Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Is there a way to make aircraft take off from the Ise?  (Read 525 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

NobleNerd

  • Professional Amateur
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 70
  • I need bacon.
Is there a way to make aircraft take off from the Ise?
« on: September 28, 2019, 06:23:23 PM »

I notice that the takeoff and landing waypoints try to treat the IJN Ise as a carrier, but planes don't "teleport" to the catapults when they try to take off. They just inch forward, flop onto the main deck of the ship and ka-boom.

Once again, am I just missing something on my end, or is the Ise just a buggy experiment / WIP with planes?
Logged

buckdanny

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
Re: Is there a way to make aircraft take off from the Ise?
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2019, 03:21:57 AM »

You can read my topic Carrier take off - F4F explode. There are big differences between the carriers and the planes on the deck. Perhaps modders can help to eliminate differences.
Logged

SAS~vampire_pilot

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4356
  • The man of a million fixes
Re: Is there a way to make aircraft take off from the Ise?
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2019, 05:59:57 AM »

One of those abandoned mods that never made it out of WIP.
If you look up the thread about this project, it's clear that this ship is half finished and has short comings. I think the flight deck never worked properly.  The ship's still good as a ship and nice looking window dressing. If any ship expert knows more, be this thread's guest.
Logged

buckdanny

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
Re: Is there a way to make aircraft take off from the Ise?
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2019, 06:39:44 AM »

I have tested each carrier. Depending on selection of plane and size of the decks you have rows of four or five planes with folded wings or rows of two planes with unfolded wings. Now a solution for me was to first place in the chief section the carrier,from which i started, also 0, e.g. "0_Chief Ships.USSRangerCV4_...". Jumping and bouncing disappeared.
Logged

SAS~vampire_pilot

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4356
  • The man of a million fixes
Re: Is there a way to make aircraft take off from the Ise?
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2019, 08:43:42 AM »

and this has what to do with the Ise?
Logged

western0221

  • Modder
  • member
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 6587
  • Live in Japan
    • IL-2 itaki blog
Re: Is there a way to make aircraft take off from the Ise?
« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2019, 08:53:28 AM »

Ise's author --- damawo said in 2014 : not implemented working catapult.
Logged

buckdanny

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
Re: Is there a way to make aircraft take off from the Ise?
« Reply #6 on: October 02, 2019, 07:48:59 AM »

Sorry SAS~vampire_pilot ,i was hasty with an answer. The problem with the catapult of Ise is more complex, but very interesting due to the lateral catapult. You can
see the picture, i have to move the start point forward and to modify the MSH-file. Unfortunately it is for me "trial and error" with the values in 3ds
Max. I try for the first time to modify a ship. I am going back for learning how to move correctly elements of ship in 3d. Perhaps it may not be possible
without modifications in the Java Class files. Maybe I'll succeed.

Logged

NobleNerd

  • Professional Amateur
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 70
  • I need bacon.
Re: Is there a way to make aircraft take off from the Ise?
« Reply #7 on: October 05, 2019, 04:44:51 AM »

It already looks a thousand times better in that image, at least as far as aircraft positioning goes.

If you can make the Ise work, I'll bet the Yamato, Musashi, and I-400 sub could be functional too.
Logged

buckdanny

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
Re: Is there a way to make aircraft take off from the Ise?
« Reply #8 on: October 06, 2019, 04:02:57 AM »

The pictures show, that member damawo has installed the the function of the catapult. You can use it, by updating the catapult.ini with
Code: [Select]
[IJNIseBB]
dCatapultOffsetX 2.0
dCatapultOffsetY 4.0
dCatapultYaw     7.9
catapultPower   22
bSteamCatapult 1
Power not 20 (as suggested member The Radge).

But it is not very realistic if the own plane is under fire und goes through the extended ship catapult.
I dont have the original max-files of damawo, so i try to move the start point to the unfolded catapult by importing the msh-files into 3ds max. So the plane should be positioned automatically on the unfolded catapult.That's
expensive and i need time to find the right position. If I succeed without the original files, i think it is possible with other ships.




Logged

Squashman

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 375
  • I am Spartacus
Re: Is there a way to make aircraft take off from the Ise?
« Reply #9 on: October 06, 2019, 04:59:58 AM »

It already looks a thousand times better in that image, at least as far as aircraft positioning goes.

If you can make the Ise work, I'll bet the Yamato, Musashi, and I-400 sub could be functional too.


I believe the I-400 sub already has a working catapult.
Logged

NobleNerd

  • Professional Amateur
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 70
  • I need bacon.
Re: Is there a way to make aircraft take off from the Ise?
« Reply #10 on: October 06, 2019, 05:37:54 AM »

I believe the I-400 sub already has a working catapult.

Unfortunately, trying to launch a flight of three M6As like an actual I-400 is a bit wonky. The second and third aircraft hang onto the side of the sub instead of in the tube-hangar thing.
Logged

western0221

  • Modder
  • member
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 6587
  • Live in Japan
    • IL-2 itaki blog
Re: Is there a way to make aircraft take off from the Ise?
« Reply #11 on: October 12, 2019, 11:31:07 AM »

I believe the I-400 sub already has a working catapult.

Unfortunately, trying to launch a flight of three M6As like an actual I-400 is a bit wonky. The second and third aircraft hang onto the side of the sub instead of in the tube-hangar thing.

To make it, IL-2 core components reworks are needed about aircrafts spawning algorithm.
Some plans are in my brain and thinking .... meditating .... how to adapt it in my Engine mod project .... not so easy ....
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.014 seconds with 27 queries.