Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9   Go Down

Author Topic: inside the CONF.INI  (Read 146061 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

spartan18a

  • Supporter
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 688
Re: inside the CONF.INI
« Reply #60 on: November 27, 2015, 01:07:18 PM »

Thanks buddy, I didn't see your other answer in our forum. I wasn't at home. :)
But now surely more people was helped by you  ;)
Logged
Winning is optional, but trying your best is not.

rruff

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 135
  • The only way to fly...
Re: inside the CONF.INI
« Reply #61 on: November 29, 2015, 10:02:57 AM »

It seems that I see the objects much later than my squadron mates. For example last night, we were crossing the English Channel and when someone said the French coast was at 12 o´clock, I couldn´t see anything. It took some minutes until I saw it myself.
I have an Nvidia GTX 970 Gaming G1. Why can´t I see the objects as soon as the rest??

Make sure you are using the highest settings in conf.ini and also use Nvidia Inspector to improve AF (anisotropic filtering) and AA (anti aliasing). Search for it on this forum. The higher end Nvidia cards also have something called Dynamic Super Resolution. That may be better than jacking up the AA.
Logged

b9flyer

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 68
Re: inside the CONF.INI
« Reply #62 on: May 21, 2016, 11:08:50 AM »

Storebror, I've used your conf.ini update - what an unbelievable change to the aircraft et al. I can even access Hamm66s Lancaster campaign which wouldn't load before.

Another brilliant job by the team - many thanks.
Logged
Landing's easy - surviving it, well that's harder

adambegg

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 157
Re: inside the CONF.INI
« Reply #63 on: August 07, 2017, 05:17:55 AM »

Is it possible for Il-2 to ignore the conf.ini?  Currently whenever I start it it uses the settings in the "Il-2 Settings" program, and then if I try to change the resolution in-game the whole thing crashes as soon as I try to exit the video settings.

Does this sound familiar to anyone?
Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • retired
  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21301
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: inside the CONF.INI
« Reply #64 on: August 07, 2017, 05:46:25 AM »

IL-2 will not and cannot ignore the conf.ini.
It can happen however that it cannot write settings back to conf.ini, e.g. when your game is installed inside the "Program Files" folder tree and you don't run IL-2 with administrative rights.
Furthermore there are situations when the ingame resolution change fails, e.g. sometimes when you try to switch between scaled fullscreen and unscaled windowed modes.

Either case, the logfile would tell us more.

Best regards - Mike
Logged
You live, you learn, you love, you're dead.

adambegg

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 157
Re: inside the CONF.INI
« Reply #65 on: August 09, 2017, 03:19:01 AM »

Oh yes, of course.  I re-installed Il-2 for the first time in quite a while and totally forgot about moving it out of program files.  My bad.

Thanks for the reminder!
Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • retired
  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21301
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: inside the CONF.INI
« Reply #66 on: August 09, 2017, 03:22:01 AM »

Happens to all of us, glad you got it sorted :)

Cheers!
Mike
Logged
You live, you learn, you love, you're dead.

SAS~Storebror

  • retired
  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21301
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: inside the CONF.INI
« Reply #67 on: November 08, 2017, 04:01:30 AM »

For the sake of completeness, in case you happen to be bound to use you CPU's integrated "Intel HD" graphics (whatever version of Intel HD you have), you will not get happy with using OpenGL as the Intel drivers are buggy, so you have to switch to DirectX.

Switching to DirectX means that you have no access to the so called "Perfect Mode" like OpenGL users do.
Your game will look worse than it does for users with a dedicated graphics card.
CPU integrated Intel HD graphics are not designed for gaming.
Just saying...

In order to switch to DirectX, please edit your conf.ini file as follows:

Code: [Select]
[window]
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
Code: [Select]
[GLPROVIDER]
GL=dx8wrap.dll
Code: [Select]
[game]
TypeClouds=1

Now comes the most important section for DirectX users, "Render_DirectX".
While I don't have such thing like "recommended" settings, these are settings tested by myself, working well on an Intel Core i5-3210M laptop with Intel HD 4000 graphics:
Code: [Select]
[Render_DirectX]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=1
TexCompress=2
TexFlags.UseDither=0
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=1
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=1
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=0
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=1
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=1
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=1
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=1

TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=1
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=1
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=1
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=1

HardwareShaders=0

Shadows=1
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=2
Forest=2
LandShading=0
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=2
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=17
Water=2
Effects=1
ForceShaders1x=0
PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.15
PolygonOffsetUnits=-3.0

Hope that helps.
Best regards - Mike
Logged
You live, you learn, you love, you're dead.

KG3_V

  • The Man who cannot land
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 401
Re: inside the CONF.INI
« Reply #68 on: November 20, 2017, 10:22:43 AM »

I also need some advice for graphic settings
if i change the graphics ingame the game crashes

I tested the Midway map and there are some kind of green patches around the islands . i havnt played il2 for a long time so maybe its normal. also far moutains in some maps really look ugly

GC is a GTX 970

Must i use open gl or dx ?
Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • retired
  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21301
  • Taking a timeout
    • STFU
Re: inside the CONF.INI
« Reply #69 on: November 20, 2017, 11:04:27 AM »

Green patches around islands indicate that your PC is using the CPU's integrated graphics in OpenGL mode.
Make sure you really use your GTX 970 with IL-2.
Perfect settings have been discussed on page 2 of this thread.
I'm using a GTX 970 myself. It works.

Best regards - Mike
Logged
You live, you learn, you love, you're dead.

KG3_V

  • The Man who cannot land
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 401
Re: inside the CONF.INI
« Reply #70 on: November 20, 2017, 11:40:55 AM »

how do i change the gpu ??
Logged

KG3_V

  • The Man who cannot land
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 401
Re: inside the CONF.INI
« Reply #71 on: November 20, 2017, 12:03:11 PM »

It looks like this now

https://imgur.com/a/M8UNW
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.053 seconds with 27 queries.