Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Rabaul map loading error <solved>  (Read 324 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Flatlander

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Rabaul map loading error <solved>
« on: February 13, 2019, 08:54:06 PM »

My Squad tried to fly a mission on the Rabaul map. Everyone else got in, but I could not.
I tried loading the Rabaul map in FMB and I got a loading error.
I can open other maps just fine and I was able to join a different mission on a different map just fine.

I got a clean logfile and the important bit seems to be:

Y=0 / M=0 / H= 12 , Temperature - 0m = 26.0 .
Loading map.ini defined airfields:
INTERNAL ERROR: LoadTextureFromTga('MAPS/_Tex/Rabaul/rabaul_township.tga')
WARNING: Error: 'WARNING: Error: 'WARNING: Error: 'WARNING: Error: 'WARNING: Error: 'WARNING'
WARNING: TLandscape::LoadMap('Rabaul_1944/load.ini') - errors in loading
World.land().LoadMap() error: java.lang.RuntimeException: Landscape 'Rabaul_1944/load.ini' loading error


Any ideas?
Looks to me like a corrupt or missing landscape tile.
Any idea how to fix it?

Thanks
Logged

vonofterdingen

  • Missioneer
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 574
Re: Rabaul map loading error
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2019, 12:55:18 PM »

Two things to check:

1) In the Render_OpenGL section of your config.ini, make sure that you have set HardwareShaders=1

2) [Deleted by author due to poor information]

Note: I deleted some misinformation I had in this post. I did not pay attention to the fact that I was in the BAT thread. My apologies for the confusion.
Logged

SAS~vampire_pilot

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3346
  • The man of a million fixes
Re: Rabaul map loading error
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2019, 10:18:18 PM »

Quote
see if you have CarMaster's hi-rez mod enabled.

If he has latest BAT, then there's no need to enable anything extra, please don't give such kind of advice.

To all my knowledge, there is no common problem with this map, it must be some setting issue on your end. The tip to check graphics settings is a good one.
Logged

Flatlander

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Rabaul map loading error
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2019, 10:26:47 PM »

Thanks for the reply.
I changed HardwareShaders=1 and no change. Same as above.

I then started reading the error message more closely and went looking for the 'MAPS/_Tex/Rabaul/rabaul_township.tga'.
Oddly enough, I could not find the file or any of those directories.
No *township*
No Rabaul folder.

I did find \BATMODS\DEF-SKIES_#WAW3\#WAW3\MAPMODS\MAPS\Rabaul_beta
But that can't be right ... DEF-SKIES??

Seems I'm missing the magic files.
Any idea which download contains the Rabaul-44-bee map?
Logged

SAS~vampire_pilot

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3346
  • The man of a million fixes
Re: Rabaul map loading error
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2019, 06:16:23 AM »

it might be a problem of your graphics driver with HD tga files or some such. It is not necessarily a missing file here, just that it can't be read for you. As I said: this is not a general issue but one that only seems to affect you.
Are you by any chance using an ATI graphics card?
Logged

Flatlander

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Rabaul map loading error
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2019, 05:50:12 PM »

I agree the issue is mine, not a general issue.
I have an NVIDIA card. GForce GTX 1050 Ti.

The map in question is called Rabaul_44. But My game folder has no such sub-folder.
If I look for any other map, there is a folder in \MAPMODS\MAPS\ that matches the name of the map.
In my case, I have a folder called Rabaul_beta.
Should I not have a folder called Rabaul_44?

If Rabaul_beta is right, then I'll start thinking about graphics drivers and maybe try the BAT.dll number 2 and stuff like that.

I have updated BAT to Musketeer, so I should have the latest of everything.

Thx




Logged

SAS~vampire_pilot

  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3346
  • The man of a million fixes
Re: Rabaul map loading error
« Reply #6 on: February 16, 2019, 12:47:31 AM »

These files are packed inside SFS and can't be accessed that easily.
But in a regular install, Rabaul 44 by Bee is loading and saving fine, no problem. That means, all the files are present.

The Rabaul_beta folder inside the Def Skies mod is outdated and of no importance, there is no such map in current BAT anymore.

Indeed, check the dlls.
Deactivate all JSGME, remove all other mods you might have and try again.

If everything fails, I must conclude you have a somehow flawed install maybe. But unless you experience other abnormailities, it might as well be a HD graphics file dependent thing on your Computer and a reinstall will not solve anything.

this is the map Rabaul 44 (which can be found easily by using the almighty "search" function of SAS)
https://www.sas1946.com/main/index.php/topic,39938.0.html
 
maybe you can look up the file in the original package and see for yourself.
Logged

vpmedia

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6152
  • www.vpmedia.hu/il2
    • VPMEDIA SKINS
Re: Rabaul map loading error
« Reply #7 on: February 16, 2019, 02:08:39 AM »

Try these 1024, 8bit, 1Mb textures, original format was probably 2048, 8bit, 4Mb....if it doesnt load its a dll issue because afaik that's the only thing required for hi-res:

https://ulozto.net/!2FvHlPdz29br/mapmods-rabaul-7z

Extract to your WAW folder, do not create a new subfolder for it. Path should be WAW/MAPMODS_Rabaul.

Flatlander

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: Rabaul map loading error <solved>
« Reply #8 on: February 16, 2019, 03:53:08 PM »

Many thanks for all the advice and suggestions. I am very grateful.
It seems I was falling down a rabbit hole with the missing files and folder structures.

I went back to the BAT01DLLs and BAT02DLLs and tried both.
BAT01 allows me to load the map in FMB just fine while BAT02 does not.

Problem solved.

Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.037 seconds with 25 queries.