Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 3 4 [5] 6   Go Down

Author Topic: Palau V2 and airfield : DL link july-18-2010 !  (Read 21824 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SAS~Bombsaway

  • Choose your battles wisely.
  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8841
  • A day without laughter is a day wasted
Re: Palau V2 and airfield : DL link july-18-2010 !
« Reply #48 on: May 24, 2012, 10:33:57 AM »

First - thank You Redko for the wonderful Palau map!  ;D

I have one question - in the version of your map in DBW Palau - I set the missions - attack on the Japanese airfield on Peleliu - but there is no airstrip! Seemingly it is but does not show the texture of the runway - you can see just a green jungle like throughout the whole island. How can I fix this?  How can I update them in the DBW on this map?

I downloaded the map from this post, "Palau V2 and airfield," and I added a folder "Palau" like this: #DBW/MapMods/Maps/_Tex/redko_Tex/Palau - which contains the texture of the runway - but it still does not show it in the QMBPro in DBW...  :(

THX for any helpful reply!  ;)


Hi guys. I had the same issue. I tried putting the original load.ini in and it wouldnt work so I made a copy of the original map folder and renamed it to redkopalau then entered the new listing in the all.ini as redkopalau redkopalau/load.ini  and made a folder called redko_tex then made a copy of his palau folder in redko_tex and placed it in my DBW/MapMods/Maps/_tex folder and whoo hooo! it worked. Now I have the correct redko palau. I also made a folder called redkopalau and placed it my QMBpro mission folder and it worked. If you guys want I could zip up everything needed to make this work for you and post a link.
After getting the map to work I made a new shallows texture for it as well.



Link to the texture...

http://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,600.msg266784.html#msg266784
Logged
Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Flying H

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1131
  • "And you can fly, high as a kite if you want to..
Re: Palau V2 and airfield : DL link july-18-2010 !
« Reply #49 on: May 24, 2012, 03:51:03 PM »

Please do make a zip of the whole shabang for us dumbasses(lazyasses)! I would very much appreciate that help!
Logged
And you can fly, high as a kite, if you want to.........

he162a

  • Der Ungeheuer
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 87
Re: Palau V2 and airfield : DL link july-18-2010 !
« Reply #50 on: May 24, 2012, 04:53:39 PM »

Heck ya, sound great I always screw stuff up bombsaway.
Logged

SAS~Bombsaway

  • Choose your battles wisely.
  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8841
  • A day without laughter is a day wasted
Re: Palau V2 and airfield : DL link july-18-2010 !
« Reply #51 on: May 24, 2012, 05:27:24 PM »

Ok guys here it is. It works in my DBW 1.71 so I hope it works for you guys. Let me know here if you have any trouble.

http://www.mediafire.com/?9z14ep2gbb40kkn

I TAKE NO CREDIT WHAT SO EVER FOR THIS MAP I JUST REWORKED IT SO IT WOULD SHOW IN MY DBW 1.71
Logged
Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

coberrick

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
Re: Palau V2 and airfield : DL link july-18-2010 !
« Reply #52 on: August 22, 2013, 05:21:40 PM »

is there anyway to make this the default Palau map in the game? For instance with the US Navy carrier take-off missions in the single missions section I still have the stock map. thanks

Semper Fi
Logged
Semper Fi

cgagan

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4986
Re: Palau V2 and airfield : DL link july-18-2010 !
« Reply #53 on: August 23, 2013, 01:30:27 AM »

Play a mission with the map, then go to the mission files (miss files in Missions/Single/etc...), open them with notepad, copy the first line below [MAIN] (MAP etc, ...load.ini). Then, open the miss. files you want to use the new map, and replace the "MAP etc...load.ini" with the one you copied.
Logged

SAS~Tom2

  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7955
  • no sweat
Re: Palau V2 and airfield : DL link july-18-2010 !
« Reply #54 on: August 23, 2013, 05:00:20 PM »

I named my redko Palau map
"redko_palau".
"redko_palau redko_palau/load.ini"
So, when loading the map, a different name appears.
In DBW 1.71, Quick missions for this map are named "Redko-Palau" as per parent folder. :)

Another way to override the stock map might be renaming the redko version to "Palau",..In a dedicated MapMods folder of course.
It can be a real treatment in IL-2 to divert maps with same names. Some maps are a real treatment to keep apart, I recall a similar issue with Okinawa..  ;)
Best is to give the new maps a name which clearly overrides the stock ones.
Also the naming conventions in IL-2 maps are odd at times, e.g. Desert Online IIRC is or was called OnlineMT in the all.ini list.

Thorsten

Logged

coberrick

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
Re: Palau V2 and airfield : DL link july-18-2010 !
« Reply #55 on: August 24, 2013, 01:21:20 PM »

appreciate the help guys, but for some reason the map doesn't work in my 4.11.1 ModAct 4...it shows up in my FMB database and will load in FMB if I click on it, but I am unable to save/fly a mission from it. I press fly and nothing happens
Logged
Semper Fi

SAS~Tom2

  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7955
  • no sweat
Re: Palau V2 and airfield : DL link july-18-2010 !
« Reply #56 on: August 24, 2013, 02:09:50 PM »

Hit shift + tab and take a screenshot and if possible, post it here. This way aka within the last ca 6 lines in the text, we can tell what is missing. 
Logged

coberrick

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
Re: Palau V2 and airfield : DL link july-18-2010 !
« Reply #57 on: August 25, 2013, 02:10:40 AM »

turns out it's not an issue with the map, but rather an issue with my FMB... can't save or launch any missions from it suddenly. probably an issue for a different section of the forum though haha but thanks for the assist with the map stuff gents

Semper Fi
Logged
Semper Fi

SAS~Tom2

  • SAS Honourable Member
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7955
  • no sweat
Re: Palau V2 and airfield : DL link july-18-2010 !
« Reply #58 on: August 25, 2013, 08:38:42 AM »

If you cannot launch or save missions on this map, it is an issue with this map or missing objects for this map. ;)
Hit shift and tab and tell us what the last lines say or even better-take a screenshot with the text. Whenever you hit shift and tab, you get the error text overlayed on the FMB screen. ;)
 :)
Logged

coberrick

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
Re: Palau V2 and airfield : DL link july-18-2010 !
« Reply #59 on: June 25, 2014, 01:23:05 PM »

Sorry it's taken a year to respond, school and the Marine Corps have seriously gotten in the way of my Il2  time haha- but when I press shift tab I get-
 "WARNING: Bad Water if MapRID == 0"

I'm not gonna even pretend to have the slightest clue what that means. Any help getting this sucker to run right in my game would be greatly appreciated! Thanks gents

Semper Fi
Logged
Semper Fi
Pages: 1 2 3 4 [5] 6   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.016 seconds with 27 queries.