Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down

Author Topic: Raised Objects For Use On CanonUK's Jetties In UP  (Read 7147 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Kopfdorfer

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1537
  • Potez 63.11 France's most significant AC in 1940
Re: Raised Objects For Use On CanonUK's Jetties In UP
« Reply #12 on: June 17, 2011, 12:11:30 PM »

If this is off topic too much please delete, but further to what Boomer suggested, isn't it possible that a height selection parameter could be  made part of the FMB menu?
This would save a significant amount of space in the file, as well as allowing a number more combinations and permutations in building and object placement and combination. Any object could be paced at any height (at least as dictated by whatever code was written.
Is there any reason (technical - not motivational) why this could not be done?

Sincerely

Kopfdorfer
Logged

Whiskey_Sierra_972

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5453
  • In memory of my beloved hero: Saburo SAKAI!
Re: Raised Objects For Use On CanonUK's Jetties In UP
« Reply #13 on: June 17, 2011, 01:16:38 PM »

If this is off topic too much please delete, but further to what Boomer suggested, isn't it possible that a height selection parameter could be  made part of the FMB menu?
This would save a significant amount of space in the file, as well as allowing a number more combinations and permutations in building and object placement and combination. Any object could be paced at any height (at least as dictated by whatever code was written.
Is there any reason (technical - not motivational) why this could not be done?

Sincerely

Kopfdorfer

Or better: enable all object to be raised like happen for the light by press a function key holding the right mouse buttons and move it!!
Logged

spdr109

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
Re: Raised Objects For Use On CanonUK's Jetties In UP
« Reply #14 on: June 17, 2011, 03:47:36 PM »

I understand about cloning but if the objects are reskinned do I need a 3do folder to hold the objects' new textures?
Logged

spdr109

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
Re: Raised Objects For Use On CanonUK's Jetties In UP
« Reply #15 on: June 17, 2011, 05:15:08 PM »

I apologize to the community for my lack of experience but when I created this
mod I believed I was following a demonstrated precedent.

Take for example these 4 identical, yet differently skinned, objects.



Now note their corresponding entries in the static.ini file. See how each object
has it's own separate 3do folder? If you were to extract these folders from the sfs
files you would see that each folder contains all the relevant mat, mesh, and tga(skin)
files for each (identical) object.


[buildings.House$Abri_bois]
Title           Abri_bois
MeshLive        3do/Buildings/Norway/Abri_bois/live.sim
MeshDead        3do/Buildings/Norway/Abri_bois/dead.sim
AlignToLand     0
Body            WoodMiddle
Panzer          0.1

[buildings.House$LuftWood]
Title           Luft_Wood
MeshLive        3do/Buildings/Norway/Luft_Wood/live.sim
MeshDead        3do/Buildings/Norway/Luft_Wood/dead.sim
AlignToLand     0
Body            WoodMiddle
Panzer          0.1

[buildings.House$Abri_boisC]
Title           Abri_boisC
MeshLive        3do/Buildings/Norway/Abri_boisC/live.sim
MeshDead        3do/Buildings/Norway/Abri_boisC/dead.sim
AlignToLand     0
Body            WoodMiddle
Panzer          0.1

[buildings.House$LuftNetted]
Title           Luft_Netted
MeshLive        3do/Buildings/Norway/Luft_Netted/live.sim
MeshDead        3do/Buildings/Norway/airshelter_01/dead.sim
AlignToLand     0
Body            WoodMiddle
Panzer          0.1

I structured this mod based on what I have seen elsewhere in IL-2.

Quote
If an object is reskinned,the new textures are already in the game
so no,you would not need the reskinned textures unless you yourself were reskinning some textures

You do not need anything except the static.ini to clone and create copy's of an object in the static.ini

Some of the objects have indeed been reskinned. Nothing major. Just a little desaturating or slight recoloring.
Some of the objects appeared to look too "new".

My reasoning behind having separate 3do folders is that by having
the folders in their own location, they will still function as the different
mod-packs may have different static.ini files or different 3do folder
structures. While my method may be overkill it should also be relatively
bulletproof.

Also, the way I have it arranged makes it very easy to use the unlocked FMB
to edit maps. All the raised objects are under one heading and are very easy
to find.

I guess the decisions about how to set up this small mod reflect my own usage
patterns of IL-2.

