Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Problem with rundll32.exe  (Read 690 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Lagarto

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 323
Problem with rundll32.exe
« on: June 18, 2019, 09:37:08 AM »

Gents, I need help. Last night, without any previous interference from me (I haven’t installed anything new lately), I got the following problem. When I double-click on the il2fb.exe, something called rundll32.exe kicks in as well and immediately bumps the CPU usage up to 90-100%. The process doesn’t stop even after I exit the game, and I have to kill it manually through Task Manager.
I don’t know if it’s some kind of malware or what (I'm not very computer-literate). Everything else on my PC seems to be running fine. Antivirus hasn’t detected anything suspicious. It happens only when I try to start the Il-2FB. If posting some logs would help, just tell me so and I’ll try to get them before I fry my processor. I use Windows 7 Ultimate and 4.11.1+ HSFX 6.0 (Expert Mode).
Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18172
  • Failure is not an option.
    • What goes around comes around, you'll see
Re: Problem with rundll32.exe
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2019, 09:51:10 AM »

rundll32.exe could be anything.
Please go here...
https://www.raymond.cc/blog/identify-loaded-rundll32exe-in-windows-task-list/
...and do what's written there under "Use Task Manager To Identify The Rundll32.Exe Command In Use".
We need the command line(s) calling rundll32.exe in order to further consider the severity of this issue and whether it's related to IL-2 at all.

]cheers[
Mike
Logged
You've got no one to follow, and no one will follow you. Ain't that a relief?

Lagarto

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 323
Re: Problem with rundll32.exe
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2019, 10:30:23 AM »

Thank you and sorry for the delay. I have Windows in my native lenguage and it's not immediately obvious to me what is what. Anyway, I did as you said, and the command line is as follows:

C:\Windows\system32\rundll32.exe C:\windows\system32\gameux.dll,GameUXShim {6a4a55cd-e477-43f5-bc6c2-53c90b926de0}D:\TEST\IL-2 Sturmovik 1946\il2fb.exe;6988
Logged

vpmedia

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6310
  • www.vpmedia.hu/il2
    • VPMEDIA SKINS
Re: Problem with rundll32.exe
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2019, 10:58:02 AM »

It's a Windows 7 Games Explorer bug, I still dont know what triggered it last week on my pc.

This is the solution I've found and it solved the issue:

Quote
1: run regedit

2. search for 'SGamesWebService.asmx'

3. Delete the folder 'servicelocation' under 'GameUX'

4. problem solved

Note: Do at your own risk. Export the folder before deleting it.

source:
https://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/Azure/en-US/d9aaef3d-d294-4a27-847f-0dc1422e3930/starting-games-rundll32exe-goes-to-max-cpu-usage-loading-stops?forum=w7itprogeneral

I also disabled everything in Games Explorer/Options menu.

Lagarto

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 323
Re: Problem with rundll32.exe
« Reply #4 on: June 19, 2019, 10:13:06 AM »

Thank you guys, but in my case the above solution didn't work. I need to figure out something else. Very frustrating. If you have any ideas, please let me know.
Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18172
  • Failure is not an option.
    • What goes around comes around, you'll see
Logged
You've got no one to follow, and no one will follow you. Ain't that a relief?

Lagarto

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 323
Re: Problem with rundll32.exe
« Reply #6 on: June 19, 2019, 11:06:25 AM »

Thank you Mike. Will do.
In the meantime, I've just discovered (accidentally) the solution no. 3, only with a little difference:

I launch the game. It stops loading at about 1380 K, while the rundll32.exe process kicks in. I shut down the game, and launch it second time. Curiously, it does start the second time. After it has loaded, I Alt+Tab to the desktop, and shut down the friggin' rundll32.exe process. The game stays on and I can finally play. But, as someone noticed, it's "too much actions to just launch a game".


Now I'll try the last solution in the guy's blogspot and report back.

Logged

vpmedia

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6310
  • www.vpmedia.hu/il2
    • VPMEDIA SKINS
Re: Problem with rundll32.exe
« Reply #7 on: June 19, 2019, 11:07:22 AM »

I spoke too soon, the problem has returned on my pc too.

It seems were not alone, this is from a day ago:
https://www.gog.com/forum/general/old_games_not_launching_and_eating_100_of_the_cpu_on_windows_7

Since I did not change anything on my system to cause this I'm pretty sure that this is Microsoft pushing ppl towards Win10.

Anyway, just open Regedit, got to HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Local Settings\Software\Microsoft\Windows\GameUX\ServiceLocation and change the server address to 127.0.0.1

greybeard

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1695
  • diligo veritatem
    • Old stuff about RB3D and a tiny "IL2 corner"
Re: Problem with rundll32.exe
« Reply #8 on: June 20, 2019, 01:43:57 AM »

Since I did not change anything on my system to cause this I'm pretty sure that this is Microsoft pushing ppl towards Win10.

I locked Win Update from the times M$ pushed damn toward Win 10 (more than three years now, I think) and live quiet with Win 7. As far as I can see, the update cures stuff like Outlook (never used by me) and Win antivirus (again, never used by me). I can't avoid just some automatic update of Windows Media Center that evidently bypasses the lock, but seemingly this doesn't cause harm.

P.S.: to lock Win Update (going on memory), open "services" and be sure also to deactivate its own automatic reactivation, since it is made to self-reactivate after a while from your manual deactivation.
Logged
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 - RAM: 2GB DDR @ 201 MHz - MoBo: ASUSTeK Computer INC. A8N-SLI (Socket 939) - Vidcard: 1024MB NVIDIA GeForce 9400 GT (Club3D) - Screen: L1750SQ (1280x1024@75Hz) - Audio: Realtek AC'97 Audio.

vegetarian

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 311
Re: Problem with rundll32.exe
« Reply #9 on: June 20, 2019, 03:17:10 PM »

Yep, I had the same problem happen a few days ago - I agree with VP’s conspiracy theory.

 After a bit of research, I resolved the issue by renaming gameux.dll to 00_gameux.dll. That ended the continual querying loop that was causing 100% CPU usage and the problem with launching VPmodpack. Curiously, my installations of BAT and HSFX weren’t affected by the issue, but I was still getting 100% CPU usage. 

Hope this helps
Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18172
  • Failure is not an option.
    • What goes around comes around, you'll see
Re: Problem with rundll32.exe
« Reply #10 on: June 20, 2019, 10:56:40 PM »

VP’s conspiracy theory.
That's what it is.
A conspiracy theory.
Nothing more, nothing less.
If 911 was an internal job and men never walked on the moon, then yes, microsoft probably has nothing else in mind than causing trouble to their users.

renaming gameux.dll to 00_gameux.dll
Getting rid of gameux.dll is exactly what my proposed solution does:
Try this: http://ubeogesh-things.blogspot.com/2012/08/resolve-it-finally-game-explorer-aka.html

]cheers[
Mike
Logged
You've got no one to follow, and no one will follow you. Ain't that a relief?

vpmedia

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6310
  • www.vpmedia.hu/il2
    • VPMEDIA SKINS
Re: Problem with rundll32.exe
« Reply #11 on: June 21, 2019, 01:12:31 AM »

I never used the word conspiracy, it seems that the problem started when the https://games.metaservices.microsoft.com/ server was deactivated by Microsoft as part of the ending of Win7 support.
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.016 seconds with 27 queries.