Special Aircraft Service

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: Battle of Kasserine Map  (Read 2933 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Nowekat

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 132
Re: Battle of Kasserine Map
« Reply #12 on: October 07, 2018, 02:06:54 AM »

The Kasserine map i had marked as WIP as i was not satisfied especially with the texturing.

Meanwhile i reworked the map with a totaly new texturing, which i hope is much better. For the desert i now used some similiar but different textures to avoid monotony and mostly the repetition patterns. I also added mountain textures, so the map now looks much more interesting. The textures are made by ag, i adjusted them a little bit for my purposes.

I also reworked the population and made the citys smaller, as they where much to big. Agriculture fields and trees along the rivers are also reworked. For the few mostly dreyedout rivers i finally found a nice texture, unfortunately i don't remember who made it.

Lastly i added two oases, one in the southern and one in northern region. They are not named in the map, but there are bars with cooled beer and also little lakes. There is no official landing stripe, but the surrounding is flat and its possible to land there carefully.

Some screenshots:



















As the textures are completly new, you may delete the _tex/land/summer/kasserine folder befor installing the new version, the old files there are not longer needed.

The new version you may download here:

http://www.mediafire.com/file/mof99a837z816nb/KasserineV1.1.7z/file

Nowekat 10/18
Logged

Gaston

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2589
Re: Battle of Kasserine Map
« Reply #13 on: October 07, 2018, 02:58:04 AM »

Thanks a lot !

To make the map work in BAT, some missing objects must be found :

buildings.House$CrimeaBarnWoodB
buildings.House$CrimeaBarnStuccoB

Any clue where to find them ?
Logged

bomberkiller

  • Treffen sich zwei Jäger...!
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3408
  • Bf-109G-6/R6 = Bomber Killer
Re: Battle of Kasserine Map
« Reply #14 on: October 07, 2018, 03:39:19 AM »

Hello Nowekat,

something is wrong with the "load.ini".

Best regards, Gerhard  :)
Logged
FAC N° 9 ...cheers mein Schatz

Nowekat

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 132
Re: Battle of Kasserine Map
« Reply #15 on: October 07, 2018, 06:07:56 AM »

I also get the Barns and under SAS Modact 5.3 also a Palmgroup as missing objects:

[buildings.House$CrimeaBarnStuccoB]
Title           CrimeaVillage_BarnStuccoB
MeshLive        3do/Buildings/Crimea/BarnStuccoB/live.sim
MeshDead        3do/Buildings/Crimea/BarnStuccoB/dead.sim
Body            RockMiddle
Panzer          0.24

[buildings.House$CrimeaBarnWoodB]
Title           CrimeaVillage_BarnWoodB
MeshLive        3do/Buildings/Crimea/BarnWoodB/live.sim
MeshDead        3do/Buildings/Crimea/BarnWoodB/dead.sim
Body            WoodMiddle
Panzer          0.12

[buildings.House$FurniturePalmAg3]
Title           PalmAgroup3
MeshLive        3do/flora/palms/LiveAg2.sim
MeshDead
Body            WoodMiddle
Panzer          0.95  //0.17

These are from the VPMedia static ini.

But now i remember: I had exchanged these objects before uploading the first version of the map. But i used mostly the old objects lists of the CityBuilder to create the new population, so they are again in the actors. Well, i'm a old dog and should take more pills. May be drinking more would also help ..... I will exchange these objects again and upload the map with the new actors in a hour or so.

Very annoying, this.

The map loads unter SAS Modact 5.3 (but does not save at the moment) and also under VPMedia. So i think the load.ini is fine. Under BAT the old version loads, i think this is because this is in the SFSFiles? I don't know how to replace the installation here.



Nowekat

Logged

Nowekat

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 132
Re: Battle of Kasserine Map
« Reply #16 on: October 07, 2018, 06:42:44 AM »

I exchanged these three objects again, so the map also saves with the bats static.ini and my "big" sas modact static.ini, where ever i got this.

The link remaines the same.