I hope this helps to explain the reasoning behind why I did things the way I did.

spdr
Logged

spdr109

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
Re: Raised Objects For Use On CanonUK's Jetties In UP
« Reply #16 on: June 17, 2011, 09:06:52 PM »

Here is something that I am currently working on.

Over time, various repaints of the port objects have made their way into UP.




Problem is, they really don't function very well together.




So... I came up with this.




These work quite nicely together.




Now let us open this up for discussion and decide how the community wants me
to structure this for release.

This is just one item of a group of objects that I am repainting to look good in northern
temperate settings. The objects I am working on are a little too bright, too new looking or
just a bit “out of place” looking imho.

I figure that we have several options available to us.

I can use the new skins and create a JSGME mod to switch the new skins on when you
want them. This would be the simplest method to install but may be cumbersome to
use if a player flies on many different maps.

Or...

I can do as I did with the raised objects and create “new” objects with new names. This
method would add a new group of 3do files and require new entries to the static.ini. This
would be the most comprehensive method and would provide users with the most possible
information. More experienced users could strip this down, using only the bits that they need.
This would also allow mapmakers to add these repainted objects to their maps as long
these objects were installed with the new maps,

Or...

I could provide both methods in the download and let each user mess about with all the
files in any way they choose.

I am sure that there are other methods unknown to me.

Let me know what you think.

spdr


Logged

fabianfred

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 159
Re: Raised Objects For Use On CanonUK's Jetties In UP
« Reply #17 on: June 18, 2011, 02:29:55 PM »

....and with your sandbags and any similar objects there boomer... you can remove the shadow by adding the line
IGNORE SHADOW DATA
Logged

Kopfdorfer

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1537
  • Potez 63.11 France's most significant AC in 1940
Re: Raised Objects For Use On CanonUK's Jetties In UP
« Reply #18 on: June 19, 2011, 11:06:02 AM »

I am not a modder, but this is an interesting discussion.
I have always thought it would make sense to have all objects (or by modders at least all objects which modders wish to have with different appearances) to have skin files like aircraft. This would seriously cut down the actual number of objects in the file, while allowing a great breadth of mission and campaign application for Mission Designers and Campaign Designers.

Also, it seems to me that although initially it might be problematic, if some enterprising codester were to come up with an application addition to FMB that would allow variable elevation for object placement within the FMB menu, it would make a great deal more sense than having a new object for each elevation required.


I have made similar statements before so now I'll zip it.

Good discussion.

Kopfdorfer
Logged

Sharkzz

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 396
Re: Raised Objects For Use On CanonUK's Jetties In UP
« Reply #19 on: July 08, 2011, 11:59:41 PM »

WAY COOL ! thanks !
NOW can we get some AAA guns and other arty to sit in thoses damnable concretey objects that they disapere into ? please?  sweeet
Logged
New Right Arm Amputee, One armed flyer and Longboard surfer, I now swim and paddle in circles .

SAS~Malone

  • flying as #46 with the FAC
  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14564
  • proud member of that 'other' site
Re: Raised Objects For Use On CanonUK's Jetties In UP
« Reply #20 on: July 09, 2011, 02:22:55 AM »

and a belated 'very cool!' from me, as well.... 8) ;D
very useful, thanks!  :)
Logged
.....taking fun seriously since 1968.....  8)

SAS~GJE52

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4730
Re: Raised Objects For Use On CanonUK's Jetties In UP
« Reply #21 on: July 09, 2011, 09:40:28 AM »

Excellent subject for a tutorial post here IMHO  ;) This type of eye candy stuff really enhances the mission building possibilities, increases immersion and greatly improves the "playing experience". (which is why we mod in the first place .... isn't it  :D )

Big thank you from me guys    :-*

G
Logged
"The darkest places in Hell are reserved for those who maintain their neutrality in times of moral crisis"  The Divine Comedy. Dante Alighieri 1265-1321

crazyeddie

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 425
Re: Raised Objects For Use On CanonUK's Jetties In UP
« Reply #22 on: July 09, 2011, 11:36:05 AM »

I like this mod, I have changed some of the objects to suit my game, UK Hangars and the like for warehouses and sheds, but the idea is brilliant, well done that man, take the rest of the day off ...
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.015 seconds with 26 queries.