Special Aircraft Service

The SAS Factory - Tech Help, Ancient Mods etc. => The Keepsake: Old Mod Packs, Game Versions and Guest Mods => Ultra Pack Discussion & Support => Topic started by: FL2070 on April 19, 2020, 06:54:41 PM

Title: [SOLVED] Unable to place spawn placeholders
Post by: FL2070 on April 19, 2020, 06:54:41 PM
I have a multiplayer dogfight mission set up, and I want to customize the spawnpoints. Unfortunately, when I attempt to place a spawnpoint placeholder, I get an error message. What are the requirements for placing this object?

(https://i.postimg.cc/N0BwL90S/image.png)
Screenshot shows the object I am placing, where I am trying to place it, and the error message I get.
Title: Re: Unable to place spawn placeholders
Post by: Gubi on April 19, 2020, 07:25:33 PM
I sure wish I knew.  My first question would have been..."Have you established a home base?"...but I see that you have done that.  Hmmm.  You are looking to move spawn points, or increase the number of them, if I may...?
Title: Re: Unable to place spawn placeholders
Post by: FL2070 on April 19, 2020, 07:31:17 PM
I'm looking to move them, particularly because certain aircraft that can't be taxied are spawning in parking spots, which makes them very hard to take off with.
Title: Re: Unable to place spawn placeholders
Post by: Gubi on April 19, 2020, 08:32:52 PM
…"aircraft that can't be taxied"...you are making a specialist mission of some kind?   Like with Okhas laying on the ground and such...?
Title: Re: Unable to place spawn placeholders
Post by: FL2070 on April 19, 2020, 08:52:47 PM
No. I am making edits to my B-17 mission.
Title: Re: Unable to place spawn placeholders
Post by: SAS~Storebror on April 19, 2020, 11:59:56 PM
There's two Home Base variants, "Home Base" and "Standalone Home Base".
You need the 2nd, but might have the 1st there.

]cheers[
Mike
Title: Re: Unable to place spawn placeholders
Post by: FL2070 on April 20, 2020, 08:04:33 AM
Strange. I never noticed. Thank you!
Title: Re: Unable to place spawn placeholders
Post by: FL2070 on April 20, 2020, 09:17:51 AM
If I may—what is the difference between a "Home Base" and a "Home Base - Stand Alone"?
Title: Re: Unable to place spawn placeholders
Post by: SAS~Storebror on April 20, 2020, 09:36:59 AM
I'm an FMB idiot but this is what I think of it myself:
A "Home Base" can only be where a map already has a predefined spot for such a base. That's usually the map's airfields.
A "Standalone Home Base" can be anywhere.

This also makes sense in case of your issue:
A "Home Base" would have spawn place holders defined on the map already, whereas for a "Standalone Home Base" you can define them yourself.

]cheers[
Mike
Title: Re: Unable to place spawn placeholders
Post by: FL2070 on April 20, 2020, 10:43:07 AM
Thanks, that's a big help. I've managed to solve my problem.
Title: Re: [SOLVED] Unable to place spawn placeholders
Post by: Gubi on April 20, 2020, 12:05:25 PM
I never knew that either...or attempted to use a "standalone home base".  Thanx
Title: Re: [SOLVED] Unable to place spawn placeholders
Post by: WhiteSnake1976 on June 08, 2020, 06:50:16 AM
Great, this solved a problem i had also.