Novekat
Logged

bomberkiller

  • Treffen sich zwei Jäger...!
  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3408
  • Bf-109G-6/R6 = Bomber Killer
Re: Battle of Kasserine Map
« Reply #17 on: October 07, 2018, 08:19:21 AM »

Quote
The map loads unter SAS Modact 5.3 (but does not save at the moment)

Exactly that is my problem.  ;)

Thank you, Gerhard  :)


Logged
FAC N° 9 ...cheers mein Schatz

csvousden

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 469
Re: Battle of Kasserine Map
« Reply #18 on: October 07, 2018, 06:55:27 PM »

Not saving for me either.  I did add those missing objects, but no joy.  Love the map though.

c

Logged

farang65

  • never two weeks, two months, two years, two decades
  • SAS Team
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2717
  • Terror Over The Top End
Re: Battle of Kasserine Map
« Reply #19 on: October 07, 2018, 08:37:17 PM »

Awesome work Nowekat  :D

You've really brought this map to life with your detailed population  ;D :D

Congratulations on a job well done.

Cheers,
Kirby
Logged

PO_MAK_249RIP

  • CMON U SPURS!
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1575
Re: Battle of Kasserine Map
« Reply #20 on: October 08, 2018, 07:25:06 AM »

Hi Nowekat just installed the v1.1 into my CUP but the moment I click on the Map to load in my FMB I get a COTD? Not a lot in my log but it seems to stop at loading airfields?

Code: [Select]
Initializing DirectSound playback device...
Primary buffer created.
Playback format is set : sampling rate = 44100, num channels = 2.
Not enought hardware buffers (0), hardware disabled
Buffer caps : Transfer rate = 0, CPU overhead = 0.
Default speaker config is : 9.
Direct sound audio device initialized successfully :
DX Version : 7
Hardware    - disabled [buffers : 0]
Extensions  - enabled :
  EAX ver. 1 [ ]  - disabled
  EAX ver. 2 [ ]  - disabled
  EAX ver. 3 [ ]  - disabled
  I3D ver. 2 [ ]  - disabled
  ZoomFX     [ ]  - disabled
  MacroFX    [ ]  - disabled
SIMD render [X]
num channels 0
Cannot open audio file samples/infinite 1

Y=0 / M=0 / H= 12 , Temperature - 0m = 25.0 .
Loading map.ini defined airfields:

Mick
Logged
Corsair Carbide case, Intel core i5 4690 3.5ghz with Arctic Cooler, Asus Rock H97 performance, Gainward windforce OC GTX 960 2GB, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz, 256GB Crucial SSD, 500GB Seagate HDD, LG M Disc DVD rewriter, Windows 10 64bit.

Nowekat

  • Modder
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 132
Re: Battle of Kasserine Map
« Reply #21 on: October 08, 2018, 10:28:03 AM »

To bad if it does not save or even crashes.

Using the upload after exchanging the tree objects the map should save under VP and also under bat #waw3 and #sas modact if using a bigger static.ini with the modact. Unfortunately it seems i don't have no longer the original static.ini here, but as i remember there was a very small one with only 250 kb or so. This will not work. The simplest was may be just to take the static.ini from #waw3.

For #waw3 it seems to be necessary to rename the maps file folder from "Kasserine" to something else. I took "Kasserine2" and so added to the all ini under mapmods\maps  in #waw3 "Kasserine2         Kasserine2/load.ini." Otherwise the old version of the map will load.

Firstly i installed the map within a "maps" folder under the existing "maps" folder, that was the reason i did not run. The downloaded "maps" folder has to be thrown into the "mapmods" folder and not into the "maps" folder ...

No idea about a crash. Possibly the map isn't installed properly? The files all seem to be okay, that must have an other reason, i think. Did the former version run? I don't know the CUP, but i think the directory system is quite the same?

Nowekat
Logged

csvousden

  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 469
Re: Battle of Kasserine Map
« Reply #22 on: October 08, 2018, 03:27:04 PM »

I have BAT 3.4 installed, and the both the old Kasserine map and the new one.  I can only save missions on the old one.  Some needed objects must not be in BAT is all I can figure, but how to determine what they are is beyond me.

CV
Logged

PO_MAK_249RIP

  • CMON U SPURS!
  • member
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1575
Re: Battle of Kasserine Map
« Reply #23 on: October 09, 2018, 12:04:16 AM »

I will dig around but its installed into mapmods/maps as i usually do, it shows as being installed in my FMB but when clicked to open CTD? I didnt have the old version is it still available for d/l ?
Logged
Corsair Carbide case, Intel core i5 4690 3.5ghz with Arctic Cooler, Asus Rock H97 performance, Gainward windforce OC GTX 960 2GB, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz, 256GB Crucial SSD, 500GB Seagate HDD, LG M Disc DVD rewriter, Windows 10 64bit.
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.013 seconds with 27 queries.