Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Is the unlocked FMB still available?  (Read 293 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

WxTech

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1125
Is the unlocked FMB still available?
« on: January 08, 2019, 04:40:06 PM »

Been searching *all over* for the past couple of hours, but can't find a link or other pointer to the unlocked FMB. I'm starting to get the impression that I'm having a Jedi mind trick pulled on me. "This is not the FMB you're looking for."  ]nono[

Or else my search foo is weak.

I'd like to make some airfield edits/additions, and easily trim down bloated/too large villages/towns. I want to avoid having to use a spreadsheet.

Any help or hints would be appreciated; thanks!
Logged

Uzin

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2391
  • On lifetime holidays
Logged

WxTech

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1125
Re: Is the unlocked FMB still available?
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2019, 12:17:47 AM »

Thanks, Uzin. I did just download Kevin's v4 tutorial (not checked it out yet), but did read somewhere here that it was kinda outdated. But v5 is a bit over 500Mb (!)  in size; what the heck is in it? A shedload of pics, I suppose. ;)
Logged

vpmedia

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6151
  • www.vpmedia.hu/il2
    • VPMEDIA SKINS
Re: Is the unlocked FMB still available?
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2019, 01:15:04 AM »

If you want to edit maps in the FMB change your bldconf.ini to this:

Quote
[builder_plugins]
  (builder.PlMapLoad)
  (builder.PlMission)
  (builder.PlMisAir,sectFile=com/maddox/il2/objects/air.ini)
  (builder.PlMisChief,sectFile=com/maddox/il2/objects/chief.ini)
  (builder.PlMisStatic,sectFile=com/maddox/il2/objects/stationary.ini)
  (builder.PlMisRocket,sectFile=com/maddox/il2/objects/rockets.ini)
  (builder.PlMisHouse,sectFile=com/maddox/il2/objects/static.ini)
  (builder.PlMisTarget)
  (builder.PlMisBrief)
  (builder.PlMisBorn)
  (builder.PlMisStaticCamera)
  (builder.PlMisDestruction)
  (builder.PlMisFront)
[builder config]
  bShowGrid false
  bShowName false
  bViewRunaway false
  bShowTime true
  bShowArmy [3,true,true,true]
  iLightLand 253
  iconSize 16
  bViewBridge true
  bAnimateCamera false
  bActorOnLand true
  bSaveViewHLand true
  bShowLandscape true
  iLightDestruction 0
  iWaterLevel 191
  defFullDX 32.0
  defFullDY 24.0

You also need to create a folder for the saved files, for example IL-2 Sturmovik 1946_v412\maps\Poland_1939. You can get the folder names from all.ini.

Theres also the tool called "ZActors management" by Zuti which lets you edit the actors.static as a text file, you can quickly replace or randomize building types with it.

vpmedia

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6151
  • www.vpmedia.hu/il2
    • VPMEDIA SKINS
Re: Is the unlocked FMB still available?
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2019, 01:16:29 AM »

Sorry I posted the standard bldconf.ini, this is the correct one:

Quote
[builder_plugins]
  (builder.PlMapLoad)
  (builder.PlMapActors,sectFile=com/maddox/il2/objects/static.ini)
  (builder.PlMapAirdrome)
  (builder.PlMapLabel)
  (builder.PlMapText)
[builder config]
  bShowGrid false
  bShowName true
  bViewRunaway true
  bShowTime true
  bShowArmy [3,true,true,true]
  iLightLand 255
  iconSize 16
  bViewBridge false
  bAnimateCamera true
  bActorOnLand true
  bSaveViewHLand false
  bShowLandscape true
  iLightDestruction 128
  iWaterLevel 191
  defFullDY 24.0
  defFullDX 32.0

Uzin

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2391
  • On lifetime holidays
Re: Is the unlocked FMB still available?
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2019, 03:28:47 AM »

Thanks, Uzin. I did just download Kevin's v4 tutorial (not checked it out yet), but did read somewhere here that it was kinda outdated. But v5 is a bit over 500Mb (!)  in size; what the heck is in it? A shedload of pics, I suppose. ;)

V4 os not outdated, v5 contains nore of useful stuff obly, such as mapfiles - textures etc.
Logged

WxTech

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1125
Re: Is the unlocked FMB still available?
« Reply #6 on: January 09, 2019, 12:58:33 PM »

Istvan and Uzin,
Thanks! So it is that simple; just unlock the 'hidden' capability.

