Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Cloud shadow bug on ground textures  (Read 963 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

tbauchot

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 275
Cloud shadow bug on ground textures
« on: June 03, 2019, 05:20:05 AM »

"I don't know if it's the right place for this topic ?!..."
Hi,
Sometimes it happen in my game to see the clouds shadows that appear like big squares :

Did you have ever seen that in your game ?
Do you have any idea what caused this ?
Here, my OpenGL config.ini :
Code: [Select]

[Render_OpenGL]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=3
TexCompress=0
TexFlags.UseDither=1
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=1
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=0
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=1
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=0
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=1
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=0

TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=1
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=1
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=0
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=1

HardwareShaders=1

Shadows=2
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3


Sky=2
Forest=3
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

TypeClouds=1

LandGeom=3
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=17
Water=4
Effects=1
ForceShaders1x=0

PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.15
PolygonOffsetUnits=-3.0




Thank you very much in advance.  ;) :)

Logged

Lagarto

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 323
Re: Cloud shadow bug on ground textures
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2019, 10:20:08 AM »

Yes, I see it quite often in my game and I'd love to know the fix for it.
Logged

Mick

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4068
Re: Cloud shadow bug on ground textures
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2019, 11:20:25 AM »

... never seen that before, must be some setting in your conf.ini, but which one ...?  :-X

You should try Mike's one ...  ;)

Code: [Select]
[Render_OpenGL]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=3
TexCompress=0
TexFlags.UseDither=0
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=0
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=0
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=0
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=0
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=1
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=0

TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=1
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=1
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=1
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=1

HardwareShaders=1

Shadows=2
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=2
Forest=2
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=2
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=17
Water=4
Effects=2
ForceShaders1x=0
PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.0625
PolygonOffsetUnits=-1.0
Logged

macgiver

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 113
Re: Cloud shadow bug on ground textures
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2019, 12:05:04 PM »

Yes, I see it quite often in my game and I'd love to know the fix for it.
+1
Sometimes I see it in the same clouds...
Logged

marcost

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 931
  • Keep calm and run away
Re: Cloud shadow bug on ground textures
« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2019, 03:27:22 AM »

Hi did anyone manage to fix this? I have it, but i don't see it on other people's youtube videos.

Thanks

M
Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 18348
  • Failure is not an option.
    • What goes around comes around, you'll see
Re: Cloud shadow bug on ground textures
« Reply #5 on: October 29, 2019, 04:40:27 AM »

It only happens when your conf.ini is wrong.
Either you have a dedicated graphics card and use wrong settings, in which case Mick's reply nailed it.
Or you are playing with CPU-integrated Intel HD graphics, in which case there's a few thousand times when on this very forum we adviced you not to use OpenGL but DirectX instead. Intel HD doesn't work with IL-2 in OpenGL mode, that's a known fact for more than a decade now.

]cheers[
Mike
Logged
You've got no one to follow, and no one will follow you. Ain't that a relief?

marcost

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 931
  • Keep calm and run away
Re: Cloud shadow bug on ground textures
« Reply #6 on: October 29, 2019, 05:21:13 AM »

Thanks Mike,

It's a dedicated card (1080ti) and I thought I had always used your conf.ini settings. I will have to check again!

Cheers
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.015 seconds with 27 queries.