current Build All Bug Reports
« Reply #155 on: September 06, 2011, 08:20:58 PM »

Found the same "Russian paratroopers ......" error on WoI. I solved it by lowering Ram to 256 in the selector and leaving S3TC off. FYI on my core specs: GTX 460 1GB , E8400 OCed to 3.0mhz , XP Pro , 4GB Ram ( only 2.75 GB utilized due to XP). Hope this helps.

Ribs
Logged
I've spent most of my money on Whiskey and Women. The rest I just wasted.
Pages: 1 ... 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 ... 31   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.711 seconds with 25 queries.