Special Aircraft Service

Individual Mod Downloads for IL-2 1946 => Other Mods => FM Discussions => Topic started by: Tecnico66 on March 12, 2013, 01:55:45 PM

Title: G4M1 range...too short?
Post by: Tecnico66 on March 12, 2013, 01:55:45 PM
In the past days,i make a simple mission,i take a G4M1 for a flight around "the slot",take-off from Buka airfield and set a number of waypoint until the end of the Salomons to Maita Island then go back to Buka about a 2000 Km flight,at about 500 Km,one quarter of the flight ,i've a "fuel low" warning,the problem is that a G4M1 have in teory a maximum range of 2100 Km,the plane is in "default" loadout and 100% fuel,the cruise speed is 300 Km/h,and the altitude is 3000m and DBW 1.71,if someone wants to try i'send the mission file...
Title: Re: G4M1 range...too short?
Post by: SAS~Malone on March 12, 2013, 10:57:31 PM
ummm......mate, this section is for discussion of FM's pertaining to WIP planes.
the plane you're referring to is a stock plane, to the best of my knowledge.
hence, this should be discussed in a separate section - i'd suggest the Lounge, or even Requests section, as it would require a mod to a existing plane. ;)
Title: Re: G4M1 range...too short?
Post by: Tecnico66 on March 13, 2013, 01:20:54 AM
ummm......mate, this section is for discussion of FM's pertaining to WIP planes.
the plane you're referring to is a stock plane, to the best of my knowledge.
hence, this should be discussed in a separate section - i'd suggest the Lounge, or even Requests section, as it would require a mod to a existing plane. ;)

..ok,but seen that here are the "button makers",i think that is the right place...:-)
Title: Re: G4M1 range...too short?
Post by: SAS~Malone on March 13, 2013, 01:38:02 AM
yes, but those 'button makers' here, are also only for new WIP projects/FM's, not for altering stock FM's. as you see, this entire board is titled WIP.
anyway, i'll leave it for now, but i think soon i will move this to Requests section.
just to keep things in perspective, and avoid confusion. ;)

there are other threads here that are also not correct, so i can see how you might think this section is okay.  :D

it's not a big deal, either way, i guess.  :)
Title: Re: G4M1 range...too short?
Post by: Juri_JS on March 13, 2013, 02:49:41 AM
There was a bug in the stock G4M1 FM that was corrected by Team Daidalos in the last patch.
See the discussion here:
http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/showthread.php?t=30129

Maybe the fix wasn't added to the modded version of the game? 
Title: Re: G4M1 range...too short?
Post by: Tecnico66 on March 13, 2013, 05:34:37 AM
There was a bug in the stock G4M1 FM that was corrected by Team Daidalos in the last patch.
See the discussion here:
http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/showthread.php?t=30129

Maybe the fix wasn't added to the modded version of the game?

..thank you!!!!
Title: Re: G4M1 range...too short?
Post by: Yeager_1946 on March 13, 2013, 11:48:29 AM
In the past days,i make a simple mission,i take a G4M1 for a flight around "the slot",take-off from Buka airfield and set a number of waypoint until the end of the Salomons to Maita Island then go back to Buka about a 2000 Km flight,at about 500 Km,one quarter of the flight ,i've a "fuel low" warning,the problem is that a G4M1 have in teory a maximum range of 2100 Km,the plane is in "default" loadout and 100% fuel,the cruise speed is 300 Km/h,and the altitude is 3000m and DBW 1.71,if someone wants to try i'send the mission file...


The real G4M1-11 actually had a maximum range of over 6000km, which is about 12x what you managed to get before the light came on. The G6M1-L2 had an even slightly longer range of 6200km. 

I do hope they fix the problem... One of the G4M1's biggest strengths was its excellent range.

http://www.airpages.ru/eng/jp/g4m.shtml
Title: Re: G4M1 range...too short?
Post by: jt189 on March 15, 2013, 07:44:35 AM
always click on unlimited fuel
Title: Re: G4M1 range...too short?
Post by: SAS~Malone on March 15, 2013, 08:48:25 AM
that's cheating,lol...
and also it means you're permanently flying with a full tank, which is far from ideal, especially in something like a P-51..
Title: Re: G4M1 range...too short?
Post by: jt189 on March 15, 2013, 10:08:24 AM
Just trying to help the poor soul
Title: Re: G4M1 range...too short?
Post by: SAS~Malone on March 15, 2013, 10:30:41 AM
yeah, sure it'll solve the problem in a 'quick-fix' kind of way, but let's hope the TD brigade can address this, it's actually quite an important issue.
from the sounds of it, this plane is currently only capable of a fraction of it's real range.
Title: Re: G4M1 range...too short?
Post by: Juri_JS on March 15, 2013, 11:31:26 AM
yeah, sure it'll solve the problem in a 'quick-fix' kind of way, but let's hope the TD brigade can address this, it's actually quite an important issue.
from the sounds of it, this plane is currently only capable of a fraction of it's real range.

Team Daidalos has already fixed it in patch 4.11.1, but the problem still exists in UP and DBW.
Title: Re: G4M1 range...too short?
Post by: SAS~Malone on March 15, 2013, 12:09:13 PM
yes, sorry, i did read the thread at the banana forums, wasn't thinking straight in my last post. :P
so, we would need to extract that fix, and see if we can get it to work for the earlier versions.