Special Aircraft Service

Battlefield - Airborne - Tactical (BAT) => BAT Tech Help => Topic started by: Tore on August 21, 2021, 04:11:55 PM

Title: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
Post by: Tore on August 21, 2021, 04:11:55 PM
Hi

Recently while looking at some maps I have noticed that a few interesting maps such as Kiev, Lvov, and Kurland still have the IL-2 stock texture. So, I've decided to try to add some of VP retextured maps from VP Modpack to B.A.T. Half of the maps were actually successful such as Balaton and Okinawa, while the other half were not. Some of the maps I've noticed wouldn't even load in the FMB by clicking "play" or would randomly give me an error. I could be probably missing some files but who knows honestly. :-|

The reason I would need help is because I've been desperate on trying to get Kiev, Lvov, and the Kurland map to work. I'm still wondering how am I supposed to find the rest of the files for the retextured map if it's necessary. If anyone is able to send in the those retextured maps from VP Modpack that would be wonderful.  8)

Any help would be appreciated.  :)

Tore
Title: Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
Post by: genXgamer on August 21, 2021, 06:14:32 PM
Hi Tore

Sounds like missing textures.
Did you transfer the _Tex folder?
Press SHIFT + TAB to view the error.
Title: Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
Post by: Tore on August 21, 2021, 06:27:55 PM
Yes, I had copied to map folders from  the _Tex folder on to the B.A.T _Tex folder. But it appears to not be working still. And the Kiev folder isn't found in the _Tex folder which got me confused.

Not sure on what you mean by shift + tab to view the error unless you're talking about the log. Which could help I guess?
Title: Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
Post by: WxTech on August 21, 2021, 08:38:36 PM
Shift-TAB brings up the on-screen console, which displays errors as they happen. A very handy way to check if anything is amiss without having to quit or jump out of the game. I find that the format can differ from that of the log.lst entries, and so these 'tools' complement each other. Hit shift-TAB again to close the console. During a flight, or while loading maps, etc., you can open and close the console anytime you want to check for issues.
Title: Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
Post by: Tore on August 21, 2021, 09:02:06 PM
Oh I see now, many thanks Glenn!  :)

Hopefully this helps, however it seems a bit hard to read if it's not full screen
(https://i.postimg.cc/ZqgxYpS6/bandicam-2021-08-21-22-58-33-012.jpg) (https://postimg.cc/DWrXBWmz)
Title: Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
Post by: genXgamer on August 21, 2021, 11:51:46 PM
G'day Tore

At the bottom of the console there is an error, it displays the path to the required texture.
The texture is vp_factory3.tga.
Maps/_Tex/land/Summer/vp_factory3.tga.

If it was me I would backup the BAT _Tex folder put the backup somewhere safe and transfer the entire _Tex folder from VP Modpack.
I haven't got around to installing BAT yet so perhaps I shouldn't be offering advice.
Title: Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
Post by: Tore on August 22, 2021, 07:27:47 AM
Hi genXgamer

I gave that a quick try and it works now. I'll probably take a look at the other folders if Kiev and Lvov give me the same error.

Quote
If it was me I would backup the BAT _Tex folder put the backup somewhere safe and transfer the entire _Tex folder from VP Modpack.
I haven't got around to installing BAT yet so perhaps I shouldn't be offering advice.

Now that I think about it, I could try to do that but my PC seems to be running out of space as I have 15.8 GB of space out of 231 GB on my PC. Which is not a lot of course.

(https://i.postimg.cc/NGKnz92q/bandicam-2021-08-22-09-20-03-279.jpg) (https://postimg.cc/LhMvqsVN)
Title: Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
Post by: Tore on August 22, 2021, 09:46:25 AM
UPDATE:

I've gotten Kiev and the Lvov map to work. However, I knew another map such as Murmansk summer and winter also had the stock texture. I've managed to get both of them to work but for some reason it still gives me an error of when I click play it doesn't show the briefing. And as I've said before that this isn't the only map that has this problem when I try loading it in BAT.

Is there a way to fix this problem? Here's the log if it's necessary.

https://pastebin.com/HWi5vMV8
Title: Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
Post by: genXgamer on August 22, 2021, 09:48:39 AM
G'day Mate

Good to see it now works.
A new mission to celebrate?

I'm also low on space with only 100 GB left, so that's why I've downloaded but not installed BAT yet.
Thankfully I have plenty of spare hard drives, just not a high priority.
Title: Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
Post by: genXgamer on August 22, 2021, 10:01:43 AM
The only time I've experienced the briefing screen not showing is from the properties file having a _RU at the end.
This may be a job for one of the knowledgeable big boys.
Title: Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
Post by: Tore on August 22, 2021, 10:21:50 AM
That could be it. Maybe someone else would have a solution on fixing the problem. Or sending in VP's retextured summer Murmansk map that could hopefully work on BAT would be the case. Yet, I'm not that smart.  :-X But there would be other maps that would have the same issue, such as Tarawa. But I've been also wanting to add in Normandy too. But we'll see.
Title: Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
Post by: WxTech on August 22, 2021, 11:19:34 AM
Wouldn't it be nice if BAT could have all those horrible stock maps updated to Istvan's (vp's) standard?

Or if just vp's map-related material could be downloaded by itself?
Title: Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
Post by: Tore on August 22, 2021, 01:01:33 PM
I don't think he had uploaded them anywhere as I tried doing some little searching. But I did found VP's Retex Polish map a while back. https://www.mission4today.com/index.php?name=Downloads3&file=details&id=2661

Sadly, it doesn't seem to work as I clicked play in the FMB on BAT. I was also planning working on a campaign with this map.
Title: Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
Post by: genXgamer on August 22, 2021, 03:57:16 PM
Hi Tore

When you say it doesn't show the briefing screen, are you saying it doesn't take you to the briefing screen or the briefing screen is blank?
When you click play does the FMB give you the option to save or have you already saved the mission?

