Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 ... 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13   Go Down

Author Topic: Crimea map retextured, retowned, revillaged  (Read 56318 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Ian Boys

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 60
Re: Crimea map retextured, retowned, revillaged
« Reply #96 on: February 13, 2013, 07:53:17 AM »

These look absolutely wonderful!

Please does anyone know a way to include them in HSFX?
Logged

asheshouse

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3259
Re: Crimea map retextured, retowned, revillaged
« Reply #97 on: February 13, 2013, 08:05:57 AM »

You need to set up a MODS folder in HSFX.

For maps installation (folder names as in my installation).

Create folder like:

c:\Games\IL-2 Sturmovik 1946 - HSFX6\MODS\MapMods

Copy maps folder from root\Files to MapMods
This has the all.ini files which you need to setup new maps - not needed for re-paints

Within c:\Games\IL-2 Sturmovik 1946 - HSFX6\MODS\MapMods\Maps
install folders _Tex and Crimea folder from the maps download

Also, by editing the all.ini, you can change the order and displayed names of maps in the drop down menus.

You need to copy a few more things from root\Files into MODS to get new aircraft, ships etc working in HSFX. For new maps or re-populated maps, you may sometimes find that some objects or _Tex files are missing which prevents missions being saved in FMB. Only solution is to track down the missing ones and get them installed. Ask if any maps don't work.

The way HSFX will work is to load the first copy of any duplicate files it finds. The search order is MODS folder, Files folder, then SFS files. So the original Crimea Map files in the SFS files are not overwritten, just ignored. If you want to revert to clean HSFX just rename MODS to -MODS, then it will not load.

Ashe
Logged

Ian Boys

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 60
Re: Crimea map retextured, retowned, revillaged
« Reply #98 on: February 13, 2013, 12:34:07 PM »

Thank you so much. I suspect some of this may be beyond me but I'll give it a try.
Logged

Ian Boys

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 60
Re: Crimea map retextured, retowned, revillaged
« Reply #99 on: February 13, 2013, 01:10:55 PM »

OK, Crimea is in (after a couple of false starts)!

Thank you so much, it looks really fantastic. Had a quick look around in a jet.
Logged

asheshouse

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3259
Re: Crimea map retextured, retowned, revillaged
« Reply #100 on: February 13, 2013, 01:52:16 PM »

Also highly recommend adding the BumpH files for Crimea textures.
http://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,30876.msg326795.html#msg326795
Logged

Ian Boys

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 60
Re: Crimea map retextured, retowned, revillaged
« Reply #101 on: February 13, 2013, 05:01:45 PM »

Have got all four of these retextured maps in but am a bit worried about Kursk/Prokh for online use as the height values seem different.

But I'm loving them (esp the Kuban!) and I guess I'll have to experiment a bit.
Logged

Aviar

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 180
Re: Crimea map retextured, retowned, revillaged
« Reply #102 on: February 14, 2013, 10:15:47 PM »

In his first post, cyberolas states: "I recommend to fly with Cloudtype=2 and higher"

First of all, I am wondering if he means 'TypeClouds'...? This is how the parameter looks in the config file:

eventlog=eventlog.lst
eventlogkeep=0
SubTitlesLines=0
3dgunners=1
TypeClouds=1 <------------This one??
SkipParatrooperViews=1
ScreenshotType=1
jpgQuality=1.0


If this is indeed the parameter he is talking about, I am confused about his value setting. In all my years of playing IL-2 (stock), I can only recall two TypeClouds settings....0 and 1. '0' was for the 'old' clouds and '1' was for the 'new' clouds.

I've never heard of a '2' setting or even higher, as cyberolas mentions.

Can anyone elaborate on these higher (above 1) TypeClouds settings? Do they really do anything? Is it some sort of mod?

BTW, I'm using HSFX 6.

Aviar
Logged
Intel i7-4790 4-Core @3.60GHz + Asus Z97-C Motherboard + 16GB DDR-3 1600 SDRAM @800 MHz + NVIDIA GTX 760 - 2GB + Creative SB ZX SBX + Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers + 27" AOC LED - 2752 + Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard + CH FighterStick-Pro Throttle-Pro Pedals + Logitech G13 Gameboard + GoFlight GF-T8 Module + WIN 8.1

cyberolas

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 465
Re: Crimea map retextured, retowned, revillaged
« Reply #103 on: February 15, 2013, 09:13:26 AM »

Hi!

  Nonononoo, I thought rewriting .mis files - files for missions and campaigns. Thats it. Sorry for my confusion.
Logged

SAS~Gerax

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4751
Re: Crimea map retextured, retowned, revillaged
« Reply #104 on: February 15, 2013, 10:05:37 AM »

This inside a missions mis file is meant:

Quote
[MAIN]
  MAP ag_Lapland/load_Aut.ini
  TIME 7.0
  CloudType 0
  CloudHeight 1000.0

and this cloud type can be 0 to 6 AFAIK.
when you choose Rain/type in the missions menu
you get CloudType 5 in the mission file.
0 should be clear weather,
1 good, 2 hazy and so on.

Logged

Aviar

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 180
Re: Crimea map retextured, retowned, revillaged
« Reply #105 on: February 15, 2013, 10:25:08 AM »

Thanks a lot guys...I now understand what cyberolas meant. Sorry for the confusion.

Aviar
Logged
Intel i7-4790 4-Core @3.60GHz + Asus Z97-C Motherboard + 16GB DDR-3 1600 SDRAM @800 MHz + NVIDIA GTX 760 - 2GB + Creative SB ZX SBX + Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers + 27" AOC LED - 2752 + Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard + CH FighterStick-Pro Throttle-Pro Pedals + Logitech G13 Gameboard + GoFlight GF-T8 Module + WIN 8.1

agracier

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3048
    • The Great War in a Different Light
Re: Crimea map retextured, retowned, revillaged
« Reply #106 on: February 17, 2013, 02:45:27 AM »


TypeClouds=1 <------------This one??
SkipParatrooperViews=1
ScreenshotType=1
jpgQuality=1.0


This might be a bit to the side of the thread, but I noticed these lines in your conf,ini. I searched and did not find them in my version, so I was wondering what they do?

I suppose some of the lines would appear to be be self-explanatory, but that doesn't mean you will notice anything unless more explanation is given about what you're supposed to see.
Logged

Mick

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4686
Re: Crimea map retextured, retowned, revillaged
« Reply #107 on: February 17, 2013, 03:16:51 AM »

... I believe Aviar gave the right explanation here:

"In all my years of playing IL-2 (stock), I can only recall two TypeClouds settings....0 and 1. '0' was for the 'old' clouds and '1' was for the 'new' clouds."

AFAIK, this setting has no effect nowadays, provided you have a clouds mod in your game ...  ;)
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.074 seconds with 24 queries.