I guess that I can't so directly, via the map window, alter the contents of actors.static? But must use Zuti's Actors Management tool instead? I recently did start playing around with the latter.

Anyway, I'm now leaps ahead of where I was yesterday. Thanks again for the most appreciated assistance!

Cheers,
Glenn
Logged

Uzin

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2391
  • On lifetime holidays
Re: Is the unlocked FMB still available?
« Reply #7 on: January 09, 2019, 01:45:09 PM »

Istvan and Uzin,
Thanks! So it is that simple; just unlock the 'hidden' capability.

I guess that I can't so directly, via the map window, alter the contents of actors.static? But must use Zuti's Actors Management tool instead? I recently did start playing around with the latter.

Anyway, I'm now leaps ahead of where I was yesterday. Thanks again for the most appreciated assistance!

Cheers,
Glenn
"I guess that I can't so directly, via the map window, alter the contents of actors.static?"
Actors.static changes each time you add or delete any object in the map window and after saving the changes into  the auxilliary folder... In order to make changes permanent, you should cope the content of auxiliary folder ... into the main folder of the map.
Logged

WxTech

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1125
Re: Is the unlocked FMB still available?
« Reply #8 on: January 09, 2019, 05:16:57 PM »

Uzin,
So I could delete or reposition buildings in the usual way, then just copy over to the 'working' game the actors.static created after saving changes in the 'map builder' game.

Which leads to this... Is it preferable to set up a separate game copy for map building, or would it be not too inconvenient to just alter the relevant .ini entries when switching between building and checking/playing?

At the moment, my first task, following along with the tutorial, is installing microdem and downloading the srtm elevation data for the stock SE New Guinea map so that I can replace the utterly ghastly map_h. (I did try to find a mod for this map, but found only repaints--no height data improvements.)

Not only do I want proper terrain at large, but I despise the horrendous rivers artificially lowered to sea level and thus resulting in ugly box canyons all over the place. My plan for rivers of consequence in mountainous terrain is to keep their height, make them narrow and shallow, and place the jungle canopy over them to further reduce their prominence.

Thanks again for all the assistance!
Logged

Kopfdorfer

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1462
  • Potez 63.11 France's most significant AC in 1940
Re: Is the unlocked FMB still available?
« Reply #9 on: January 09, 2019, 06:02:05 PM »

Your comments are interesting WxTech.
In fact the original version of the map dealt with the rivers in this fashion ,
but TD altered it for the release version.
This confounded the original mapmaker quite a lot.

Kopfdorfer
Logged

WxTech

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1125
Re: Is the unlocked FMB still available?
« Reply #10 on: January 09, 2019, 07:38:22 PM »

'Dorf,
Ever since Pacific Fighters introduced the New Guinea map it was 'uglified' by this bad river treatment. Indeed, I recall 1C implementing this same scheme pretty much across the board. (One notable exception was the Burma map, where the region around Imphal, due to the higher elevations up there, had the 'floating' rivers effect.) I've been playing since Forgotten Battles.

Now, I hope that at 56 I'm not suffering early-onset dementia! ;)
Logged

Uzin

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2391
  • On lifetime holidays
Re: Is the unlocked FMB still available?
« Reply #11 on: January 10, 2019, 07:15:15 AM »

Ugly box canyons can be repaired in two ways.
First,
the hills around the rivers may be smoothed on map_h.tga by gaussian blurr in Gimp, saving the zero height of rivers. This gives  better look, saving the usage of default bridges. Leads, however, to deviation of the terrain from reality.
And second,
it is possible to apply gradient in Gimp to the rivers on map_h.tga, piecevise, beginning from sea level upwards. Small adjustment of the river valleys may or may not follow. Disadvantage of this method is that default bridges cannot be used, bridge objects must be applied instead.
For both of these method, it is usable to have Mymap_c.tga downsized to the size of map_h.tga file. If Mymap_c.tga is not available, it can be re-create from map_c.tga and map_c.tga_table files .
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.04 seconds with 25 queries.