Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How to tell if I installed BAT correctly  (Read 232 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Utherpend40

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
How to tell if I installed BAT correctly
« on: October 15, 2019, 11:54:49 AM »

Hi, a newbie here with a possibly laughable, definitely embarrassing question.

As I followed the full installation steps listed on the BAT Missions and Campaigns page and BAT manual, I would move my downloaded expansion folder to a "safe" place once it finished installation. Then I'd run the program to see everything worked, and then proceed to the next expansion to install. So on, so forth...

Ok, to cut to the chase, once I completed installation of BAT 3.5 Musketeer, I realized that my downloaded folder for the 3.3 Pathfinder expansion hadn't been moved to my "safe" place. For the life of me I can't remember if I installed it.

So, what is the best way for me to verify that I did install it? Or, is it not possible that I was able to install up to 3.2, skip 3.3 and install 3.4 and 3.5?

I know everything says to install in order which is what I was trying to do. I don't remember anything saying that the installation process itself would prevent you from skipping something. Only that you shouldn't. Everything seems to run fine. Some combinations of planes and certain map Crete fails to load in QMB but other plane/Crete combinations run fine and never a CTD

Sorry for this messy question but if there's an easy way to verify that I have installed each expansion in the correct sequence, it would save me a lot of time rather than uninstalling and reinstalling everything.

Thanks in advance for your patience and repliy!
Logged

SAS~vampire_pilot

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4447
  • The man of a million fixes
Re: How to tell if I installed BAT correctly
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2019, 11:11:48 AM »

hm, not sure from the top of my head, but you can do the following:

Check the contents of the folder BAT01B, BAT02B, BAT03B and BAT04B.
If you have a uninterrupted numbering (no gap/number missing) of sfs files, you should be complete.
Logged

Utherpend40

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: How to tell if I installed BAT correctly
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2019, 10:19:40 PM »

Hi and thank you for your reply. I'm unsure, but based on your advice, I think my install is not complete. Here's what I have:

BAT01B DOF3DO01.SFS
            DOF3DO02.SFS
            DOFSOUND01.SFS

BAT02B TGA3DO01.SFS
            TGA3DO03.SFS
            TGA3DO04.SFS
            TGASOUND01.SFS

BAT03B WAW3DO01.SFS
            WAW3DO02.SFS
            WAW3DO03.SFS
            WAW3DO04.SFS
            WAW3DO11.SFS
            WAW3DO12.SFS
            WAW3DO13.SFS
            WAWSOUND01.SFS

BAT04B JTW3DO01.SFS
            JTW3DO02.SFS
            JTW3DO03.SFS
            JTW3DO04.SFS
            JTW3DO10.SFS
            JTW3DO11.SFS
            JTW3DO12.SFS
            JTW3DO13.SFS
            JTW3DO14.SFS
            JTW3DO15.SFS
            JTW3DO16.SFS
            JTWSOUND01.SFS

So I think because of the BAT02B file skipping (or others too?), that I need to re-install. Is this correct?

Please reply, T H A N K  Y O U!
           
Logged

SAS~vampire_pilot

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4447
  • The man of a million fixes
Re: How to tell if I installed BAT correctly
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2019, 05:37:46 AM »

yes, your install is definitely incomplete. You need to reinstall.
Logged

Utherpend40

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: How to tell if I installed BAT correctly
« Reply #4 on: October 18, 2019, 09:10:55 AM »

Thank you very much Vampire Pilot. I really appreciate your help. I'll be more careful with my reinstall.

T H A N X!!!!!!!!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.013 seconds with 27 queries.