Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: missing airfields in the England maps  (Read 4936 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Beowolff

  • Guest
missing airfields in the England maps
« on: September 21, 2010, 12:11:00 AM »

never really thought about it, but just today was going to set up a FMB project where i put as many as i could 'place holder' US bomber/fighter Wings/Groups on the British Isle's map...or rather Cannon's nice map.  but after looking up the US Bomber/Fighter Wings/Groups/Squadrons and getting the info i needed, when in the Channel map i realized that there's just only one or two of their airfields actually represented.

  :o

and naturally out of that one or two IL2 doesn't give the proper '42 thru '45 wings/groups/squadrons for one of those that 'was' represented on the map.  d'oh!

anyway...  i understand his map was probably made for BOB type operations and that making such a HUGE map of the biggest part of the British Isles would humble many of our computers...  but, my question is, has any map makers considered possibly splicing up England into more managable sectors THEN including as many airfields as possible so we can have some authentic bomber/fighter takeoff's, missions and landings?

or are there already such maps and i just don't know about them?
Logged

Sharkzz

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 392
Re: missing airfields in the England maps
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2010, 03:30:07 PM »

still havent found Brooklands airfield in any of shannel maps too
Logged
New Right Arm Amputee, One armed flyer and Longboard surfer, I now swim and paddle in circles .

zack

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 505
  • Ad Astra.
Re: missing airfields in the England maps
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2010, 07:27:01 AM »

Hi There Beo, please take a look at this. I think I've similar problem:

http://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,7100.msg72405.html#msg72405
Logged

Bwf.

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 230
  • If the enemy is in range, so are you
    • photobucket.com
Re: missing airfields in the England maps
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2014, 12:00:16 AM »

If you are missing airfield textures from the Bay of Biscay and
canons second channel map or any other map using those
textures, here is a DL link(167mb):
http://www.mediafire.com/download/v8egupag7b4neym/Canons_Airfields_Bitumen_GroundPlate.rar

Check the static ini that you are using before
adding the static entries from this pack.
you may only need what is in the 3do folder.

Bwf.
Logged
Full realism would require dousing one's self in Avgas and lighting it on fire when you get shot down, but no one ever demands that...

242Sqn_Cat

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 103
Re: missing airfields in the England maps
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2014, 05:25:21 PM »

If you look in HSFX I added some extra airfields to the Summer 42-45 version of Canon's map. Off the top of my head ... Thruxton, Heston, Fairlop, Gatwick, Thorney Island, one near Tangmere and another near Eastbourne whose names escape me. Specific to the Dieppe Raid and only on that particular version of the Channel maps. It took forever, and a lot of fiddling with the static.ini, to make it less than worthwhile doing it for the rest. Still plenty of airfields missing, even on that one, but I can't even get the Channel maps to open in the unlocked FMB any more. :(
:cheers:
Logged

Motörhead

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 280
    • http://forum.aviaskins.com/forumdisplay.php?f=70
Re: missing airfields in the England maps
« Reply #5 on: August 10, 2014, 02:36:36 AM »

If you are missing airfield textures from the Bay of Biscay and
canons second channel map or any other map using those
textures, here is a DL link(167mb):
http://www.mediafire.com/download/v8egupag7b4neym/Canons_Airfields_Bitumen_GroundPlate.rar

Check the static ini that you are using before
adding the static entries from this pack.
you may only need what is in the 3do folder.

Bwf.

Hi Bwf!

When try to use your fix in my HSFX 7.02, it doesn't work. All this airfields still with missing (very low res) textures. I just place "Canons Airfields_Bitumen GroundPlate" to Mods folder. Static.ini entries from your pack never uses, because they already in my default static.ini file.
Can you try to create some special version of your mod for HSFX 7.02?
Logged
Ain't a hope in hell, nothing's gonna bring us down, The way we fly, five miles off the ground, It's a Bomber!

Bwf.

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 230
  • If the enemy is in range, so are you
    • photobucket.com
Re: missing airfields in the England maps
« Reply #6 on: August 10, 2014, 04:55:15 PM »

Quote
Hi Bwf!

When try to use your fix in my HSFX 7.02, it doesn't work. All this airfields still with missing (very low res) textures. I just place "Canons Airfields_Bitumen GroundPlate" to Mods folder. Static.ini entries from your pack never uses, because they already in my default static.ini file.
Can you try to create some special version of your mod for HSFX 7.02?

Motörhead,
Check your PM's, I'm looking into it.

Regards,
            Bwf.

Logged
Full realism would require dousing one's self in Avgas and lighting it on fire when you get shot down, but no one ever demands that...

Bwf.

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 230
  • If the enemy is in range, so are you
    • photobucket.com
Re: missing airfields in the England maps
« Reply #7 on: August 10, 2014, 06:38:41 PM »

Quote
Hi Bwf!

When try to use your fix in my HSFX 7.02, it doesn't work. All this airfields still with missing (very low res) textures. I just place "Canons Airfields_Bitumen GroundPlate" to Mods folder. Static.ini entries from your pack never uses, because they already in my default static.ini file.
Can you try to create some special version of your mod for HSFX 7.02?

Motörhead,

I've just completed installing HSFX 7.02 and have loaded each of the following
maps in the FMB that use those runway textures, agcz_Biscay,1940_1941_Channel
and 1942_1945_Channel. The textures appear on those maps as they are supposed to.

At this point I really don't know what to tell you, the textures in question are present
in an HSFX 7.02 install and working.

Regards,
              Bwf.


Logged
Full realism would require dousing one's self in Avgas and lighting it on fire when you get shot down, but no one ever demands that...
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.014 seconds with 25 queries.