Just trying to figure out without actually seeing the problem, perhaps I should install BAT so I can try myself.

To WxTech, cross your fingers and watch this space.
Title: Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
Post by: Tore on August 22, 2021, 04:26:05 PM
Oops, sorry for the confusion there.  :D

What I've meant is that when I click "play" in the FMB, it doesn't take me to the briefing of the mission, it still puts me in FMB.
Title: Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
Post by: genXgamer on August 22, 2021, 05:25:06 PM
Before it takes you to the briefing screen the mission has to be saved, are you able to save the mission?
I truly hope you say NO.
Title: Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
Post by: Tore on August 22, 2021, 05:28:19 PM
No, It wouldn't even save at all even though I had clicked save as.. o_O
Title: Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
Post by: genXgamer on August 22, 2021, 06:13:50 PM
That's good because now I can tell you what's wrong and how to rectify it.

You are missing an object or objects, the good news is you have VP Modpack so you have everything needed in your possession.

Now you have to find the missing object/s using static checker.  I've only used it once and I think it cross references the objects required by the map with the objects you have installed.

We've gone the long way round but I think we're almost home........almost.
 
Title: Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
Post by: Tore on August 22, 2021, 06:33:07 PM
I've did some searching and I'm not too sure if it's even in BAT or VP Modpack. But I found this in this forum. https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php?topic=762.0

I'll see if I could give it a try by tonight, but a little advice would also help on getting this to work. :)

EDIT: These were apparently the mission static.ini objects but it somehow still doesn't work? Do they suppose to be in a correct area in the ini?  :-[

Code: [Select]
Missing objects in your static.ini:

buildings.House$wooden_hut3
buildings.House$wooden_hut2
buildings.House$Hangar_05
buildings.House$Hangar_04
buildings.House$AirdromeControlTowerSmallB

Code: [Select]
[buildings.House$wooden_hut2]
Title           wooden_hut2
MeshLive        3do/Buildings/Airdrome/wooden_hut2/live.sim
MeshDead        3do/Buildings/Airdrome/wooden_hut2/dead.sim
AlignToLand     0
Body            WoodMiddle
Panzer          2.1

[buildings.House$wooden_hut3]
Title           wooden_hut3
MeshLive        3do/Buildings/Airdrome/wooden_hut3/live.sim
MeshDead        3do/Buildings/Airdrome/wooden_hut3/dead.sim
AlignToLand     0
Body            WoodMiddle
Panzer          2.1

[buildings.House$AirdromeControlTowerSmallB]
Title           Airdrome_ControlTowerSmallB
MeshLive        3do/Buildings/Airdrome/ControlTowerSmallB/live.sim
MeshDead        3do/Buildings/Airdrome/ControlTowerSmallB/dead.sim
Body            WoodSmall
Panzer          0.025

[buildings.House$Hangar_04]
Title           Hangar_04
MeshLive        3do/Buildings/Molva_Hangars/04/live.sim
MeshDead        3do/Buildings/Molva_Hangars/04/dead.sim
Body            RockBig
Panzer          0.1 

[buildings.House$Hangar_05]
Title           Hangar_05
MeshLive        3do/Buildings/Molva_Hangars/05/live.sim
MeshDead        3do/Buildings/Molva_Hangars/05/dead.sim
Body            RockBig
Panzer          0.1

Tore
Title: Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
Post by: genXgamer on August 23, 2021, 04:36:58 AM
G'day Tore

If you have used the Universal Static Checker correctly then it's my understanding that the 5 objects listed are used in the map in question.
The problem is, as it says they are missing from your static.ini or in other words not included in your BAT installation.
We have to find these objects in the VP Modpack install and add them to BAT.

The good news is I have already found the 5 objects, however I will send them tomorrow when I'm at work.
Title: Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
Post by: SAS~vampire_pilot on August 23, 2021, 06:26:19 AM
Heyo Tore

There may be an even easier way to get what you want (different/better textures from the VP version) but without having to deal with the whole object mess up.

The different objects will later on continue to give you trouble when BAT gets updated (and yet again miss these objects) and you will end up with an install that's kind of custom.

You can try - and most likely (98%) it will work - to simply not add the new actors.static file.
The load.ini files contain the references for the textures, the actors would bring the need for different objects (which you don't necessarily want or need...)

So, if you skip the VP actors, you will retain the existing BAT actors, but with the VP texturing in the map.
Try it out. If the map wasn't excessively "reworked" but mostly just retextured, it should be no real problem.

Title: Re: Trying to add some of VP's retextured maps to B.A.T
Post by: Tore on August 23, 2021, 11:53:36 AM
I had gave it a try by just simply removing the actors folder from the Murmansk map and it actually worked. Thanks vampire_pilot!  :)

I'll see if I can try on getting Poland, Tarawa, and some others to work as well.

(https://i.postimg.cc/prfv9wVQ/bandicam-2021-08-23-13-48-56-808.jpg) (https://postimg.cc/ctL225n6)

(https://i.postimg.cc/bYkpFt0G/bandicam-2021-08-23-13-49-27-226.jpg) (https://postimg.cc/8sp27s0D)

(https://i.postimg.cc/3JhYMx9t/bandicam-2021-08-23-13-50-25-950.jpg) (https://postimg.cc/pysgzxwj)