Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: IL-2 GB will not start anymore - D3D_ERROR  (Read 203 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SAS~Skylla

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1553
  • Flying Ass Clown N°24
IL-2 GB will not start anymore - D3D_ERROR
« on: March 08, 2019, 07:27:42 AM »

Hi Gents,

I fear I ran into some trouble with IL-2 Great Battles.
Whenever I try to start the sim, I will see the loading screen, then the programm locks up and I get to see the following error message:



Probably this has to do something with the new Graphics Card I just installed (Asus GTX 660).
The latest drivers for said card have been installed already.

Any ideas how to get it going again?
Logged
When all else fails: read the instructions!

sniperton

  • member
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 984
Re: IL-2 GB will not start anymore - D3D_ERROR
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2019, 08:08:07 AM »

"I find that if I have 3D Vision disabled in NV CP (NVidia Control Panel) when the game loads, then there is no problem, but if I have it activated in NV CP, and I let it to turn on (normally when game launches) it crashes in the load screen (see sshot). If, as soon as the game launches and the screen becomes black, I disable 3D Vision with hotkey (Ctrl+T) then the game loads but as soon as I hit Ctrl+T to activate it, the game crashes in the same way."
Hope it helps.

https://forum.il2sturmovik.com/topic/42660-3d-activated-crash-on-load/
Logged

SAS~Storebror

  • Editor
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16742
  • Ask me if I care.
    • Friendly Fire isn't.
Re: IL-2 GB will not start anymore - D3D_ERROR
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2019, 08:57:09 AM »

Yeah, probably a driver installation issue.
Personally I always untick all driver parts but the raw graphics driver itself, and the physics extension.
Anything else I untick so it won't even install.

If you accidentally installed the 3D part, you can uninstall it using Windows' remove programs tool.

]cheers[
Mike
Logged
Learn. Challenge. Improve. In loving memory of the times when I cared...

SAS~Skylla

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1553
  • Flying Ass Clown N°24
Re: IL-2 GB will not start anymore - D3D_ERROR
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2019, 09:25:03 AM »

Thanks for your help Gents.

Quote
Yeah, probably a driver installation issue.
Personally I always untick all driver parts but the raw graphics driver itself, and the physics extension.
Well, seems like I made the mistake to let the system look for updates itself.  :(

I deinstalled the 3D drivers meanwhile, but the issue still remains the same unfortunately.
Logged
When all else fails: read the instructions!

sniperton

  • member
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 984
Logged

Blaubaer

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 512
  • Flying Ass Clown N
Re: IL-2 GB will not start anymore - D3D_ERROR
« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2019, 10:41:38 AM »

I think I had the same problem:
https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,57602.msg636265.html#msg636265
Quote
Well, I think I've found the solution to my graphic problems: I have to set "Distant Landscape Details" (BoX graphic setting) to x2 at most (because my graphics card has just 2.0 GByte GDDR5-VRAM). So I can enjoy 60 FPS in every (?) situation.
Maybe you should try this.
Logged
Zieht die Rettungswesten an, denn Hein Bloed steht heut' am Ruder, er ist unser bester Mann!

SAS~Skylla

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1553
  • Flying Ass Clown N°24
Re: IL-2 GB will not start anymore - D3D_ERROR
« Reply #6 on: March 08, 2019, 11:13:46 AM »

Try this:

https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,57602.msg640100.html#msg640100

success!
The fresh reinstall of the latest NVIDIA driver (without the 3D stuff) finally allowed me to see the log on screen.
Just deinstalling the unwanted 3D Vision driver was not enough.

I think I had the same problem:
https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,57602.msg636265.html#msg636265
Quote
Well, I think I've found the solution to my graphic problems: I have to set "Distant Landscape Details" (BoX graphic setting) to x2 at most (because my graphics card has just 2.0 GByte GDDR5-VRAM). So I can enjoy 60 FPS in every (?) situation.
Maybe you should try this.
Not exactly, my problem didn't even allow me to enter the game.
But thank you anyway, I will keep your solution in mind and will stay <= x2 when it comes to distant landscape details.
That's even an improvement, with the old GTX 750 I couldn't set distant landscape details to anything above "normal".

Again, thank you very much to all of you :)
Logged
When all else fails: read the instructions!

sniperton

  • member
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 984
Re: IL-2 GB will not start anymore - D3D_ERROR
« Reply #7 on: March 08, 2019, 11:16:59 AM »

 ]headbang[
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.029 seconds with 25 queries.